HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 failed shadowfield with fortune

Go down 
AuthorMessage
gunnerboy1607
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 149
Join date : 2011-11-12

PostSubject: failed shadowfield with fortune   Tue Sep 18 2012, 12:23

i have a feeling this has been covered here somewhere, but i cant seem to find it.

But lets say your model with the shadowfield is in an eldar squad with fortune and your character takes all the damage. If you fail your first save roll...do you re-roll 2+ again or do you lose the shadowfield after that first failed roll even if you have fortune??

also, stupid question! but can a farseer cast a power on itself??

_________________
Thou shalt not use heavy breathing and "I am your father" as a battlecry when wielding a powersword and entering an assault...ALSO! Thou shalt not tip the Terminators over during battle. Cool
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6912
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: failed shadowfield with fortune   Tue Sep 18 2012, 12:27

Yes you can reroll the Shadowfield save. Rerolls cause the first result to be completely ignored.

Not sure what you're getting at with the Farseer casting apower on itself. Are you talking about the Codex powers or the rulebook ones? None of the codex powers can be cast specifically on the Farseer unless he is on his own (ie, not part of a unit). Otherwise they are cast either at an Eldar unit (which can be the unit the Farseer is part of) or an enemy.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Azdrubael
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1746
Join date : 2011-11-16
Location : Russia

PostSubject: Re: failed shadowfield with fortune   Tue Sep 18 2012, 13:49

Farseer therotically can cast it on himself, then join a unit. That would make Archon have Fortune for exactly one turn. Highly unlikely situation on the board.

_________________
The Dance of Death begins - embraces, caresses, and kisses,
The Harlequin loves you as you fall over in pieces!
Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite


Posts : 405
Join date : 2012-07-03

PostSubject: Re: failed shadowfield with fortune   Tue Sep 18 2012, 14:56

Most likely your opponent wouldn't allow something like that

But you can focus on your Archon having at least 5 people in his unit so if you go up against exactly 1 model then you can duel him with your archon and get the re-rolls from the moral support, plus 2+ look out sirs for shooting

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
gunnerboy1607
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 149
Join date : 2011-11-12

PostSubject: Re: failed shadowfield with fortune   Tue Sep 18 2012, 23:01

@count adhemar: thanks for that. Is there something in the rulebook that says that the reroll ignores the first result? It's just my friends are picky to play with sometimes.

Sorry now I'm a bit confused. What if lets say, the farseer is with wyches and an archon. And fortune dictates picke an eldar unit within 6" (yes I do know bout the FAQ, that it has to be CWE). Can he cast it on himself then? So the unit can have fortune?

_________________
Thou shalt not use heavy breathing and "I am your father" as a battlecry when wielding a powersword and entering an assault...ALSO! Thou shalt not tip the Terminators over during battle. Cool
Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite


Posts : 405
Join date : 2012-07-03

PostSubject: Re: failed shadowfield with fortune   Tue Sep 18 2012, 23:16

No he cannot

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6912
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: failed shadowfield with fortune   Tue Sep 18 2012, 23:36

@gunnerboy1607 wrote:
@count adhemar: thanks for that. Is there something in the rulebook that says that the reroll ignores the first result? It's just my friends are picky to play with sometimes.

Page 5

Quote :
RE-ROLL
In some situations, the rules allow you to pick up and re-roll a dice. This is exactly what it sounds like - pick up the dice you
wish to re-roll, and roll it again. The second roll counts' even if it means a worse result than the first, and no single
dice can be re-rolled more than once, regardless of the source of the re-roll.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2264
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: failed shadowfield with fortune   Wed Sep 19 2012, 03:22

The only way to get a reroll via fortune is for the archon to join an eldar unit and it be cast on them... But remember fortune is cast at the start of the turn

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
gunnerboy1607
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 149
Join date : 2011-11-12

PostSubject: Re: failed shadowfield with fortune   Wed Sep 19 2012, 13:52

Thanks count! Smile

And oh damn! That sucks! Thanks anyways guys! Smile

_________________
Thou shalt not use heavy breathing and "I am your father" as a battlecry when wielding a powersword and entering an assault...ALSO! Thou shalt not tip the Terminators over during battle. Cool
Back to top Go down
 
failed shadowfield with fortune
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: