HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share
 

 Two questions on transports

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Ashoka
Slave
Ashoka

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-06-06

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 18 2018, 11:38

Hi all,

I'm currently building my army and stumbled across two questions concerning rules on transports. I searched the forum but found only a thread from before the codex.

1st: Can I put a Succubus in a Kabal-Venom that transports an Archon and 2 courtiers (Sslyth and Ur-Ghul)? I want to have a CC-troop of HQ's with some shielding. And additionally reduce the number of drops in set-up.

2nd: Incubi are transported in a vehicle of the Kabal or Cult or Coven that they are part of the formation, right? So, Incubi from a Flayed Skull formation go into a Flayed Skull-Venom or -Raider.

Thanks in advance
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7273
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 18 2018, 12:39

Every vehicle has its own rules on what it can carry.

Raiders:

This model can transport 10 DRUKHARI INFANTRY models. Each Grotesque takes the space of two models. This model cannot transport Scourges or SKYBOARD models.

Venoms:
This model can transport 5 DRUKHARI INFANTRY models other than Grotesques, Scourges and SKYBOARD models

As long as you stick to the above rules then you can put any permitted models into any Raider or Venom in your army.

_________________
Two questions on transports YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Ashoka
Slave
Ashoka

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-06-06

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 18 2018, 12:44

Cool, thanks a lot. It's what I thought, but I wanted confirmation from someone with more experience.
Back to top Go down
Silverglade
Sybarite
Silverglade

Posts : 435
Join date : 2012-12-30

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 18 2018, 14:23

Just to be clear from Count's post.. Your flayed skull incubi can go in any venom it does not have to be a flayed skull venom.

(just wanted make sure you got that as when you said his response was what you thought, your original question made it seem that you thought that the incubi MUST go in a flayed skull transport).
Back to top Go down
Ashoka
Slave
Ashoka

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-06-06

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 18 2018, 15:28

I got that, but... Another question arose: Do Court of the Archon-Units count towards the number of transports I can take via a Kabal-Formation? They do not take up slots if an Archon is present (Codex), but does this mean that they also do not count towards the transports or can I take additional transport for each memeber of the Court? Specifically, am I allowed to put my Wyches in a Flayed Skull-Raider if all other Kabal units have a transport bar the Court (1 Sslyth and 1 Ur-ghul)? Or am I even allowed to count Heavy Support or Flyers towards the number of allowed transports in a Detachment?

I'm building a Raiding Party (3 Patrols). The Kabal Patrol has 2 units of Kabalites, Archon, 1 Sslyth, 1 Ur-Ghul, a Ravager, a Razorwing and Incubi. What is the number of allowed transports? 4, 6 or 8?

Coming from a Historical Tabletop, where units are taken with their transports, it is somewhat difficult to wrap my head around the finer details...
Back to top Go down
hekatrixxy
Kabalite Warrior
hekatrixxy

Posts : 221
Join date : 2016-06-18

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 19 2018, 11:02

Court wording: "In addition, if your army is Battle-forged, this model does not take up slots in a Detachment that includes any <KABAL> Archons."

BRB Transport wording: "Dedicated Transports: May include 1 for each other choice."

The general principle is that all non-transport units in a detachment count towards the number of transports you can take in that detachment. Transports are not taken for a specific unit. Putting unit(s) in them is purely up to your choices during deployment per game.

On top of that Drukhari are unique (I believe) in that sub faction choices (kabal, cult, coven, mercenary) don't affect which transports models in your army can be in as per the rules Count Adhemar posted above. Harlequin Starweavers for example cannot transport infantry from a different Masque Form.

The interesting thing then with the court models in your example is does a court model count as a "choice" for the purposes of bringing a transport. I would say yes as "slot" and "choice" are not the same thing. If you are playing with friends then it probably won't matter either way, if going to a tournament check with the TO ahead of time and I would recommend sending an email to the GW faq email asking this question as well.

_________________
I danced with Fate, she said it could go either way.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
Squidmaster

Posts : 1980
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 19 2018, 11:08

I agree that "slot" and "choice" are not the same thing,.
Even if they don't take up a slot, I would say that Court units ARE "choices", so DO count towardsa the number of Transports you can have.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
amishprn86
Dracon
amishprn86

Posts : 3355
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 19 2018, 12:51

Court can take Dedicated transports. The Court rules just make it that you can not take Court unless you take an Archon, its still another unit that you must take separate.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Ashoka
Slave
Ashoka

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-06-06

Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 19 2018, 16:37

This is logical. Thanks for your clarification. As mentioned previously, still kind of new to the game and I keep mixing up 8th ed rules with other systems I have been playing so far. 40K is refreshingly simple with a pretty wide scope of options.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Two questions on transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Two questions on transports   Two questions on transports I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Two questions on transports
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: