HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Shadow Field in Duels

Go down 
AuthorMessage
lessthanjeff
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 344
Join date : 2014-03-09
Location : Orlando, FL

PostSubject: Shadow Field in Duels   Sun Mar 23 2014, 11:25

Wanted to make sure I wasn't cheating other players when I have my archon in a duel with the bystanders cheering him on rule. If I roll a one on an armor save, I can reroll that for having 5+ bystanders and not short out the shadow field, right? I treated the one as something that never happened because of the reroll, but I hope that's correct.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field in Duels   Sun Mar 23 2014, 11:45

Correct - it's a reroll just like any other

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Laughingcarp
Wych
avatar

Posts : 562
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : The insane asylum of the universe

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field in Duels   Sun Mar 23 2014, 18:43

Yup you done good.
Who'd you fight?
With what?
Did you win?

_________________
I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Fleet Shadowmaker - Kabal of the Dying Sun; Cult of Marrow Excised; Coven of Lambent Hunger
Sons of the Last Breath - Chaos Space Marines
Host of Shattered Purity - Chaos Daemons
Back to top Go down
lessthanjeff
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 344
Join date : 2014-03-09
Location : Orlando, FL

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field in Duels   Sun Mar 23 2014, 20:53

Excellent, thanks guys. People tend to perceive rules (often unintentionally) in ways that are advantageous to themselves, so I didn't want to find out I was being biased.

I fought against a khorne daemon prince wielding an axe of blinding fury with my archon wielding an agonizer and shadowfield and supported by 5 wyches. My razorwing jetfighter heroically caused 1 wound, the ground caused a second, my archon got one through in the 2nd round of combat, and his own daemon weapon finished him off. Twas a sad end for a mighty warrior.
Back to top Go down
Laughingcarp
Wych
avatar

Posts : 562
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : The insane asylum of the universe

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field in Duels   Tue Mar 25 2014, 20:28

BOOM!
Well done, sirrah!
I've played in situations like that before, and DPs always feel invincible until that last wound shows itself. (My other army is CSM). And I've managed to have Typhus kill himself before as well.
Trick is not to use Daemon Weapons once they're down that low.

But anyway, you won CC vs a Daemon Prince and that's something to be proud of. Just be happy it wasn't a Tzeentch prince with Black Mace.

_________________
I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Fleet Shadowmaker - Kabal of the Dying Sun; Cult of Marrow Excised; Coven of Lambent Hunger
Sons of the Last Breath - Chaos Space Marines
Host of Shattered Purity - Chaos Daemons
Back to top Go down
lessthanjeff
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 344
Join date : 2014-03-09
Location : Orlando, FL

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field in Duels   Wed Mar 26 2014, 12:14

I've got a thousand sons army and playing against a friend with a nurgle army, we once had both of our generals sucked into the warp in the same turn. My Ahriman to a perils and his daemon prince to a bloodthirsty daemon weapon. One thing I like about my Dark Eldar, they don't go around killing themselves and turning into spawns.

Isn't there a rule somewhere about having to use the strongest weapon you have though? Or am I thinking of something in fantasy?
Back to top Go down
Erebus
HTMLaemonculus
avatar

Posts : 374
Join date : 2013-02-13
Location : Your nightmares

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field in Duels   Wed Mar 26 2014, 15:21

That's fantasy: if a model has a magic weapon, they must use it because "ooh, so pretty". In 40k, player chooses what weapon to attack with.

_________________
Taming the shadows with questionable wit.
Back to top Go down
 
Shadow Field in Duels
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: