HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
AuthorMessage
Dragontree
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2013-11-15
Location : Bristol

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 11:31

Just sat reading the book in a popular coffee chain and blind does appear to be the same.

annoyingly the independent character and infiltrate wording is still slightly amiguous allowing people to argue the toss either way with karandras shenanigans etc

I'm also sad assault doesn't seem to have been drastically altered or boosted.

very pretty books though!

_________________
Ave Dominus Nox - Brothers of Nostramo Night Lords Plog

The_Burning_Eye wrote:
it's the Starsky and Hutch venom! but I'm kinda ok with that
Back to top Go down
n-diver
Slave
avatar

Posts : 9
Join date : 2014-05-24

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 12:38

Doesn't it seem that Mandrakes became a bit more viable with the ruleset change? Being able to assault through cover at initiative, and pinned units unable to fire overwatch... seems like they might have a bit more use now, as those were the things that really hurt them the most. Not saying they're amazing now... but they seem much more useful.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6707
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 12:39

Devilogical wrote:
But someone here says that glancing hits do not remove HP anymore.

Then glancing hits do nothing and have no purpose. Someone with the rulebook can confirm but I'm 100% sure nothing has changed there.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Dragontree
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2013-11-15
Location : Bristol

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 12:43

Glancing hits still remove a hull point so with penetrating hits resulting in explosions less likely haywire is better I think

_________________
Ave Dominus Nox - Brothers of Nostramo Night Lords Plog

The_Burning_Eye wrote:
it's the Starsky and Hutch venom! but I'm kinda ok with that
Back to top Go down
Mngwa
Wych
avatar

Posts : 955
Join date : 2013-01-26
Location : Stadi

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 14:37

Difficult terrain for charging is now a bit different. You subtract 2 instead of rolling three dice. Any mathhammerers there, is this a good change or a bad change for us?

EDIT:
I also like the new jink rule at least a bit. Now they can jink even if they haven't moved yet (good when going second)


Last edited by Mngwa on Sat May 24 2014, 14:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Skulnbonz
Wych
avatar

Posts : 564
Join date : 2012-07-13
Location : Tampa

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 14:44

n-diver wrote:
Doesn't it seem that Mandrakes became a bit more viable with the ruleset change? Being able to assault through cover at initiative, and pinned units unable to fire overwatch... seems like they might have a bit more use now, as those were the things that really hurt them the most. Not saying they're amazing now... but they seem much more useful.

I am missing where they strike at initiative....
They still do not have grenades. They have move through cover which lets them ignore the -2" penalty for charging through terrain, but they strike at in. 1

_________________
ATTITUDE: It is the difference between an ORDEAL and an ADVENTURE!
Back to top Go down
http://www.fantasybattles.com
Mr Believer
Wych
avatar

Posts : 727
Join date : 2011-09-11
Location : Nottinghamshire, UK

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 15:40

Area terrain being removed makes a lot of sense. Everyone having their Wraithknight stood in a small copse of trees and claiming a cover save deserved to lose that one, I don't care what anyone says or how much it hurts us overall! Night Fighting changing is going to really hurt, but it didn't make sense to have it the way it was - every race would realistically have some kind of range finding gear, surely? A flat 6+ for everybody is fine by me, it still benefits us and nobody who plays against us. Battle brothers having a ride in our transports makes me seriously consider banshees now. Farseers riding in my Raiders is going to be a blast, and should have been in there all along. Template weapons affecting passengers in open topped vehicles is fair enough in terms of realism, and let's not forget that should people be dropping next to us to try and get one glancing hit on a vehicle and kill some of the passengers inside, they haven't actually stopped the (now scoring) vehicle. It's not as bleak as it seems. It hurts, but it's a lot of effort to go to for toasting a few S&M space elves  Smile

_________________
My other car is a Ravager
Back to top Go down
Hijallo
In Exile


Posts : 264
Join date : 2012-06-19

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 15:50

May be it's just me, but i haven't found the rule forbidding assault from reserves.
Back to top Go down
notts
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 165
Join date : 2011-10-19

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 15:50

almost all changes negatively effect us, and we have one of, if not the, worst book anyway.


AND they broke the release cycle, asking us to may for rules more frequently.

frak you GW, frak you right in the face.
Back to top Go down
Mr Believer
Wych
avatar

Posts : 727
Join date : 2011-09-11
Location : Nottinghamshire, UK

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 15:52

Hijallo wrote:
May be it's just me, but i haven't found the rule forbidding assault from reserves.

It's on page 136 - " A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserve."

So there's still not much point to webway portals.

_________________
My other car is a Ravager
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 17:30

Mngwa wrote:

EDIT:
I also like the new jink rule at least a bit. Now they can jink even if they haven't moved yet (good when going second)

Speaking personally, all of my raiders usually have cover saves on the first turn anyway - either because they're hiding behind cover, or because I've stuck a venom in the way.

I guess it could be nice against drop-pod melta squads, though I'd be more confident if we actually had some TL stuff on our vehicles.
Back to top Go down
Mngwa
Wych
avatar

Posts : 955
Join date : 2013-01-26
Location : Stadi

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 17:43

The Shredder wrote:
Mngwa wrote:

EDIT:
I also like the new jink rule at least a bit. Now they can jink even if they haven't moved yet (good when going second)

Speaking personally, all of my raiders usually have cover saves on the first turn anyway - either because they're hiding behind cover, or because I've stuck a venom in the way.

I guess it could be nice against drop-pod melta squads, though I'd be more confident if we actually had some TL stuff on our vehicles.
True, but that +4 cover is still better than what there usually is. And now they don't have to be placed like so.
Back to top Go down
DrakeHarkonnen
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 51
Join date : 2013-07-19

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 17:50

i've already tried out a game and our vehicles feel a lot more durable, i played vs Mech Guard and lost maybe 2 vehicles total in three turns of russ/hydra shooting.

The tactical objective missions favor the mobile, a lot of the cards are "hold objective x at the end of your turn" so we can easily take the objective for the turn, jink on it when shot at, then just leave the next turn.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 18:02

Mngwa wrote:
True, but that +4 cover is still better than what there usually is. And now they don't have to be placed like so.

Well, if you're happy for your Ravager to be snap-shotting on its next turn, then yeah you can put it out in the open and enjoy 4+ jink.
Back to top Go down
Cavash
Lord of the Chat
avatar

Posts : 3136
Join date : 2012-04-15
Location : Stuck in an air vent spying on plotters

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 18:46

Seeing as TDC hasn't had a dysjunction on the scale of when 6th came out I'm guessing that the new edition's not too bad. Very Happy

_________________

Back to top Go down
notts
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 165
Join date : 2011-10-19

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 19:22

Cavash wrote:
Seeing as TDC hasn't had a dysjunction on the scale of when 6th came out I'm guessing that the new edition's not too bad. Very Happy

MM dunno. I think there's a lot of stuff that's double edged, "oo look, vehicles got harder to kill! my raiders might survive!"

yes, but so did everyone elses. You also need to kill all dedicared transports now, and will be putting out less AT fire if you are forced to jink.

and of course a lot of stuff which is a flat out nerf to us.

and not that much which looks positive.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 19:27

Cavash wrote:
Seeing as TDC hasn't had a dysjunction on the scale of when 6th came out I'm guessing that the new edition's not too bad. Very Happy

Well, perhaps that's because 7th edition is more like a glorified errata than a new edition.

With so few changes, there's only so much you can comment on.

Well, unless you fancy listing the 'missed opportunities'...  Rolling Eyes 
Back to top Go down
notts
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 165
Join date : 2011-10-19

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 19:30

The Shredder wrote:
Cavash wrote:
Seeing as TDC hasn't had a dysjunction on the scale of when 6th came out I'm guessing that the new edition's not too bad. Very Happy

Well, perhaps that's because 7th edition is more like a glorified errata than a new edition.

With so few changes, there's only so much you can comment on.

Well, unless you fancy listing the 'missed opportunities'...  Rolling Eyes 

both of these are the main reasons I am a bit annoyed.

limited changes make this look more like a GW cash grab.

"missed opportunities", with rumours to changing snapshot, and potential assault, might have helped us quite a bit. instead.... no.
Back to top Go down
Cavash
Lord of the Chat
avatar

Posts : 3136
Join date : 2012-04-15
Location : Stuck in an air vent spying on plotters

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 20:19

Just to let you all know, I have not even touched the rulebook and haven't read any of the rules. I was just stating that I'm pleased that there doesn't seem to be a lot of negativity.

So, seventh sounds a bit more like 6.2 with a bunch of new psychic stuff thrown in?

_________________

Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2715
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 20:24

Cavash wrote:
Just to let you all know, I have not even touched the rulebook and haven't read any of the rules. I was just stating that I'm pleased that there doesn't seem to be a lot of negativity.

Well, I've done my best.  Wink 

Cavash wrote:
So, seventh sounds a bit more like 6.2 with a bunch of new psychic stuff thrown in?

Pretty much, yeah.

There are also some new mission card thingies - but they could just have easily been sold on their own as an expansion to 6th.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6707
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 20:26

Cavash wrote:
So, seventh sounds a bit more like 6.2 with a bunch of new psychic stuff thrown in?

Essentially, yes. They've fixed a lot of stuff that wasn't broken, buffed some stuff that was OP and nerfed some stuff that was crap. And added a new deck of cards and a selling daemons psychic phase.

I don't think I'll bother buying the new rules and will wait for a mini rulebook off ebay.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Cavash
Lord of the Chat
avatar

Posts : 3136
Join date : 2012-04-15
Location : Stuck in an air vent spying on plotters

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 20:46

Count Adhemar wrote:
and a selling daemons psychic phase.

I admit that I think this is quite gimmicky and don't like it fluffwise, but it's certianly made me want to play a silly list full of Farseers summoning Bloodletters and turning each other into Greater Daemons. Very Happy

I'm going to wait for the mini-book too. Might get the boxset. Not sure yet.

_________________

Back to top Go down
Dragontree
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2013-11-15
Location : Bristol

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 20:57

The background book is very nice, the miniature showcase is pretty but poor and has actual adverts in it for other GW products that look like a printed out webpage advert.

I genuinely like the psychic phase. Oh btw in the DE fluff section it makes a string point that DE eschew all forms of psychic powers so hopefully no bomb in the new dex.

Interestingly I cannot find aegis defence rules or any fortification rules in my copy of the rules. It simply refers you to stronghold assault and "other" datasheets.


Trying to suck more money from book purchases for fotification rules...

_________________
Ave Dominus Nox - Brothers of Nostramo Night Lords Plog

The_Burning_Eye wrote:
it's the Starsky and Hutch venom! but I'm kinda ok with that
Back to top Go down
Mngwa
Wych
avatar

Posts : 955
Join date : 2013-01-26
Location : Stadi

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 21:08

I just figured we can now have multiple allies, right?

I could go for my dream of catachan mercenaries while still have some rangers and now maybe even an autarch  Cool 

Maybe... maybe even some kroot for fun!


Also, another thing I realized that we can all ally with nids now too. The new rule is that it is the same as desperate allies, but when deploying, you must keep all that have the "come the apocalypse"-relation within 12" of each other.
Back to top Go down
Cavash
Lord of the Chat
avatar

Posts : 3136
Join date : 2012-04-15
Location : Stuck in an air vent spying on plotters

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 24 2014, 21:16

Dragontree wrote:
Oh btw in the DE fluff section it makes a string point that DE eschew all forms of psychic powers so hopefully no bomb in the new dex.

Yes! I'm so happy about this. Very Happy

_________________

Back to top Go down
 
7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 4 of 12Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10, 11, 12  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DARK ELDAR DISCUSSION

 :: Dark Eldar Discussion
-
Jump to: