HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

Thoughts of a Dying Archon

Go down 
AuthorMessage
scarfaced
Slave

PostSubject: Thoughts of a Dying Archon   Fri Dec 07 2012, 23:26

Hey, I'm new here and thought a better way of introducing myself would be by showing some of the writing I've done. This is just a short piece, suggestions and criticisms are definitely welcome. Sorry if there are any inaccuracies, I'm pretty new to this. Thanks for reading.

(And yes, the title is inspired by Muse..)

People never seem to believe me when I tell them that there were once birds in the Dark City, great flocks of them, flying high in the far eyries. There were great vast rocs and smaller birds barely the size of your head, all free and pure, ripped through from the stolen matter of the universe beyond. Of course there were once birds; where else do the Scourges get their wings? Sometimes you still see them, roosting in the spiralling towers and overlooks of this city, hiding from the aerial hunters that now live in this sky, this void above us. Once, many thousands of years ago now, when we were all young, we laid traps for the birds, their claws getting caught and twisted in the netting. I took one in my hands, felt its warmth and its fear. I wrung its neck, hearing the crack of its vertebrae reverberating in my ears. We drank in the pain, and drank in the warm blood from the lifeless bodies. It was sickening but glorious in the horror of it, being able to sense life falling from your arms. We laughed at the birds and the freedom they thought they had.