HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Rule questions

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Darklight
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Stavanger

PostSubject: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 5:52 am

1) So, according to FAQ its clear that Fortune cant be cast on Dark Eldar unit, however, because of the IC joining unit rule, an Archon, or Baron or whatever can join a Eldar unit and benefit from Fortune?

2) How to place ADL. I was playing a game, and we placed his ADL in the corner of the table, now the issue I had was him placing two pieces in front of eachoter, they where still touching, but I couldnt assault as there was now to much distance, and he was standing in a line behind the ADL so i couldnt get past it either.

And as this was just a fun 500pts battle, and I only brought CC units I couldnt do crap. Cheesy as frak, but is it even legal to deploy it like this or? well I havnt found anything to it cant be.

_________________
Plays Dark Eldar, Eldar and Harlequins.
If you are from norway, check out www.drittunger.no
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7123
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 8:08 am

1) Yes you can cast Fortune on an Eldar unit that has been joined by non-Eldar IC's, as they count as part of the unit. It does not work the other way round though, so no casting on a non-Eldar unit that has been joined by Eldar IC's.

2) Only restriction on placing an ADL is that each section must be placed in base contact with at least one other section and must be deployed in an unbroken chain. So your opponent was perfectly legal but I'm not quite sure how he managed to stop you assaulting. Even if you're placing two sections in front of each other they're still only an inch or so thick. Why couldn't you assault?

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych


Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 8:58 am

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Why couldn't you assault?

They must've agreed on not being able to 'climb over' the ADL walls? But you can also agree otherwise. It's a gentleman's agreement and not a solid rule. See for instance page 90: "Note that, as part of their move through difficult terrain... players have agreed that a certain wall or obstacle is impassable." Also check for instance page 45: Assault. Also check page 104 and 114 for the appropiate rules about defence lines.

So next time make sure you discuss the terrainpieces (including fortifications). Wink

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Darklight
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Stavanger

PostSubject: Re: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 9:19 am

I would have had to stand on top of the walls, well, ehm I could properly have done that tho :p

_________________
Plays Dark Eldar, Eldar and Harlequins.
If you are from norway, check out www.drittunger.no
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych


Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 9:25 am

@Darklight wrote:
I would have had to stand on top of the walls, well, ehm I could properly have done that tho :p

What do you mean? To be in assault? If his models were against the wall it would even be more simple. All you had to was shove your models against the wall and you'd be in close combat. See page 104.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Darklight
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Stavanger

PostSubject: Re: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 9:41 am

@tlronin wrote:
@Darklight wrote:
I would have had to stand on top of the walls, well, ehm I could properly have done that tho :p

What do you mean? To be in assault? If his models were against the wall it would even be more simple. All you had to was shove your models against the wall and you'd be in close combat. See page 104.

Well,

Problem is that he placed them like shown on this poor paint drawing:


So I wasnt inside 2"

_________________
Plays Dark Eldar, Eldar and Harlequins.
If you are from norway, check out www.drittunger.no
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7123
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 9:46 am

@Darklight wrote:
@tlronin wrote:
@Darklight wrote:
I would have had to stand on top of the walls, well, ehm I could properly have done that tho :p

What do you mean? To be in assault? If his models were against the wall it would even be more simple. All you had to was shove your models against the wall and you'd be in close combat. See page 104.

Well,

Problem is that he placed them like shown on this poor paint drawing:


So I wasnt inside 2"

Well, the ADL is classed as Difficult Terrain and the rules for that say:

Quote :
Note that, as part of their move through difficult terrain, models can move through walls, closed doors and windows, and all
sirnilarly solid obstacles, unless the players have agreed that a certain wall or obstacle is impassable.

So you could have moved/charged through it as long as you rolled sufficient distance.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych


Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 9:55 am

Yup. That's the rule I brought up when citing page 90.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Darklight
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Stavanger

PostSubject: Re: Rule questions   Fri May 03, 2013 9:57 am

Yea, I didnt think about that at all, so next time I will do that. Do have Baron in the group so PGL ftw

_________________
Plays Dark Eldar, Eldar and Harlequins.
If you are from norway, check out www.drittunger.no
Back to top Go down
 
Rule questions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: