HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

Share
 

 September Rules Update...

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 3798
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

September Rules Update... - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: September Rules Update...   September Rules Update... - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 01 2019, 00:50

@Burnage wrote:
@dumpeal wrote:
it doesn't matter. Newer rules bypass older rules. The "Can" is clarified in a newer version. What they said about it earlier is irrelevant.

Except both clarifications still exist in the current version of the FAQ. If you can do something, you don't have to do it, but you do have to fight with eligible units in the fight phase.

I believe this is the correct answer, the nwer faq was more about dice rolling anyways, this has always been know that "You can re-roll" doesn't mean you "have to re-roll"

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
CWE 5k+
I miss Corsairs
Back to top Go down
Koldan
Hellion
Koldan

Posts : 49
Join date : 2017-10-26

September Rules Update... - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: September Rules Update...   September Rules Update... - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 01 2019, 13:47

@Burnage wrote:


Looking at the core rules and new FAQ, this is the pertinent part from the FAQ:

Page 6 BRB FAQ wrote:
Q: If a rule says that I can do something (for example, ‘when a Morale test is taken for this unit, you can re-roll the dice’), does that mean I have to do that thing, or is it optional?

A: If a rule says you can do something, it is entirely up to you to decide if you want to do that thing. For example, if a rule states ‘when resolving an attack made with this weapon, you can re-roll the hit roll’, that is permitting the player to do that thing. Compare this to ‘when resolving an attack made with this weapon, re-roll a hit roll of 1’ – this is an instruction to the player that is not optional.

This would seem to connect to the core rules that state:

Page 8 Core Rules wrote:
Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase.

The sentence you have coppied describes who is eligible to fight, but later in the same paragraph, it is writen how many of them must fight. And there is no can in that sentence.

Page 8 Core Rules wrote:
After all charging units have
fought, the players alternate choosing eligible units to
fight with (starting with the player whose turn it is) until
all eligible units on both sides have fought once each.


@Burnage wrote:

In other news, GW needs to sort out their frak ruleset because this is getting horrendously convoluted.
Totally agree here.
Back to top Go down
Sarcron
Kabalite Warrior
Sarcron

Posts : 194
Join date : 2018-11-05
Location : Hunting Xenos

September Rules Update... - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: September Rules Update...   September Rules Update... - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 01 2019, 22:23

Okay yeah, I completely missed the missed the point in units must fight.

I swear I'm getting good at missing these important details.

_________________
~Kabal of the Black Dawn
~Coven of the Dark Heaven
Back to top Go down
AzraeI
Sybarite
AzraeI

Posts : 455
Join date : 2018-03-04
Location : maybe

September Rules Update... - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: September Rules Update...   September Rules Update... - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Oct 02 2019, 18:30

@Sarcron wrote:
Okay yeah, I completely missed the missed the point in units must fight.

I swear I'm getting good at missing these important details.

no wonder if you have 40 pages of new rules, explanatitons and alterations in one document
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Wych
withershadow

Posts : 597
Join date : 2018-04-02

September Rules Update... - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: September Rules Update...   September Rules Update... - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 14 2019, 05:44

Not sure if this was mentioned, but they did clarify that Court models do not unlock extra transports because they do not take a slot on the force organization chart. I know I've seen a few lists using black heart transports for wyches or whatnot.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 3798
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

September Rules Update... - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: September Rules Update...   September Rules Update... - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 14 2019, 06:20

@withershadow wrote:
Not sure if this was mentioned, but they did clarify that Court models do not unlock extra transports because they do not take a slot on the force organization chart. I know I've seen a few lists using black heart transports for wyches or whatnot.

There was a faq QnA that if you have a "no slot" it doesn't give you a transport option

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
CWE 5k+
I miss Corsairs
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




September Rules Update... - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: September Rules Update...   September Rules Update... - Page 2 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
September Rules Update...
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: