THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitimeSun Oct 05 2014, 11:32

I put to you - denizens of the dark city - that we now pack the single best defence against the silly psychic death stars - the WWP combined with the crucible.

With no saves of any kind allowed and no limit on how many we can use - a pair of haemonculus with a WWP and a crucible each simply annihilates the screamer and seer stars wholesale. The Palistar needs 3 to have a shot at putting it down but with 2 detachments that's easy - even easier with the coming formations from the coven

Thoughts? Yes the 2 of them will be 250ish points combined but the ability to cripple those armies is almost singularly unmatched

We can not for your invisibility or fortune or saves for that matter - most of the time we pop the crucible, wound on 2's and with 2 going off... well... that's horrific for those forces

have I missed something?

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitimeSun Oct 05 2014, 11:36

@Massaen wrote:
Thoughts? Yes the 2 of them will be 250ish points combined but the ability to cripple those armies is almost singularly unmatched

You could save 35pts on the second webway portal by running the haemonculus in a single unit.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitimeSun Oct 05 2014, 11:41

haha - true! I was just excited and went with the option for flexibility of deploying 2 units with them

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitimeSun Oct 05 2014, 12:09

Also I'm not quite sure how I see the crucible of malediction ending death stars after re-reading the rules.

Quote :
...all units that include one or more models with the Psyker, Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers or Psychic Pilot special rules (friend or foe) within 3D6" of the bearer immediately suffer a Strength 6 hit, with no saves of any kind allowed.

So say you have a unit of screamers with two heralds of tzeentch in it. That is a unit that include one or more models with the Psyker special rule. So the unit suffers a S6 hit with no saves of any kind allowed. The owner of the screamer star resolves the hit against the nearest screamer to the haemi unit. That screamer is now on 1 wound. The heralds are untouched. The screamer star is unscathed.

Seems futile to me. The problem is it says the unit suffers the hit, not the psyker.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitimeSun Oct 05 2014, 12:14

ah - just came to the same conclusion... knew it was to good to be true...

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitimeSun Oct 05 2014, 12:15

@Massaen wrote:
ah - just came to the same conclusion... knew it was to good to be true...

Sad

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Calyptra
Wych
Calyptra

Posts : 802
Join date : 2013-03-25
Location : Boston

Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitimeSun Oct 05 2014, 13:21

It's pretty disappointing that psykers will be able to protect themselves from the Crucible with non-psychic meatshields.

At least the Helm of Spite is awesome.

What reasonable situations would the Crucible be worth it in?
I think most models a Marine Librarian is likely to hang out with are worth at least 20 points.

_________________
Dark Eldar plog: Drug-Crazed Space Elves
Stupid humans plog: Calyptra's Stupid Humans
Vampire Counts plog: Bat Country
Back to top Go down
Plague
Kabalite Warrior
Plague

Posts : 115
Join date : 2011-06-24
Location : U.S.A.

Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitimeSun Oct 05 2014, 13:54

If it was all models in the unit that took the STR 6 hit with no saves allowed the crucible would be ridiculously OP, AND AWESOME!

This would have shifted the psycher spam meta quite a bit if it were true, but alas, it's not...

_________________
“Now they will know why they are afraid of the dark. Now they learn why they fear the night.”
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!   Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar! I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Multiple detachments plus crucible of malediction equals end of psychicstar!
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: