HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Monsterous Creature multi assault

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Darklight
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Stavanger

PostSubject: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 09:10

Was playing against Nids the other day and I played like an idiot and placed a 5 man warrior group next to a venom (with people in it)

So just 6" away there is standing an Hive Tyrant, so then can he multi assault both? I said no... He said "ofc"
Now can eh assault both and hit some attacks at teh veichle and some at the group?

Tried to find soemthing, I didnt, but my logic said no. We rolled it to be no, he was dissapointed but if I do something stupid to make this possible again I want to know whats what :p

_________________
Plays Dark Eldar, Eldar and Harlequins.
If you are from norway, check out www.drittunger.no
Back to top Go down
Murkglow
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 242
Join date : 2012-10-17

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 09:26

From my quick glance through the melee & vehicle sections I don't see any reason why he can't. He can charge more then one unit and I don't see any exceptions for vehicles there.
Back to top Go down
1++
Hekatrix


Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-06-27
Location : Sydney

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 10:07

If you had the time, you should ask him to show you where in the rule book that he can do so, otherwise roll for it, or say no.

I know from 5th ed MC's couldnt multi assault. I think the ruling was something like unit comprising of 1 cannot multi assault or be joined by IC's

_________________
"I'm alive from this pain!"
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 10:20

You can not multi assault as the first model moved must engage the primary target while subsequent models may engage the secondary target. As there is only 1 model... Out of luck!

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Murkglow
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 242
Join date : 2012-10-17

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 10:25

Wouldn't it actually be the other way around? After all the general rule says any unit can so you'd need to find the exception that says a MC can't. I just glanced under Monsterous Creatures and don't see anything there either.

Edit @Massaen: Fair enough I suppose though, moving into contact with the primary unit doesn't necessarily require that they can't be in contact with the secondary unit as well (well there is a sentence that could be read that way). The FAQ mentions that a single IC can still engage two units at once and that the other unit can't leave which kinda makes me think one character could charge two units. I could be wrong though.
Back to top Go down
Darklight
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Stavanger

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 10:53

As I said I placed my stuff really stupid so he could move in base contact with both.

Now, my logic goes like this:

You have to declare assault, and you have to declare it against the unit you have shoot at. And even if you havnt shoot you stil have to declare against 1 unit.

SO with this in mind, and if I remember closly you have to move first unit in to close with that unit and use the shortest way to do so right? or was that just 5th? If so then its moot as he had to move more to the side of the veichle.

Anyway now say he would still be in CC with both. So, logic behind him assigning attacks to differant units? Veichle and Thoughness? I would doubt that was possible... As he can only shoot one target, why should he be able to fight two then? This comes down to wound allucation again...

I dont know, a chase can be made for both sides I supose...

_________________
Plays Dark Eldar, Eldar and Harlequins.
If you are from norway, check out www.drittunger.no
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7147
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 10:53

@Murkglow wrote:
Wouldn't it actually be the other way around? After all the general rule says any unit can so you'd need to find the exception that says a MC can't. I just glanced under Monsterous Creatures and don't see anything there either.

Edit @Massaen: Fair enough I suppose though, moving into contact with the primary unit doesn't necessarily require that they can't be in contact with the secondary unit as well (well there is a sentence that could be read that way). The FAQ mentions that a single IC can still engage two units at once and that the other unit can't leave which kinda makes me think one character could charge two units. I could be wrong though.

A single model, whether a MC, IC or anything else, effectively cannot multi-assault as it would require it to be exactly the same distance from each of the nearest models in the units to be assaulted. If there is even a slight difference between the distances then it will reach base contact with the first unit and then be unable to move any further to get into combat with the 2nd unit. There is also the rule referred to by Massaen which says:

Quote :
If the initial charger successfully moves into base contact with the primary target, remaining models can charge models belonging to either the primary or secondary target units, as long as they follow the rules for moving charging models

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
baster
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 126
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : norfolk

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 22:13

yeah this is an important rule, the closest model from the charging unit (in this case the MC) must get into base contact with the closest model of the unit being charged (in this case your 5 DE squad) it must move directly into base contact by the shortest possible route, its then the other models that can be moved in any order but if able to reach base contact with an enemy model that is not engaged must do so. their is a brief bit on this in the charging through cover section with all the pretty arrows but like all GW explanations ive never seen tactics like the example used in a real game lol
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4014
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Tue Dec 11 2012, 23:12

As everyone has already explained you can't multi-charge with a unit consisting of a single model.

Here is a link to a good guide for multiple charges in 6th.

Hope that helps. Smile

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Balisong
Sybarite


Posts : 324
Join date : 2012-09-05

PostSubject: Re: Monsterous Creature multi assault   Wed Dec 12 2012, 04:16

Good Link, Thanks so much!
Back to top Go down
 
Monsterous Creature multi assault
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: