HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Siegfried VII
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 29
Join date : 2012-11-24
Location : Greece - Athens

PostSubject: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Wed Feb 13 2013, 19:17

Greetings guys. Smile
Here is the question:

Lets us say that we have an independent character joined with a Harlequin Troupe. The Harlequins ignore difficult terrain correct? The character does not though. So what happens if I want to move the unit through difficult terrain?

Does the whole unit suffer the difficult terrain penalties due to the character?

Does the character get to benefit from the flip belts?


_________________
Embrace the Darkness...
Back to top Go down
http://valleysofeternity.blogspot.gr/
Crazy_Ivan
Wych
avatar

Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Wed Feb 13 2013, 20:11

The squad would be slowed by the IC unfortunately, only models equipped with the flip belts gain the benefit.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 00:27

You roll for the IC and that's it. Units can have different movement speeds in 6th ed. so long as you maintain coherency based on the DT roll your good

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
colinsherlow
Wych
avatar

Posts : 956
Join date : 2011-11-23
Location : Vancouver BC

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 03:38

@Massaen wrote:
You roll for the IC and that's it. Units can have different movement speeds in 6th ed. so long as you maintain coherency based on the DT roll your good

sweet! do you by chance have a page reference for that?
I recall reading that you move at the slowest models moving speed (like for diff terrain and say a unit of beasts is charging with say an archon at an enemy in cover. the beasts ignore terrain, but the archon does not and so the unit has to roll for tarrain.
NOTE! I would never put an archon in a beast unit. just an example

I just thought that models are considered seperatlly for shooting. like awarrior with a dark lance doesn't move, but the rest of the unit does move. this still allows the lance warriors to fire a his full bs

_________________
There are two things that I love. Kicking ass and chewing bubble gum... And I'm allllll out of bubble gum!
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 06:34

Page 10. It specifies movement is done on a model basis when mixed speeds are involved

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 07:43

@Massaen wrote:
You roll for the IC and that's it. Units can have different movement speeds in 6th ed. so long as you maintain coherency based on the DT roll your good

Unfortunately this doesn't apply to difficult terrain.

Quote :
If the unit starts its move outside difficult terrain the player must declare if he wants his unit to try and enter difficult terrain as part of their move... If he chooses for a unit to do so, the unit must take a difficult terrain test. -BRB page 90

Quote :
If any models in a unit start their move in difficult terrain, they are affected by the terrain and must take a difficult terrain test. No model in the unit can move more than the distance indicated by the test, even if they are not in difficult terrain. -BRB page 90

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 08:31

Good spot mush! Never noticed that before! Never run harlies with an IC before either mind you

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 08:41

@Massaen wrote:
Good spot mush! Never noticed that before! Never run harlies with an IC before either mind you

Yeah it's one of those really annoying GW inconsistencies! Everything moves at its own speed! Except if X, or Y, or Z, in fact most of the time...Sigh. Smile

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
avatar

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 16:02

now how I have been playing it is as long as the IC doesnt enter terrain, the unit can move its full distance. For the simple fact that although the Unit itself requires a DT test, the models dont. SO basically the archon can skirt along side the terrain, the unit can move its full distance. Now I dont have any proof of this atm (at work) so take it with a grain of salt Razz

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Siegfried VII
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 29
Join date : 2012-11-24
Location : Greece - Athens

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 22:56

Thanks for the replies guys.

Now here is an idea I had regarding this situation: What if the character leaves the unit during the movement and joins the unit once again in the end of the movement. The unit does not roll for difficult terrain due to the flip belts but the IC rolls normally. As long as he ends his movement within 2 inches of a harlequin model it should be ok.

The way I read the rules for IC it is not prohibited for a character to leave a unit at the start of the movement phase and join again another (or the same for that matter) unit in the end of his movement. The way it is written it is clear that the character is considered joined with a unit as long as by the end of the movement phase he is within 2 inches (aka in coherency) with a model of the unit.

So unless there is a faq that I have not written I believe this is a legal action. What do you guys think?

_________________
Embrace the Darkness...
Back to top Go down
http://valleysofeternity.blogspot.gr/
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 23:57

The problem with this is order of events. The IC joins a unit by moving into coherency or leaves a unit by leaving coherency. You can't move a unit away from an IC as he is part of the unit. He has to leave the unit. Once he moves away the IC rules tell us that to join a unit the IC must move into coherency, not a unit must move to him

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Thu Feb 14 2013, 23:59

@Shadows Revenge wrote:
now how I have been playing it is as long as the IC doesnt enter terrain, the unit can move its full distance. For the simple fact that although the Unit itself requires a DT test, the models dont. SO basically the archon can skirt along side the terrain, the unit can move its full distance. Now I dont have any proof of this atm (at work) so take it with a grain of salt Razz

Based on mushkilla's quotes, this does not work as the IC is part of the unit and if any model reaches terrin from the unit you test

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Fri Feb 15 2013, 00:25

@Massaen wrote:
Once he moves away the IC rules tell us that to join a unit the IC must move into coherency, not a unit must move to him

That is not correct.

BRB p.39 wrote:
In order to join a unit an Independent Character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their movement phase. [...] An Independent Character can leave a unit during the movement phase by moving out of unit coherency with it.

So yes, an IC can leave a unit during the movement phase by moving out of coherency to walk ahead and join it again by moving in a way that he is in coherency with it at the end of the movement phase, when the unit caught up again.

_________________

I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
avatar

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   Fri Feb 15 2013, 14:45

@Massaen wrote:
@Shadows Revenge wrote:
now how I have been playing it is as long as the IC doesnt enter terrain, the unit can move its full distance. For the simple fact that although the Unit itself requires a DT test, the models dont. SO basically the archon can skirt along side the terrain, the unit can move its full distance. Now I dont have any proof of this atm (at work) so take it with a grain of salt Razz

Based on mushkilla's quotes, this does not work as the IC is part of the unit and if any model reaches terrin from the unit you test

My one retort to this is that harlies themselves dont initiate a Move Through Cover roll due to their special rule. I do agree that if the archon tries to go in and say... rolls a 4, the harlies cant move any more than 4 inches, but their roll supersedes that rule (because it ofc doesnt take into account models that dont roll for difficult terrain)

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question   

Back to top Go down
 
Independent Character within Harlequin Troupe and movement Question
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: