THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Wave 3 previews

Go down 
+2
shadow hunter
Foo
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Foo
Kabalite Warrior
Foo

Posts : 245
Join date : 2011-05-20

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSat May 21 2011, 00:00

Hello. I am lucky enough to be painting the Dark Eldar display models for my local gaming shop, so I thought I'd share with you all some previews.

First up: the Talos / Cronos!

These are mostly a size comparison to a Space Marine Captain. Captain I-just-wet-my-pants.
Wave 3 previews Talossize02
Wave 3 previews Talossize
Back to top Go down
Foo
Kabalite Warrior
Foo

Posts : 245
Join date : 2011-05-20

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSat May 21 2011, 14:18

This is the arm and weapon pod for a Talos/Cronos. As you can see, it's a pretty heft peg. Friction keeps it on pretty well and if it doesn't, I just add a little glue and smooth it out to make it more snug. (Letting the peg dry with the pod off, of course.) I'm going to leave them this way so we can switch between weapon load-outs.
Wave 3 previews Talospeg

Here's some more shots of the Talos, now list-legal and showing off the different tail positions and anti-grav hip pods:
Wave 3 previews Talos01
Wave 3 previews Talos02
Wave 3 previews Talos03
Wave 3 previews Talos04

These are the tiny, creepy, vestigial arms.
Wave 3 previews Talos05
Back to top Go down
shadow hunter
Kabalite Warrior
shadow hunter

Posts : 145
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : staffordshire, england

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSat May 21 2011, 18:32

thanks for the pics - although now i want it more. Do you think the model is able to be built so it can swap between talos and cronos versions?
Back to top Go down
Foo
Kabalite Warrior
Foo

Posts : 245
Join date : 2011-05-20

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSat May 21 2011, 19:53

You have to glue on the upper arms, and the Cronos has a whole different set with tentacles attached. I'm going to try cutting and drilling them out so they fit onto the pegs on the Talos' arms.

Other than that, you could pretty easily swap between the tentacle tails and the hover packs, I think, and remove the big tail and put the Cronos' antennae rack in its place. Should be doable. I'm actually thinking of putting the tentacle tails on the Talos just because they're much creepier than the large hover pack thing.
Back to top Go down
Foo
Kabalite Warrior
Foo

Posts : 245
Join date : 2011-05-20

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeMon May 23 2011, 23:41

Here are some more comparison pictures, now including the Venom:
Wave 3 previews Comparisontv
Wave 3 previews Comparisontrv1
Wave 3 previews Comparisontrv

And here are a few of just the Venom
Wave 3 previews Venom01
Wave 3 previews Venom02
Wave 3 previews Venom03
Wave 3 previews Venom04
Back to top Go down
Foo
Kabalite Warrior
Foo

Posts : 245
Join date : 2011-05-20

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeThu May 26 2011, 04:53

Protip for anyone buying a Talos: Paint the effing back and spine area before putting it together.
Wave 3 previews Talos-P02
Wave 3 previews Talos-P01
Back to top Go down
shadow hunter
Kabalite Warrior
shadow hunter

Posts : 145
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : staffordshire, england

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeThu May 26 2011, 09:19

Thanks for the pics and advice. I look forward to getting mine.
Back to top Go down
Local_Ork
Fleshsculptor
Local_Ork

Posts : 1500
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Near good fight!

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeThu May 26 2011, 23:50

Yay!
I'm currently working over scratchbuild Venom (I have mixed feelings about GW model, love and hate at one time) so comparision shots would be useful for me.

I may get Wracks as soon as "Finecast" hit shelves and share my feelings.
Thanks!

_________________
Wave 3 previews TattoosigtlWave 3 previews TattoosigseWave 3 previews Tattoosigow
"Most vile thing you can read. Ever." - Our Forum Rules
Back to top Go down
Todo13
Kabalite Warrior
Todo13

Posts : 196
Join date : 2011-05-19
Location : Canada

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeFri May 27 2011, 01:38

@Local_Ork wrote:
Yay!
I'm currently working over scratchbuild Venom (I have mixed feelings about GW model, love and hate at one time) so comparision shots would be useful for me.

I may get Wracks as soon as "Finecast" hit shelves and share my feelings.
Thanks!

Can't wait to see that!
Back to top Go down
Xelkireth
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 1065
Join date : 2011-05-14

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSat May 28 2011, 06:44

I really love the Venom. Not only do I get to save myself $60 per Raider/Vyper conversion, I get the Wych passengers.
Back to top Go down
killfrenzy
Hellion
killfrenzy

Posts : 71
Join date : 2011-05-17
Location : Commorragh

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSat May 28 2011, 09:17

Yeah I love the Venom too. Small but perfectly formed is right.

Could you do a size comparison shot between a Venom/Raider?

_________________
Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken.
Back to top Go down
Foo
Kabalite Warrior
Foo

Posts : 245
Join date : 2011-05-20

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSat May 28 2011, 14:18

Absolutely not!
Wave 3 previews VR-01
Wave 3 previews VR-02
Back to top Go down
Xelkireth
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 1065
Join date : 2011-05-14

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSat May 28 2011, 22:14

I knew it was small... but holy crap! That is beautiful.
Back to top Go down
Foo
Kabalite Warrior
Foo

Posts : 245
Join date : 2011-05-20

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSun May 29 2011, 04:13

Here's a Scourge!
Wave 3 previews Scourge01
That's a haywire blaster.
Back to top Go down
Xelkireth
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 1065
Join date : 2011-05-14

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeSun May 29 2011, 06:09

By the Dark Muses that's a beautiful model... That makes me even more glad I bought four boxes.
Back to top Go down
shadow hunter
Kabalite Warrior
shadow hunter

Posts : 145
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : staffordshire, england

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeTue May 31 2011, 20:57

cant wait to get mine. Smile
Back to top Go down
Foo
Kabalite Warrior
Foo

Posts : 245
Join date : 2011-05-20

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeTue May 31 2011, 21:12

Here's the Talos I painted for my local store. I just need to add some sort of Kabal/Cult/Coven symbol to it...
Wave 3 previews Talos08
Wave 3 previews Talos07
Wave 3 previews Talos06
Back to top Go down
Xelkireth
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 1065
Join date : 2011-05-14

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeTue May 31 2011, 21:21

I can't wait to get my hands on one.
Back to top Go down
shadow hunter
Kabalite Warrior
shadow hunter

Posts : 145
Join date : 2011-05-18
Location : staffordshire, england

Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitimeTue May 31 2011, 21:30

looks smart - nice one Smile
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Wave 3 previews Empty
PostSubject: Re: Wave 3 previews   Wave 3 previews I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Wave 3 previews
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

LOW COMMORRAGH - THE WORKSHOPS

 :: Painting & Modelling Discussion
-
Jump to: