HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Toughness test?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
PaulT
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 139
Join date : 2012-06-06
Location : Brisbane in Oz

PostSubject: Toughness test?   Tue Nov 13 2012, 07:00

I read somewhere either in the rules or our codex that something forces a "toughness test" what is that and how is it done?
Also with the shadow field 2+ invun save, if its failed meaning a 1 is rolled, the model doesn't die, just the shadow field is destroyed/shorts out so next time his save is his standard save, correct?
Back to top Go down
Murkglow
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 242
Join date : 2012-10-17

PostSubject: Re: Toughness test?   Tue Nov 13 2012, 07:14

Characteristic tests are talked about on pg.7 of the main rule book. Basically roll D6, if the number is equal or less then the target's Toughness (in this case) the test is passed. So for a Marine to fail he would need to roll a 5 or 6.

As for the Shadow Field, yes a roll of 1 causes the field to stop working, it does not necessarily mean the character is dead (though that failed save might kill him if the attack is powerful enough, ie double his toughness or causes insta-death). Note you need to roll individually for these saves as it shorts out immediately on a failure meaning any other wounds he might have coming don't get the invulnerable save.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Toughness test?   Tue Nov 13 2012, 07:28

A 6 is always a fail for the T test as well!

You also will take a wound when you roll that 1 on the shadowfield

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
PaulT
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 139
Join date : 2012-06-06
Location : Brisbane in Oz

PostSubject: Re: Toughness test?   Tue Nov 13 2012, 08:08

ok so its an invun so you can be shot in the face at point blank range with a lascannon and if you roll 2+ you're sweet. roll a 1 however and you buy the farm/wasted regardless of how many wounds you have because the weapons so powerful, but a bolt gun for example on a saving throw of a 1 will just short it out and you're back to your 5+ save ie. for an Archon correct Question
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Toughness test?   Tue Nov 13 2012, 08:18

@PaulT wrote:
but a bolt gun for example on a saving throw of a 1 will just short it out and you're back to your 5+ save ie. for an Archon correct Question

You can't make two saves in a row the exeption being FNP:

1. Archon is wounded by a multilaser and fails his 2+ save. He dies due to the multilaser being S6 and causing instant death.

2. Archon is wounded by a bolter and fails his 2+ save. He loses a wounds, any subsequent wounds he can use his 5+ save against.

3. Archon with a pain token is wounded by a bolter and fails his 2+ save, he may then make a 5+ FNP save, if he fails this save he suffers a wound. Either way any subsequent wounds he can use his 5+ armour save and his 5+ FNP save against.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
1++
Hekatrix


Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-06-27
Location : Sydney

PostSubject: Re: Toughness test?   Tue Nov 13 2012, 11:13

Can we Look Out Sir the wound if it causes the Shadowfield to crack?

_________________
"I'm alive from this pain!"
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7196
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Toughness test?   Tue Nov 13 2012, 11:25

@1++ wrote:
Can we Look Out Sir the wound if it causes the Shadowfield to crack?

No because you now roll LoS! before any saves (I think - seriously who came up with this mixed saves rubbish?)

Also just wanted to clarify what Mush was saying. FNP is not a save, which is why you can take it in addition to any save a model may have. You choose your best save (armour, cover or invulnerable). If that fails and the wound is not one that causes instant death then you can make a FNP roll (usually 5+) to negate the wound. Hope that helps.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Toughness test?   

Back to top Go down
 
Toughness test?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: