THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 How do we beat Necrons

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Erebus
HTMLaemonculus
Erebus

Posts : 376
Join date : 2013-02-13
Location : Your nightmares

How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 10 2014, 02:34

@Count Adhemar wrote:
You do however then have an argument over whether a model in a chariot is "a unit embarked inside that building or vehicle".

@Darkgreen Pirate wrote:
The command barge is a chariot as well as an open topped vehicle. P86. dual profile, and necron FAQ- Chariot, fast, opentopped, skimmer. So I would say yes, No Escape does apply. So does our local Necron player farao

The chariot entry states that the vehicle and rider are considered a single model despite, so there's no unit embarked inside, thus No Escape doesn't apply.

_________________
Taming the shadows with questionable wit.
Back to top Go down
Obeliske
Slave
Obeliske

Posts : 17
Join date : 2014-10-05

How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 10 2014, 17:07

It may be a single model but it has its own stats and as such a precision shot could be used against it meaning it is still an embarked model and therefor no escape would apply.
Back to top Go down
Unholyllama
Sybarite
Unholyllama

Posts : 267
Join date : 2013-08-27

How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 10 2014, 17:11

No Escape requires a unit embarked in the open top vehicle.  Chariots are not considered transports and thus do not have a unit "embarked" on them.

Templates and blast always go against the chariot profile (per chariot rules).  No escape does not trigger since there is no embarked unit.

Hitting a command barge with a heavy flamer just hits the barge and not the overlord rider.


EDIT: Precision shot is explicitly covered in the chariot rules (shooter allocates).
Back to top Go down
Crazy_Ivan
Wych
Crazy_Ivan

Posts : 515
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 10 2014, 18:20

I can see deep striking with medusae a good bet, don't flamers hut the passengers on open topped vehicles now?
Back to top Go down
Unholyllama
Sybarite
Unholyllama

Posts : 267
Join date : 2013-08-27

How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 10 2014, 18:53

@Crazy_Ivan wrote:
I can see deep striking with medusae a good bet, don't flamers hut the passengers on open topped vehicles now?

That's the no escape rule and only applies to transports and buildings. Chariots are not transports.
Back to top Go down
Obeliske
Slave
Obeliske

Posts : 17
Join date : 2014-10-05

How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 10 2014, 20:23

The No Escape rule applies to hitting an open topped vehicle. NOT specifically a transport.

'No Escape
If a Template weapon hits a building's Fire Point or an Open-Topped vehicle and there is a unit embarked inside that building or vehicle, then in addition to any other effects that unit suffers D6 hits, resolved at the Strength and AP of the weapon. These hits are Randomly Allocated.'

Embarked is not technical term from a game standpoint (outside of game it simply means that there is a passanger('s)) its simply a descriptor, that aside who's driving it if not a person (who btw has his own stat card)? It is open topped which does invoke the No Escape special rule.
Back to top Go down
Unholyllama
Sybarite
Unholyllama

Posts : 267
Join date : 2013-08-27

How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 10 2014, 20:40

@Obeliske wrote:
The No Escape rule applies to hitting an open topped vehicle. NOT specifically a transport.

'No Escape
If a Template weapon hits a building's Fire Point or an Open-Topped vehicle and there is a unit embarked inside that building or vehicle, then in addition to any other effects that unit suffers D6 hits, resolved at the Strength and AP of the weapon. These hits are Randomly Allocated.'

Embarked is not technical term from a game standpoint (outside of game it simply means that there is a passanger('s)) its simply a descriptor, that aside who's driving it if not a person (who btw has his own stat card)? It is open topped which does invoke the No Escape special rule.

No Escape is invoked; however, it causes no hits as there is not a unit embarked with it (the rider and chariot are 1 model/unit - not separate ones).
Back to top Go down
Obeliske
Slave
Obeliske

Posts : 17
Join date : 2014-10-05

How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 10 2014, 20:54

I'm going to have to concede the point as I don't have a rulebook in front of me (I'm a terrible employee Razz ) and it occurs to me that Raiders and other such vehicles and such have pilots/gunners that would be hit as well. Though I do have to say thinking it through it doesn't make much sense that you hit passangers but not crew on these vehicles.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: How do we beat Necrons    How do we beat Necrons  - Page 2 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
How do we beat Necrons
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: