HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 vehicles cover in area terrain

Go down 
AuthorMessage
tlronin
Wych


Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

PostSubject: vehicles cover in area terrain   Mon Feb 11 2013, 12:32

Ey peeps,

I know the general rules about models (any model so also vehicles, monstrous creatures etc...) in area terrain. They don't need to be obscured. But I had a few games with various people and some things strike me as really odd which makes me to believe we're not playing this right. Like:

- A huge tank on top of an empty piece of cardboard which we declared area terrain with 5+ cover and the tank claimed that 5+ cover;
- A huge deamon prince on top of an empty piece of cardboard which we declared area terrain with 5+ cover and the prince claimed that 5+ cover;
- But... I also once had this big Ork trukk with barely one of his tracks in a small bit of area terrain (a rock with a bit of base work which we declared 5+ area terrain) and he claimed the coversave from the area terrain.

Are we missing something or is area terrain this crazy really?

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Mon Feb 11 2013, 12:48

Vehicles can't benefit from area terrain (BRB page 75).

As for monstrous creatures they do benefit from area terrain so yes a wraith lord in a forest will get a cover save.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych


Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Mon Feb 11 2013, 12:52

Thnx mate.

I knew it! I knew there was a passage addressing this issue. But I doubted myself because I had 2 different opponents claiming the same thing.

Odd about that would be, a Deamon Prince with only his left hoove in area terrain still claiming coversave. Oh well... It's ofcourse an abstraction, so we' ll have to deal with that. Wink

Well, case closed I'd say. Some questions are easy... Embarassed



_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Mon Feb 11 2013, 13:09

Personally as I see it a daemon prince with his foot in area terrain, is not "in" area terrain but "partial in" area terrain. The rules state the model needs to be "in" area terrain. If the models base is not entirely in the area terrain then the model isn't "in" the area terrain, and therefore doesn't benefit from the cover save. That's how I see it anyway.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych


Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Mon Feb 11 2013, 13:16

Well, I would agree with you, because playing it otherwise seems a bit silly to me.

On the other hand, I was once made to take a dangerous terrain test on my Venom, because a part of it's hull (a sideblade) was over area terrain...

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
avatar

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Mon Feb 11 2013, 13:19

Don't have my rule book at the work, but if I recall correctly the picture beside the rule Mush mentioned shows that it is only required to clip the terrain in order to gain coversave. The wordin on the other hand says othervice. (same as hull mounted weapon arcs ,different pic and wording)

_________________
New Dark Eldar in Tournaments: Wins: 17 Draws: 2 Losses: 8
ETC 2013 DE/Eldar player (4th)
ETC 2014 Coach (16th)
ETC 2015 Captain, Eldar/DE (10th)
Painting blog
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Mon Feb 11 2013, 13:28

That's how I play it with my daemons anyway.

Another alternative arrangement is 50% of the models base needs to be in area terrain. In any case it's pretty silly to have a Trygon benefit from area terrain because the edge of it's base is 1/2" into area terrain.

Quote :
Don't have my rule book at the work, but if I recall correctly the picture beside the rule Mush mentioned shows that it is only required to clip the terrain in order to gain coversave.

On page 19? The Orks that are clipping terrain in that picture are behind a ruin (that's why they get the cover save). The ones in the crater look like they are wholly within the crater. But it's one of those things the rule book doesn't clarify unfortunately. Sad

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych


Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Mon Feb 11 2013, 13:32

@Vasara: Maybe it's because you don't have your rulebook with you at work, but I'm looking at a digital version at work (for personal use only ofcourse) and picture 1 actually explains that less than 25% is obscured so the Rhino does in fact not receive a coversave (if you' re talking about page 75 that is).

@Mush: Clear agreements up front I suppose....

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
avatar

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Tue Feb 12 2013, 07:56

I need to scan my rulebook also...

Then I can check before I post false rules.

@Mushkilla wrote:


On page 19? The Orks that are clipping terrain in that picture are behind a ruin (that's why they get the cover save). The ones in the crater look like they are wholly within the crater. But it's one of those things the rule book doesn't clarify unfortunately. Sad

I also looked more closely to that picture and the one was clearly behind the ruin alright. But those that were in the crater. Two of them were only partially in it. But certainly more than 50% in it. Thanks GW for clear rules scratch

Please edit the post next time, will you? - Saint
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Tue Feb 12 2013, 08:14

Yeah it's pretty hard to tell with the irregular crater shape. It's really only an issue with big base models.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Crazy_Ivan
Wych
avatar

Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Tue Feb 12 2013, 20:32

I've moaned about this to my friend who plays with nids for ages! Cover save for a monstrous creature that is not obscured is crazy imo.
Back to top Go down
Crazy_Ivan
Wych
avatar

Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   Tue Feb 12 2013, 20:32

I've moaned about this to my friend who plays with nids for ages! Cover save for a monstrous creature that is not obscured is crazy imo.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: vehicles cover in area terrain   

Back to top Go down
 
vehicles cover in area terrain
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: