HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 CA2018 Preview - Matched Play

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
Gizamaluke
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2013-10-28

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 18:19

There has to be an entry for us somewhere to clarify the court of Archon changes since they did it for the Tantalus, surely?
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 18:23

@HERO wrote:
All Fusions Pistols for Eldar are 7pts vs. 9 Smile

This makes Neurodisruptors even more hilariously bad on Harlequins, though.

It honestly feels to me like GW just forgot to change anything about Dark Eldar and Harlequins here. Literally their only change is a carry-over from the Craftworld buffs.
Back to top Go down
Rodi Sikni
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 91
Join date : 2017-12-09

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 18:30

@Gizamaluke wrote:
There has to be an entry for us somewhere to clarify the court of Archon changes since they did it for the Tantalus, surely?

Nope, the previous entry was pre-codex.

So we are the only ones who will be a complete year without any buff to our overcosted units.

I suppose that the same sites that complained about the "injustice" of AoV will now complain about this.

Second CA, and second time wihtout nay relevant changes to our faction.
Back to top Go down
Gizamaluke
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2013-10-28

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 18:33

Ah of course you're right it was pre-codex. I've made sure to tell my girlfriend not to get me CA & Vigilus like she originally intended haha
Back to top Go down
TeenageAngst
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1774
Join date : 2016-08-29

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 19:35

This makes me think our codex could be used as a benchmark for "balance", I mean it is, internally anyway, one of the most balanced books out right now. If GW is using it as a yard stick we might not see many adjustments at all but instead everything around us will change.

Doesn't explain Drazhar though.

_________________
Really terrible videos about tiny plastic space elfs intended to help you get gud scrub:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZP8WGIhte5TmCWQXsZO4A

Flawless pieces of literary perfection:
https://www.fanfiction.net/u/2805979/
Back to top Go down
Archon_91
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 19:36

Mmm no changes again? And very minimal for harlequins ... wonder if this means harlequin and DE have new stuff coming relatively soon ... or GW is only going to look in those factions directions when it's time for a new edition or new codex though I think we will see stuff when slannesh finally has her turn in the chaos god spotlight.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 20:27

@Archon_91 wrote:
Mmm no changes again? And very minimal for harlequins ...  wonder if this means harlequin and DE have new stuff coming relatively soon

If I had to put money on either GW releasing new DE stuff or my arse growing wings and flying me to the moon, I would choose to bet on the latter.

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Rusty293
Hellion


Posts : 44
Join date : 2014-03-29

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 20:40

Im sure a Haemonculus coven could sort that for you if you had enough slaves to give them!
Think it's good news if we have no changes. I expected venoms and Ravagers to get an increase and maybe for them to flip dark lances and disintegrator points costs around.
Back to top Go down
Siticus the Ancient
Wych
avatar

Posts : 916
Join date : 2011-09-10
Location : Riga, Latvia

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 21:41

Who knew that the codex about the murderous, cheating, evil bastards is the most... balanced one? I do quite enjoy the points drops for most of my Craftworlds collection too, nice to see that my persistence in playstyle and not chasing the meta has paid off.

_________________
Siticus Empyrean Vision - my Facebook page with various painting projects
Siticus' Empyrean Visions log - the project log for my Aeldari works and beyond
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 22:13

Report on Facebook that the 'leaks' are actually fakes. No idea if that's true or not.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 22:34

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Report on Facebook that the 'leaks' are actually fakes. No idea if that's true or not.


I suspect that an actual fake would look higher quality than that - a PDF scan, rather than a photo of a book page.
Back to top Go down
AzraeI
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 291
Join date : 2018-03-04
Location : maybe

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Sat Dec 08 2018, 00:31

@krayd wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
Report on Facebook that the 'leaks' are actually fakes. No idea if that's true or not.


I suspect that an actual fake would look higher quality than that - a PDF scan, rather than a photo of a book page.
there were leaks that pretty much looked like the ones above
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Sat Dec 08 2018, 05:04

I dont think they are fake at all, its being release next week, they already shipped it out, easy for someone to already have it.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Sat Dec 08 2018, 12:55

Any signs of formations for us?

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Sat Dec 08 2018, 13:03

@Soulless Samurai wrote:
Any signs of formations for us?

There aren't any for us. We do get a mention in this Vigilius book, though, which suggests we might get one in the second part.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Sat Dec 08 2018, 13:47

@Burnage wrote:
@Soulless Samurai wrote:
Any signs of formations for us?

There aren't any for us.

Fething thrilling release for us then. Rolling Eyes

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
mynamelegend
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 151
Join date : 2015-04-05

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Sat Dec 08 2018, 22:27

So we smoothly and seamlessly went from complaining about possible incoming nerfs to complaining that we weren't nerfed.

What even is this hobby.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Sat Dec 08 2018, 22:30

@mynamelegend wrote:
So we smoothly and seamlessly went from complaining about possible incoming nerfs to complaining that we weren't nerfed.

What even is this hobby.

Yes, because reduced point costs for overpriced units/wargear and formations that basically amount to free stuff totally equates to nerfs. Neutral

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Gizamaluke
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2013-10-28

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Yesterday at 00:42

The only bizarre thing for me is that CWE got a bunch of character price cuts for models that weren't seeing use aswell as Eldrad getting a cut despite being common in Ynnari lists and yet Drazhar remains untouched at 120pts being trash. I know his troubles run deeper than points cost but a token 10pts off would have been something
Back to top Go down
Siticus the Ancient
Wych
avatar

Posts : 916
Join date : 2011-09-10
Location : Riga, Latvia

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Yesterday at 06:15

@mynamelegend wrote:
So we smoothly and seamlessly went from complaining about possible incoming nerfs to complaining that we weren't nerfed.

What even is this hobby.

Some take the Power from Pain adage a little too seriously.

_________________
Siticus Empyrean Vision - my Facebook page with various painting projects
Siticus' Empyrean Visions log - the project log for my Aeldari works and beyond
Back to top Go down
TeenageAngst
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1774
Join date : 2016-08-29

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Yesterday at 06:22

I'll complain we weren't buffed, when damn near everyone else was buffed. That's a nerf in my book.

_________________
Really terrible videos about tiny plastic space elfs intended to help you get gud scrub:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZP8WGIhte5TmCWQXsZO4A

Flawless pieces of literary perfection:
https://www.fanfiction.net/u/2805979/
Back to top Go down
Sarcron
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2018-11-05

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Yesterday at 07:53

@TeenageAngst wrote:
I'll complain we weren't buffed, when damn near everyone else was buffed. That's a nerf in my book.

I'll agree with you there from what we've seen. Tyranids for example have gotten some great buffs from the snippets we've seen, thetyranidhive is celebrating.

_________________
~Kabal of the Black Dawn
Back to top Go down
Siticus the Ancient
Wych
avatar

Posts : 916
Join date : 2011-09-10
Location : Riga, Latvia

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Yesterday at 10:55

@TeenageAngst wrote:
I'll complain we weren't buffed, when damn near everyone else was buffed. That's a nerf in my book.

You would have complained in any case, let's be honest now. The buffs were given to armies and units that sorely needed them - there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, and it only improves the health of the game as more armies get to enjoy better internal balance and thus much more varied playstyles.

But it is also a very pointless gripe when everyone was ready for the Drukhari to be hit by the nerf bat hard and doomsaying left and right. You got your nerf, in a much more elegant and restrained way.

_________________
Siticus Empyrean Vision - my Facebook page with various painting projects
Siticus' Empyrean Visions log - the project log for my Aeldari works and beyond
Back to top Go down
Gizamaluke
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2013-10-28

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Yesterday at 11:09

To be fair having looked over the leaks and charts floating around the majority of reductions are on units that weren't seeing play and are minor point reductions. There are some reductions that didn't seem necessary (tank commander, eldrad) but for the most part it's units that weren't seeing play or were too expensive for what they did.
As far as I can tell the only thing we were hit with including allies was +13pts on wave serpent base but -3pts per twin shuriken and +3pts per shining spear. Everything else was Aeldari buffs and I think apart from enemies like space marines who got the biggest boost we will fair exactly the same as before, perhaps even better vs Chaos as they've made plague marines and rubrics better choices which are better choices for our poison.
I'm also excited about cheaper striking scorpions, cheaper named characters and cheaper support weapons (never even looked at them until now didn't realise we had them). All in all I think we will still be in a really good spot, just a shame Drazhar and Hellions remain too expensive but you could argue that's a rules problem not a points problem.
What is the policy on leaks on here? I made an excel spreadsheet of the Aeldari point changes I can post.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Yesterday at 11:15

@Gizamaluke wrote:
To be fair having looked over the leaks and charts floating around the majority of reductions are on units that weren't seeing play and are minor point reductions.

Yeah, but I don't think it's unreasonable to expect that we might get the same treatment.

Whilst we have some good units, we also have a lot of stuff that's barely ever taken. Would have been nice to see even some of those units/weapons get a little love.

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   

Back to top Go down
 
CA2018 Preview - Matched Play
Back to top 
Page 3 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: