HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 CA2018 Preview - Matched Play

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Wed Dec 05 2018, 16:20

People are calling them 'formations', but they don't really resemble them very much.

Basically, you pay 1-3 CP to make one of your detachments a 'specialized detachment'. It gives every unit in that detachment an additional keyword. Every unit with that keyword gets access to a new warlord trait, relic, and handful of additional stratagems. That's it. So far, I haven't seen anything game-breaking in the leaks of these 'formations' so far.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Wed Dec 05 2018, 16:43

@krayd wrote:
People are calling them 'formations', but they don't really resemble them very much.

Basically, you pay 1-3 CP to make one of your detachments a 'specialized detachment'. It gives every unit in that detachment an additional keyword. Every unit with that keyword gets access to a new warlord trait, relic, and handful of additional stratagems. That's it. So far, I haven't seen anything game-breaking in the leaks of these 'formations' so far.

The Windrider Host warlord trait gives a bonus to Windriders in close combat. Windriders, not Shining Spears.

Game-breaking they are not.
Back to top Go down
Gizamaluke
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2013-10-28

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Wed Dec 05 2018, 17:28

Yeah that confused me, none of the units included will really benefit from the WL trait unless you're taking a supreme command of Autarch Skyrunners with Laser Lances and you dont expect the enemy to try and fall back themselves. Maybe a warlock conclave that is trying to avoid being shot at inbetween psychic phases? I dunno hit and run isn't great at the moment.
Whatever nimble escape is it better be good for 2cp considering Ork blitz brigades get a "disembark after moving" type stratagem for 2cp and the relic sword will have to be better than a laser lance to stand a chance of being used.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Wed Dec 05 2018, 17:30

They are fundamentally different if you havent been keeping up with them. They are "Specialist detachments"

Its more like a bonus <trait> for a specifically built detachment, its a minor added rule, with 2 stratagems, a WL trait, and a relic. You need the WL trait and relic to even work well.

I wouldnt fear them just yet.


https://whc-cdn.games-workshop.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/PreOrderPreview-Dec02-p178-179-Content.jpg

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points


Last edited by amishprn86 on Wed Dec 05 2018, 17:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Gizamaluke
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2013-10-28

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Wed Dec 05 2018, 17:37

Yeah I've been following it closely it's more that the WL trait isn't particularly useful for the unit choices (if they're falling back it's because they don't wanna fight) and 2cp is considered expensive from what we have seen of other "formations"
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Wed Dec 05 2018, 17:40


_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Thu Dec 06 2018, 14:28

The thing that's really worrying me, as we get closer to finding out what the changes in CA actually consist of, is that I fundamentally don't trust GW to change the right things with their balancing. Chapter Approved 2017 was horrendously disappointing - we were crying out for buffs to stuff like Reavers, and they decided to alter the Court of the Archon and nothing else?

We could be looking at something really stupid like Archons getting a point rise because they appear in all of our lists.
Back to top Go down
RedRegicide
Wych
avatar

Posts : 668
Join date : 2016-05-20

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Thu Dec 06 2018, 14:59

To be fair, we had a dex coming out shortly.

My biggest beef is them not addressing soup

_________________
“No. Stop. Don’t go in there. You’ll all be killed,’ Motley murmured sardonically”
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Thu Dec 06 2018, 19:21

So it looks like Formations grant your warlord access to different warlord traits and artefacts.

I look forward to them using this opportunity to finally give Archons wings or to let us have a Succubus who didn't forget how to ride a bike.

Perhaps I'll celebrate by riding a winged marshmallow around the rings of Saturn.


_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 13:06

The first CA rumours that mention us are claiming that we have literally no changes.

Which is a... pleasant surprise? I guess?

For reference:

Quote :

Here come some leaks:
Knights had 0 points changes. There is no section for them at all.
Chaos knights got point drops They’re cheaper than imperial. Double Gatling Knight is about 100 pts cheaper. Avenger Gatling cannons dropped 20 pts each. There’s a chaos knights index inside CA
all the greater demons dropped by 100 pts or so
Demons in general went down “a ton”
No changes to tzaangors
Cultists are 5 points.
Dark Eldar: 0 changes
Shining Spears and reapers up a small amount, “everything else” is cheaper. there are no “new rules” that nerf soulburst or anything
Harlequin fusion pistols dropped to 7 pts
Tau got drops. Everything is dirt cheap.
"The 8" are laughably bad
It looks like grey knights and Tsons are still on baby’s first smite
GK terminators are cheap now
Death Guard players are gonna be happy
Blight haulers are down 30 pts, among other things.
Marines are cheaper, Primaris in particular
guardsmen are 5 pts
Back to top Go down
RedRegicide
Wych
avatar

Posts : 668
Join date : 2016-05-20

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 13:33

Yeah, would’ve been nice for beasts to get better but can’t complain about no nerfs

_________________
“No. Stop. Don’t go in there. You’ll all be killed,’ Motley murmured sardonically”
Back to top Go down
Gizamaluke
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2013-10-28

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 14:02

I'm just hoping we get a beast related specialty detachment in the next Vigilus book If those leaks are true, maybe one for Incubi too to make Drazhar and incubi a bit... more.

What makes me dubious about the veracity of the leaks is that reapers were already upped in price, I wouldn't expect them to go up again.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 14:08

Spears and Reapers are still the go-to Ynnari units, so I can definitely see them getting tweaked.

Fusion Pistols getting buffed if Neurodisruptors don't get touched is pretty frak wacky, though.
Back to top Go down
Gizamaluke
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2013-10-28

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 14:19

Yeah that struck me as odd too, maybe as an apology for neutering harlequins in the charge phase they wanted to buff their shooting.
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 15:31

Well, if Dark Reapers have gone up, it has to be in terms of wargear price increases - the leaked scan still has them unchanged from the last FAQ.

https://imgur.com/gallery/PVf1Vsr

Edit: Dark Reapers look unchanged. Some of these point costs are just reprints from the last FAQ, which makes sense, because it is still different from the printed codex, and this way, you don't need two CA books to keep track of changes.


Last edited by krayd on Fri Dec 07 2018, 16:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 16:00

Back to top Go down
RedRegicide
Wych
avatar

Posts : 668
Join date : 2016-05-20

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 16:05

Thanks for the scans!

My death guard friends are unimpressed haha

_________________
“No. Stop. Don’t go in there. You’ll all be killed,’ Motley murmured sardonically”
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 16:19

We really do have no changes.

Bloody hell, I wasn't expecting that.
Back to top Go down
Glass Battleaxe
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 47
Join date : 2017-11-16

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 16:22

Hmm... interesting to see these scans.

The Drukhari player in me is at a happy medium - nothing got more expensive, but on the other hand, nothing got cheaper.

The Thousand Sons player in me, on the other hand, is smiling from ear to ear...
Back to top Go down
TeenageAngst
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1774
Join date : 2016-08-29

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 17:28

We have to have a section in there somewhere, it just hasn't been shown yet.

Might dust off my scatbikes.

_________________
Really terrible videos about tiny plastic space elfs intended to help you get gud scrub:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZP8WGIhte5TmCWQXsZO4A

Flawless pieces of literary perfection:
https://www.fanfiction.net/u/2805979/
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 17:47

@TeenageAngst wrote:
We have to have a section in there somewhere, it just hasn't been shown yet.

I don't think so. It seems to have been done alphabetically and it goes from Deathwatch to Genestealer Cults on the same page.

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
TeenageAngst
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1774
Join date : 2016-08-29

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 17:53

Well that's strange.

Not sure if no news is good news considering the drastic price drops elsewhere.

_________________
Really terrible videos about tiny plastic space elfs intended to help you get gud scrub:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZP8WGIhte5TmCWQXsZO4A

Flawless pieces of literary perfection:
https://www.fanfiction.net/u/2805979/
Back to top Go down
Skulnbonz
Wych
avatar

Posts : 738
Join date : 2012-07-13
Location : Tampa

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 17:59

Only dark Eldar is a 400 pt verification of the tantalus.

_________________
ATTITUDE: It is the difference between an ORDEAL and an ADVENTURE!
Back to top Go down
http://www.fantasybattles.com
nerdelemental
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 135
Join date : 2016-02-18

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 18:08

I'm actually shocked we have no changes. I expected us to get whacked, actually. Everyone locally (and it's an aggressive meta) is pretty terrified of Dark Eldar. If I saw the scan I expected, I would not have even cried (at least out loud) about more costly changes to either or both of our big guns, the Ravager, even the Raider. I expected a change to Prophets of Flesh. I would have put money on it.
No change, then? Okay. I guess that's really good news.
However, the other edge of the sword is that Drazar is still unplayably idiotic. My 30 Incubi will still be waiting for 40k 9th edition. And the animal list I enjoyed the first couple of weeks after the Index dropped will still be wondering why they're not seeing the table.

Harlequin: Fusion pistols cheaper by 2 points, huh? Hmmm...that might be a slightly big deal. *IF* we ran big numbers of Troups. 3 units of 5, all tricked out with Fusion pistols nets me 30 more points...Good, I guess? Uh, thanks? They forgot how to acrobat but they found the last K-Mart in the universe with a blue light special on Fusion Pistols. Cool.
Back to top Go down
HERO
Wych
avatar

Posts : 796
Join date : 2012-04-13

PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   Fri Dec 07 2018, 18:18

All Fusions Pistols for Eldar are 7pts vs. 9 Smile

_________________
8th Ed. Drukhari Codex List Building Guide
HERO's Gaming Blog
A webway to better gaming
Back to top Go down
http://lkhero.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: CA2018 Preview - Matched Play   

Back to top Go down
 
CA2018 Preview - Matched Play
Back to top 
Page 2 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: