HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Drazhar and Riposte

Go down 
AuthorMessage
chuckcNY
Slave


Posts : 9
Join date : 2012-10-01
Location : White Plains, NY

PostSubject: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 16:05

New player here, so still learning the rules....

Scenario: Assault - Opponent's 10 Space Marines vs. my 4 Incubi and Drazhar. Everyone is in range and engaged all my models are in base to base contact with SM. We have just completed my initiative and now Space Marines are rolling to hit and wound.

Space Marines inflict 5 wounds.
As controlling player, I can assign each wound to Drazhar.
Rolling his 2+ armor save one at a time:
if I get a 6, i get an immediate bonus attack due to Riposte
if I get a 1, i can either just take the wound or do a Look Out Sir at 2+ to transfer the wound to another Incubi

1. am I playing this properly?
2. is this the best way to use Riposte? Is this how it is intended to be used?
Back to top Go down
pantofful
Hellion


Posts : 42
Join date : 2012-10-09

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 16:16

you can't take a 'look out sir' once the wound has been assigned. it goes:

- roll to hit
- roll to wound
- assign wounds (look out sir taken now if needed)
- roll saves

So you can do what you're saying, but its a little riskier...
Back to top Go down
chuckcNY
Slave


Posts : 9
Join date : 2012-10-01
Location : White Plains, NY

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 16:46

ahh...looks like my friend's and i had played Look out sir wrong. Thanks for the clarification.

So assuming the same scenario above, is the optimal way to play this:
- assign wound to Drazhar (for simplicity say he has 2 wounds left)
- roll his 2+ armor save, hoping to get a 6 to strike back with riposte
- if he makes a save, assign 2nd wound to Drazhar
- roll his armor save. if he fails and is down to 1 wound, in order to keep him around longer assign 3rd wound to an incubi and assign remaining wounds to incubi
Back to top Go down
Mngwa
Wych
avatar

Posts : 955
Join date : 2013-01-26
Location : Stadi

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 16:52

I wouldn't really want Drazhar to lose any wounds at all on a game! The incubi have a good armor save too, and slightly more expendable than Drazhar Wink
But, if you want to risk a few hits, I suppose thats a good way of avoiding casualties.
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 17:34

If you assign a wound to a model you have to resolve all wounds against this model, until all wounds are saved, or the model is dead. If Drazhar fails his save, you can LoS the remaining wounds, but you can't just assign them to a different model.

_________________

I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
chuckcNY
Slave


Posts : 9
Join date : 2012-10-01
Location : White Plains, NY

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 17:50

@Tiri Rana wrote:
If Drazhar fails his save, you can LoS the remaining wounds, but you can't just assign them to a different model.

if I decide I want to allocate wounds to Drazhar, so now he has 5 wounds coming at him that he needs to save. Before rolling saves, I can choose do to LoS. Where I'm getting lost is why I can LoS remaining wounds if he fails a save.
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 18:13

Because you allocate one wound at a time and once a wound is allocated a LoS attempt can be made.

So you allocate the first wound to Drazhar. He fails his 2+. You allocate the second wound to Drahzar and decide to use LoS.
That's it.

_________________

I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
avatar

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 19:07

@Tiri Rana wrote:
If you assign a wound to a model you have to resolve all wounds against this model, until all wounds are saved, or the model is dead. If Drazhar fails his save, you can LoS the remaining wounds, but you can't just assign them to a different model.

Are you sure on that??? I thought you can assign wounds to any model as long as its in base contact with the unit doing the wounds as long as its close combat. I dont have my rulebook on me, so I cant look it up though to back my claims Razz

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 19:25

You're half right. The first wound can be assigned to any model in base contact. But all subsequent wounds must be allocated to the same model, unitl it either dies or there are no wounds left.

BRB p.25 wrote:
Once a model has a Wound allocated to it, you must continue to allocate Wounds to it until it is either removed as a casualty or the Wound pool is empty...

_________________

I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
avatar

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

PostSubject: Re: Drazhar and Riposte   Thu Jan 31 2013, 20:31

hmmm... interesting.... have to keep that in mind. Thank Tiri, always nice to learn something new

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
 
Drazhar and Riposte
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: