HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Enhanced Aethersails

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Liberame
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2011-06-05

PostSubject: Enhanced Aethersails   Sat Aug 06 2011, 21:04

So I have been thinking. If a raider with enhanced aethersails arrive via deep strike, could you use the enhanced aethersails rule to move the vehicle an additional 2d6 inches. And in doing so, would it make the vehicle count as going flat out giving it a 4+ cover save?

_________________
Some people play tennis, I erode the human soul.
Back to top Go down
GrenAcid
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 257
Join date : 2011-06-02
Location : Poland

PostSubject: Re: Enhanced Aethersails   Sat Aug 06 2011, 21:27

Good question, but since after DS you can not fire and aethersails are used instead of firing you cant move 2d6".

BTW flat out gives you 3+ cover save.

_________________
....shhh, it's okay, it's just me....

Archon of All-seeing Eye Cabal.
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
avatar

Posts : 5484
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

PostSubject: Re: Enhanced Aethersails   Sat Aug 06 2011, 21:51

Acid - You're thinking turboboosters, not flat out.

_________________


The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Enhanced Aethersails   Sat Aug 06 2011, 21:53

BRB p.95 wrote:

In the Movement phase when they arrive, these units
may not move any further, other than to disembark
from a deep striking transport vehicle.

As enhanced ethersails are used in the movement phase, are movement, but no disembarkation, they can't be used after deepstriking.

And as they can't be used the vehicle does not move flat out, but if they could it would be still debatable, because they just "count as having moved at cruising speed" but did not move 12" theroretically it could have moved 6" 1Thou, wich still leaves 5" before moving flat out.

P.S.:
1. enhanced aethersails are not used instead of firing, they just disallow shooting after use.
2. Units that deepstriked can fire.

_________________

I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Liberame
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2011-06-05

PostSubject: Re: Enhanced Aethersails   Sun Aug 07 2011, 09:14

well poop, here's another inquiry then. If a raider moved 12 inches, and a squad within 2 inches embarks into the vehicle, could its aethersails then cause it to move an additional 2d6 inches. I'm saying no, but I am just curious on what others would perceive it as.

_________________
Some people play tennis, I erode the human soul.
Back to top Go down
GrenAcid
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 257
Join date : 2011-06-02
Location : Poland

PostSubject: Re: Enhanced Aethersails   Sun Aug 07 2011, 11:15

I would say no.

_________________
....shhh, it's okay, it's just me....

Archon of All-seeing Eye Cabal.
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Enhanced Aethersails   Sun Aug 07 2011, 12:44

1.:
BRB p.70 wrote:

Passengers may not embark onto or disembark from a
fast vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat
out in that Movement phase.

It is unimportant, if the raider moved 12" and will move further later. While enhanced aethersails do not forbid to embark, the fact that you are going to move flat out does.

2.:
BRB p.66 wrote:

If the vehicle moved before its passengers got
aboard, it may not move any further (including
pivoting on the spot).

So if you want to move further you can't embark, and if you embark you can't move any further.

3.:
BRB p.11 wrote:

Once you have
started moving a unit, you must finish its move before
you start to move another unit. You may not go back
and change the move already made by a previous unit.

The problem here is that you just can't move 12", move/embark another unit and then use aethersails, since you have to finish your first movement befor you can embark the second unit and then you can't go back to use the sails.


So definitely no.

_________________

I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
 
Enhanced Aethersails
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: