HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Shadow Field question

Go down 
AuthorMessage
mug7703
Sybarite


Posts : 409
Join date : 2012-09-19
Location : Brighton

PostSubject: Shadow Field question   Tue Nov 20 2012, 03:24

I'm sorry if I'm being a noob but it occurred to me today; do we have to use our shadow field to save against wounds? Is there somewhere that states we can use another save or does it have to be our best. For example, if we're in cover we might be happy to take a 2 or 3+ save and not risk our SF going down. Likewise with Vect who can take a save with 4+ armour and potentially FNP and get a chance to recover the wound later without risking his shadow field. What are people's thoughts?
Back to top Go down
http://www.trevelyanharper.co.uk
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Tue Nov 20 2012, 07:02

I believe you have to use the best save:

Quote :
a model only ever get to make one saving throw, but it has the advantage of always using the best available save. - BRB page 19

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Sky Serpent
Adrenalight Junkie
avatar

Posts : 2419
Join date : 2011-02-26
Location : Dais Of Administration

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Tue Nov 20 2012, 10:31

Mushkilla is correct, you have to use the best save available.

I think the only way around it would be if you had a 2+ cover save, ie in ruins with Baron and going to ground or some sort of night fighting in cover.

_________________

Administrator of The Dark City - Please message me any suggestions, improvements or problems

Back to top Go down
http://www.thedarkcity.net
mug7703
Sybarite


Posts : 409
Join date : 2012-09-19
Location : Brighton

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Tue Nov 20 2012, 12:13

That's quite a stupid rule really. You should be able to pick. Thanks for clarifying it though.
Back to top Go down
http://www.trevelyanharper.co.uk
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Tue Nov 20 2012, 12:50

It's not that stupid from the archons POV... He wants to live!

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Tue Nov 20 2012, 13:05

It's also not stupid from a 'realistic' POV. You would simply not be able to:
1. Assess what is firing at you
2. Decide that your armour can take it
3. Deactivate your Shadowfield
4. Reactivate it in time to catch that lascannon blast that is coming at you at the speed of light!

If you're in 2+ cover then you're pretty much almost 100% out of sight of the firer and it's understandable that the shot would hit the cover rather than you. For anything else, you're just going to have to trust in your Shadowfield (and pray you don't roll a 1).

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
mug7703
Sybarite


Posts : 409
Join date : 2012-09-19
Location : Brighton

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Tue Nov 20 2012, 13:43

I was more thinking of Asdruabael who could take a wound on 4+ armour save /or cover and then potentially apply FNP to it with the knowledge he has 3 wounds and can regenerate them.
Back to top Go down
http://www.trevelyanharper.co.uk
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Sun Dec 23 2012, 19:13

I hope this topic isnt too old, but..

If the shadowfield shorts out (rolling a 1) do I get to use my regular save from my armor (5+) for my archon or 4+ armor save for vect?

_________________
20,000 Dark Eldar
25,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7216
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Sun Dec 23 2012, 19:25

Not on the shot that shorts the field out but yes on any subsequent shots

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Sun Dec 23 2012, 21:42

EDIT: just to clear this up, I had a game a few days ago. I was charging and the one model that had a plasma gun shot me on overwatch. I rolled a 1. That shot will still be absorbed but shorted out is that correct? Then any other attack after would be done using my ghostplate armor?



Thats what I thought, I had a few arguements about that. Is there another reference other than the codex on page 62?

Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite


Posts : 405
Join date : 2012-07-03

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Sun Dec 23 2012, 22:06

Nope, it's as Adhemar said. The plasma shot that shorts out the shadowfield would be an unsaved wound and at str 7 it should instant death your Archon

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Mon Dec 24 2012, 01:49

Okay Sad Thanks.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
avatar

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   Mon Dec 24 2012, 15:31

basically when you fail a shadowfield, its just like you failed a save, so you take a wound from it.

As for a save after the shadowfield fails, you can only take one save per wound, so no. But if you have FNP, he can use that if it is applicable (S does not equal double your T)

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Shadow Field question   

Back to top Go down
 
Shadow Field question
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: