HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 10, 11, 12  Next
AuthorMessage
Hannibal.Lictor
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 111
Join date : 2013-07-29

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sat May 31 2014, 05:45

You guys must be better than me at those guys, every time I go for a heat lance shot, its good night sweet prince. I tend to be able to move from one piece of cover to the other, each to their own. I hope that came of with sincerity and not snootiness.
Back to top Go down
Heezayy
Slave


Posts : 9
Join date : 2013-10-09

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sun Jun 01 2014, 04:53

I was just wondering that if an Archon with a huskblade charges into lets say a unit of Marines with, for example, a Librarian and a sergeant among the ranks and I issue a challenge which the opponent accepts with his sergeant and we inflict 2 wounds does that mean we can allocate the second wound on to the Librarian thus killing him outright too? This would mean our opponents would want to throw multi-wound characters in to the challenges so that we don't just allocate any remaining wounds evenly on to all of the multi-wound models in a squad killing them all outright without any saves (as a model such as a sergeant wouldn't be able to make any saves against a huskblade). I'm relatively new to 40K and didn't play much of 6th so I'm not 100% with all the rules.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sun Jun 01 2014, 05:21

Nope, allocation would be to the closest model...

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Heezayy
Slave


Posts : 9
Join date : 2013-10-09

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sun Jun 01 2014, 06:04

Ah, of course, thanks for reminding me. So it would be best to place the Archon in contact with characters if possible. Oh well, if we can get in contact with characters on the charge it might force them to reconsider accepting the challenge with a weak 1 wound model still.
Back to top Go down
Aroban
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 113
Join date : 2014-03-03

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Sun Jun 01 2014, 21:00

why is there a difference in the wound allocation inflicted on models located next to the challenge based on wounds the character has if they are killed by the instant death rule?

I mean in your example if 2 instant death wounds are inflicted in a challenge on a 3 wound model, wouldn't it die and the extra wound be allocated to the next closest model?

_________________
Back to top Go down
Heezayy
Slave


Posts : 9
Join date : 2013-10-09

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Mon Jun 02 2014, 01:08

Yeah exactly. But I wasn't sure of how wounds could be allocated. For example if you wound a model 3 times in a challenge and you are in base contact with 2 other multi-wound models can you place a single wound on each one, killing all three? One wound to kill the opponent in the challenge and then two to carry other and take out two other models in base contact. I just wanted to clarify if this was how it works with the new challenge rules and being able to carry over multiple insta-death wounds that weren't saved by the challenger.
Back to top Go down
chuckcNY
Slave


Posts : 9
Join date : 2012-10-01
Location : White Plains, NY

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Mon Jun 02 2014, 15:29

@Hannibal.Lictor wrote:

Carnival of Pain, esp if the rumors are true.

What are the rumors re: Carnival of Pain?
Back to top Go down
Dizzie
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 104
Join date : 2012-11-10

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 15:42


Been reading this post for the last few days, some interesting new changes being thrown around.

Here's what i like with regards to the changes..

Phantasm grenade launchers, obviously for the assault reasons. But has anyone thought of the how this effects our kabalite squads? use their raider to get within 8" range, get out or stay in raider. depends on the circumstance really, blind the squad, rapid fire, laugh a lot.... the issue the attacked squad now faces is this.

They are now at WS1 and BS1 in their turn, they can shoot or charge, if they shoot they will miss a lot, if they charge then they get another round of snap fire in their face and we get to attack first in most situations.. now its not a lot of attacks, but cumulitively that squad may be very dead before it even gets a chance to strike. I admit this is in a bubble but army wide this could be great.

This little rule change has changed the dynamics of our army a lot.

More survivable vehicles, this is great for us overall and great for haywire wyches too.
Wyches imo are actually a great squad to field again since their disaster in 6th.

I can see a shift back to raider spam, with shock prows.
The lanceborn are great now too.

also the fact the decapitator can infiltrate any squad he joins now.

leliths leagues apart and blind grenades

some great changes, and that jink save hehe!

Some of these i bet will be FAQed so i'll enjoy them while i can..




Back to top Go down
ulijikaru
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 49
Join date : 2013-11-19

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 15:54

@Dizzie wrote:


Lelith"s leagues apart and blind grenades



WHOA! *Mind Exploded.* That is a ridiculous CC combo! What kind of group would you have her linked up with for that? 8 wyches and a Hekatrix in a raider? Incubi and a raider?
Back to top Go down
Dizzie
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 104
Join date : 2012-11-10

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 16:12

best combo would be prob grotesques as it will attract a lot of attention. don't need any super killy units with it, you want to hopefully kill the unit in their phase.

EDIT: it would have to be wyches, otherwsie you need to find a PGL from elsewhere, other HQ's.
Back to top Go down
Azdrubael
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1761
Join date : 2011-11-16
Location : Russia

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 17:17

Quote :
But has anyone thought of the how this effects our kabalite squads?
No, as it costs 30 points...

Quote :
I can see a shift back to raider spam, with shock prows.
Tankshock is still kinda meh. Raiders are welcomed back ofc.

_________________
The Dance of Death begins - embraces, caresses, and kisses,
The Harlequin loves you as you fall over in pieces!
Back to top Go down
Mngwa
Wych
avatar

Posts : 955
Join date : 2013-01-26
Location : Stadi

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 17:28

I think an archon with a blaster and a PGL along with the grotesques would do a good escort for Lelith.
Although I still want her with Jain Zar and some Banshees :/
Back to top Go down
Dizzie
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 104
Join date : 2012-11-10

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 18:21

@Azdrubael wrote:
Quote :
But has anyone thought of the how this effects our kabalite squads?
No, as it costs 30 points...

Quote :
I can see a shift back to raider spam, with shock prows.
Tankshock is still kinda meh. Raiders are welcomed back ofc.

well actually 35pts might as well take a venom blade if you intend to do this.. If vehicles are more survivable and less likely to explode its points well spent. I think our days are gone with min and maxing due to vehicle explosions. some play testing will be required of course. Splinter racks will improve on this ofc if you intend to stay on the raider.

Shock prows isn't really for the damage its more to shift your opponent of objectives. but yeah might not be that good, depends greatly on mission cards.

i still have not play tested it yet but in theory if you can lock an army down with blind grenades it could work very well. The general consensus i've been hearing is that our skimmers are gonna wreck the majority of the time, which makes this a very viable tactic. It makes sense to me to to add the extra points and keep the squads more survivable since area terrain is another nerf that's hurting us.
Back to top Go down
fredpower
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 69
Join date : 2014-06-05
Location : Brazil

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 22:37

What you guys thinks about the new rule of flamers on open topped vehicles?
in may games thats the biggest problem with the new ed normaly they come in dreanoughts in drop pods i'm having trouble with this. if any of you have an ideia how can i work it out. ty
sry for my english im brazilian
Back to top Go down
Plastikente
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 373
Join date : 2012-11-15
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 22:59

Just played my first game of 7th, and I have to say that in Maelstrom of War, we rock!

As a couple of people have pointed out in this thread, it's all about mobility. Between Reaver jetbikes and flat-out scoring Raiders it was no trouble to skip back and forth across the board stealing objectives from under the nose of my CSM opponent.

I did take one flamer hit to a Raider with passengers, but it wasn't that big a deal. I wasn't dealing with deep striking heavy flamers though...

_________________

Back from a long journey in realspace...

Project Log: Kabal of the Bloodspray Corsairs
Flickr: jjtweed's Photostream
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Thu Jun 05 2014, 23:12

We tried out the Maelstrom missions this week and I took my usual Dark Eldar/Eldar list vs my friend's Necrons. Was very tight at 5-4 to me until the last turn when I scored Kingslayer, Domination, Slay the Warlord and Linebreaker for a 16-4 victory. I lost a few beasts, one wave serpent, one venom and 2 Wyches and he had a single Night Scythe left so it would have been a victory under the Eternal War missions too.

Quite like the Maelstrom idea but it definitely has flaws and can basically hand one player the game before the other player even has a turn. That didn't happen this time fortunately.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
ulijikaru
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 49
Join date : 2013-11-19

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 02:38

I may have missed this part of the thread but has anyone noticed the nerf to grenades and by extension our lovely haywire toting wyches? GW has--in bold--declared on page 180: Only one grenade of (of any type) can be thrown by a unit per phase. As my primary opponent is a mech heavy IG, Suicide Haywire was by far the best way to go. That got more dangerous with the inclusion of fire Barrels (already raged once about that in another post) but now only 2 haywires total (one from a shooting phase and one from our assault) have the 55.5% chance of glancing (averaging 1.1 glances for our trouble) instead 6-11 haywires (3.3-6.1 glances).

Someone please tell me that I am reading this wrong or have missed something...
Back to top Go down
deep-sea-captain
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2014-02-08

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 03:36

The key word is THROWN! You can still assault with grenades as normal.
Back to top Go down
Dizzie
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 104
Join date : 2012-11-10

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 03:50

+1 if you read further into the grenade section it explains that a model can sacrifice all their attacks for one grenade attack, it's exactly the same, 1 grenade can be thrown in shooting and then each model in the squad in HTH
Back to top Go down
fredpower
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 69
Join date : 2014-06-05
Location : Brazil

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 05:22

Dark eldar is now very strong in the new missions is easy to make 3 points in a turn if pick the right cards, and leave our enemies only with the clean the tablel and thats not easy to do when you have such a fast army. but i like to play for the killing and i need help against the flamers =).
Back to top Go down
Brom
Wych


Posts : 755
Join date : 2013-03-28

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 06:03

@fredpower wrote:
What you guys thinks about the new rule of flamers on open topped vehicles?
in may games thats the biggest problem with the new ed normaly they come in dreanoughts in drop pods i'm having trouble with this. if any of you have an ideia how can i work it out. ty
sry for my english im brazilian  
Defending against deep striking templates is very difficult, really the only options are bubble wrap, moving to the top of multi story ruins the turn of arrival, and counter assault/support as a deterrent. The good news is the damage is random ranging from no wounds to an entire squad.. in the case of a fragioso likely the entire squad and their ride.
Back to top Go down
ulijikaru
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 49
Join date : 2013-11-19

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 06:29

@deep-sea-captain wrote:
The key word is THROWN! You can still assault with grenades as normal.

Thanks for the quick replies. Sorry if i caused a panic.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 07:14

@Count Adhemar wrote:
We tried out the Maelstrom missions this week and I took my usual Dark Eldar/Eldar list vs my friend's Necrons. Was very tight at 5-4 to me until the last turn when I scored Kingslayer, Domination, Slay the Warlord and Linebreaker for a 16-4 victory. I lost a few beasts, one wave serpent, one venom and 2 Wyches and he had a single Night Scythe left so it would have been a victory under the Eternal War missions too.

Quite like the Maelstrom idea but it definitely has flaws and can basically hand one player the game before the other player even has a turn. That didn't happen this time fortunately.

Both Maelstrom games I've played so far wound up with the cards so hideously skewed against me my only option was to try and table my opponent for a win by default.
Back to top Go down
Laughingcarp
Wych
avatar

Posts : 562
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : The insane asylum of the universe

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 08:22

To counter that experience, Jimsolo, both games I've played for 7th so far have had the cards be remarkably balanced. Neither player got the exact same cards over and over again, or more objectives to the point of victory over the other player. They did exactly as advertised.

_________________
I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Fleet Shadowmaker - Kabal of the Dying Sun; Cult of Marrow Excised; Coven of Lambent Hunger
Sons of the Last Breath - Chaos Space Marines
Host of Shattered Purity - Chaos Daemons
Back to top Go down
Crazy_Irish
Sybarite


Posts : 493
Join date : 2011-05-28
Location : Huntsville, Al

PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   Fri Jun 06 2014, 08:51

Well I guess that is the nature of picking cards, is pretty random. A problem I see is that if you have good cards you are rewarded twice, first you receive points and you get more chances to pick good cards.

_________________
...What about a Bastion made out of Guardsmen as some form of sick sarcasm?...Or a Fortress of Redemption made out of Dark Angels - Sky Serpent
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: 7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review   

Back to top Go down
 
7th Changes for Dark Eldar - a review
Back to top 
Page 11 of 12Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 10, 11, 12  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: Drukhari Discussion
-
Jump to: