HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 7th Ed Jinking

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Erebus
HTMLaemonculus
avatar

Posts : 374
Join date : 2013-02-13
Location : Your nightmares

PostSubject: 7th Ed Jinking   Sat Sep 13 2014, 00:34

I have my first game of 7th tomorrow and was (re)acquainting myself with the rules. And I get to Jink...

"If the unit Jinks, all models in the unit with this special rule gain a 4+ cover save until the start of their next Movement phase, but they can only fire Snap Shots until the end of their next turn."

Now, I know a lot (everyone?) read it as that only the model with the rule has to fire snap shots, but it's actually worded in such a way that it has two meanings. A problem with the ambiguous nature of the English language.
The first is obviously the way most read it, and the way I, being a DE player, would prefer to play it: that the advantages and disadvantages apply to the model(s) with the rule.
The other is what I expect was the intention: that the advantages and disadvantages apply to all models in the unit with the rule.

My opponent tomorrow is a necron player, so it's not likely to be a cause of contention given his vehicles are also skimmers, but I'm a stickler for accurate rules interpretation.

_________________
Taming the shadows with questionable wit.
Back to top Go down
MyNameDidntFit
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 140
Join date : 2014-05-13

PostSubject: Re: 7th Ed Jinking   Sat Sep 13 2014, 04:19

I believe that the use of "they" rather than "it" [can only fire Snap Shots] precludes the sentence referring to the unit.

I would have a hard time convincing myself that the second interpretation you've come up with is correct, regardless of advantage or disadvantage.

_________________
Back to top Go down
1++
Hekatrix


Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-06-27
Location : Sydney

PostSubject: Re: 7th Ed Jinking   Sat Sep 13 2014, 05:37

I agree with the above, it's only the units that can Jink (unit type:Skimmer) in the first place are then effected. Warriors can't Jink (as they are Infantry and even when inside a transport that is a skimmer.....they are still Infantry) so are not affected. Raiders can Jink, so are affected.

_________________
"I'm alive from this pain!"
Back to top Go down
Erebus
HTMLaemonculus
avatar

Posts : 374
Join date : 2013-02-13
Location : Your nightmares

PostSubject: Re: 7th Ed Jinking   Sat Sep 13 2014, 11:51

@MyNameDidntFit wrote:
I believe that the use of "they" rather than "it" [can only fire Snap Shots] precludes the sentence referring to the unit.
I had read it as "they" merely being proper use of English after having referred to models (a collection of singular bodies, as opposed to a single entity), but that does raise the point of why they specified models, rather than simply stating "it" gains the benefits and handicaps.

I'm convinced. Thanks.

_________________
Taming the shadows with questionable wit.
Back to top Go down
Panic_Puppet
Wych


Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-12-30

PostSubject: Re: 7th Ed Jinking   Sat Sep 13 2014, 12:42

The use of "they" refers to all the models in the unit, in this case, one raider. It's worded as such because it also covers bikes/jetbikes etc, which have multiple models in the unit.

_________________
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1596
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: 7th Ed Jinking   Sat Sep 13 2014, 17:32

The jink affects only models with jink, and the snapshooting thing is directly connected to this in one sentence, meaning it also affects only the models with Jink.

Second - the transport and transported unit are not one unit.
Back to top Go down
 
7th Ed Jinking
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: