THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
El_Jairo
Kabalite Warrior
El_Jairo

Posts : 215
Join date : 2012-02-07
Location : Leuven

Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat Empty
PostSubject: Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat   Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 13 2014, 16:13

I have been looking in the BRB for a mention on charging into ongoing combat.
As example: during the same assault phase I would first charge in with a unit of Wyches into an enemy in cover. Secondly I would charge in Incubi (or any other unit without plasma grenades).

My question is, does the second unit still would strike at initiative 1 because they charged through difficult terrain?
My reading from the BRB says that you will always be slowed down in the fight sub-phase on the turn you have charged. Regardless if the unit is already locked in combat.

This feels off but I can't find the page where this is clarified.

Do you know the page?
Many thanks.
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1626
Join date : 2013-04-23

Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat   Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 13 2014, 16:24

IF the incubi charge in the same turn the wyches charged (the first round of the wyches' combat) - they strike at ini 1

IF the incubi charge in the second turn of the wyches combat - they strike at normal ini.
Back to top Go down
El_Jairo
Kabalite Warrior
El_Jairo

Posts : 215
Join date : 2012-02-07
Location : Leuven

Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat   Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 13 2014, 16:52

OK, so it matters if the enemy unit was locked before the actual assault phase. Where can I find this ruling?

If this is true, Fearless Wyches got a whole lot more important.

As for now I only saw pinning or forcing a deliberate go-to-ground as a means to prevent Init capping by terrain.
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
shadowseercB

Posts : 550
Join date : 2012-10-21

Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat   Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 13 2014, 16:54

Page 55 in bold under the disorganized/multiple combats charge section in the English rule book is where you can find what aurynn has explained.

Basically yes you can charge through and attack at full initiative as long as that unit charged the round after the wyches were lock in combat. So you need to wait a entire round before your incubi can charge into that combat so they dont suffer the initiative penalty.
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1626
Join date : 2013-04-23

Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat   Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 13 2014, 16:59

Wyches cannot hold any dedicated close-combat unit for 2 assault phases and overwatch and can handle any non-dedicated close combat unit themselves. There is not really point in using wyches as combochargers.

Incubi are counterchargers or Devastator/Tac combatsquad decimators. For neither of these you need grenades...
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat   Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Assaulting through difficult terrain into ongoing combat
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: