HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Drukhari Kill Team Preview

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
WhatAHowl
Slave
avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2018-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Thu Jul 26 2018, 19:40

On top of that, from battle reports I have seen, if you cause multiple injury rolls with a weapon that does multiple damage, you only apply the worst injury once. That means no weapon will cause more than one flesh wound - you are either taken out of action, or flesh wounded once, nothing else.

_________________
...believe me, I am still alive.
I feel fantastic, and I'm still alive.
I'm doing science, and I'm still alive.
And when you're dying, I will be still alive.
And when you're dead, I will be still alive.


- Overheard muttering in the regeneration chambers of the Coven of the Gift Revealed
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Thu Jul 26 2018, 19:45

@WhatAHowl wrote:
On top of that, from battle reports I have seen, if you cause multiple injury rolls with a weapon that does multiple damage, you only apply the worst injury once. That means no weapon will cause more than one flesh wound - you are either taken out of action, or flesh wounded once, nothing else.

Though when you are injured subsequently, you roll on the injury table at a penalty for every flesh wound that you have.
Back to top Go down
Cannonfodder
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Fri Jul 27 2018, 11:53

I am very excited from what the previews on youtube have shown me. I am building models like crazy already and even got some paint on.

How are you guys doing? Anyone started already and can show off?
Back to top Go down
WhatAHowl
Slave
avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2018-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Fri Jul 27 2018, 15:03

I don't want to start making anything up til I have points values and rules, but have plenty of ideas floating around.
I have a bunch of spare Hellion heads I'll probably use - their face masks are pretty cool and definitely bring out the idea of terror troops well.
Unfortunately we don't get Wracks as a choice, but the ichor injector arm from their sprue could be a great option for a Medic specialist.
Definitely going to include a mix of Wyches and Kabalites - focus will probably be on Wyches with Kabalites being support fire.

_________________
...believe me, I am still alive.
I feel fantastic, and I'm still alive.
I'm doing science, and I'm still alive.
And when you're dying, I will be still alive.
And when you're dead, I will be still alive.


- Overheard muttering in the regeneration chambers of the Coven of the Gift Revealed
Back to top Go down
AzraeI
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 291
Join date : 2018-03-04
Location : maybe

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Fri Jul 27 2018, 15:15

i dont have any great ideas for dark eldar kill teams but i want to make a halo reach themed primaris kill team and the A-Team
Back to top Go down
TheBaconPope
Wych
avatar

Posts : 659
Join date : 2017-03-10

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Sat Jul 28 2018, 21:43

https://imgur.com/a/MNbJkIE

Full list of rules for DE sent to me by a friend.

One Heavy Weapon and one Special Weapon per team, so take that what you will. Otherwise seems pretty standard.

_________________
"Death solves all problems. No man, no problem."
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Sat Jul 28 2018, 22:37

I got to look through the book on thursday and take pics but honestly I was so uninspired by both the dark eldar and eldar sections that I didnt even read them.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
Cannonfodder
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 11:53

I had a bit of a let down moment as well. The Dark Eldar are limited in their shootiness and so my Killteam idea is not really feasable. As far as I can tell, the splinter cannon really shines.
When in 18" range it hits really reliable.
The rest of the team should honestly be wyches as we get huge bonuses on cc in forms of combat drugs and fueled by pain.
Back to top Go down
Logan Frost
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 452
Join date : 2016-01-25

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 12:56

From what I saw and without a playtest dark eldar are in good spot between shooting and CC.
Wyches should not have problems getting in CC, and 2 special/heavy weapons should be enough for kill team size.
My list would be:
Hekatrix w/ blast pistol and agonizer and maybe a PGL
Combat spec wych w/ razorflail/hydra gauntlet
Zealot wych w/ hydra gauntlet/razorflails
Sniper kabalite w/ dark lance
Kabalite w/ blaster/shredder
Misc wyches
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 13:42

You're right about 2 shoot options being plenty but I suggest the heavy spec for the dark lance if he can take it. Otherwise maybe a blaster instead. Mobility is pretty important.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
WhatAHowl
Slave
avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2018-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 13:50

Unfortunately Kabalites can't take the Heavy specialisation. They can take Sniper though, and for some reason Zealot, even though it seems weird why anyone would want their Kabalites in combat.

_________________
...believe me, I am still alive.
I feel fantastic, and I'm still alive.
I'm doing science, and I'm still alive.
And when you're dying, I will be still alive.
And when you're dead, I will be still alive.


- Overheard muttering in the regeneration chambers of the Coven of the Gift Revealed
Back to top Go down
Logan Frost
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 452
Join date : 2016-01-25

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 13:53

Dark eldar don't get heavy spec. but lv3 snipers don't get the malus for moving.
Back to top Go down
Cannonfodder
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 13:55

Just lookign at lvl1 buffs, it would seem the Comunications specialist is the best gunner.
Back to top Go down
Logan Frost
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 452
Join date : 2016-01-25

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 13:59

Comms would be the perfect spotter for a sniper, but you would be sacrifing a CC specialist.
Back to top Go down
Cannonfodder
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 16:08

Not really. In the comms section p.70 special abilities it says
Quote :
...pick a model from your kill team to shoot that is within 6" of
this model...

and in the rules section p.19 it says:
Quote :
...Some models have abilities that affect certain models
within a given range. Unless the ability in question
says otherwise, a model with a rule like this is always
within range of the effect. For example, an Acolyte
Hybrid with a cult icon gains the Cult Icon ability,
which allows re-rolls on hit rolls of 1 for friendly
models within 6". As the Acolyte Hybrid is always
within 6" of itself, it benefits from this ability as well

So, I would say, the comms specialist is benefitting from his own ability and hence makes him hit on 2+ if he choses to apply it to himself.
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 18:41

I don't think that the wording for Comms will allow for that, actually. It doesn't convey a bonus to all friendly models within 6" as a standard aura effect does; it tells you to specifically pick a model that is within 6" of your Comms model. Though I can see how it can be interpreted to be a viable target for the ability as well. This will likely require FAQing to settle disputes.
Back to top Go down
Ripper.McGuirl
Slave
avatar

Posts : 17
Join date : 2017-01-29
Location : East Coast

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 21:32

I think it's pretty clear. It says " Unless the ability in question says otherwise, a model with a rule like this is always within range of the effect." So, unless the ability says otherwise, he counts as within range for selection.
Back to top Go down
http://destroydestroydestroy.org
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Mon Jul 30 2018, 23:47

@Ripper.McGuirl wrote:
I think it's pretty clear. It says " Unless the ability in question says otherwise, a model with a rule like this is always within range of the effect." So, unless the ability says otherwise, he counts as within range for selection.


That depends on what is meant by 'saying otherwise'. For example, Comms is still not worded like a standard aura effect. It asks you to pick a model within a certain range of the initial model, suggesting a separate model, which would imply 'saying otherwise', depending on interpretation. Still needs a FAQ to settle the question. It isn't worded like a standard aura effect as it is described under aura effects(e.g. "grants +1 to hit to all friendly models within 6 inches").
Back to top Go down
WhatAHowl
Slave
avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2018-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Tue Jul 31 2018, 01:07

I read the rule as emphasising "choose A model within 6" of this one" (which means the model itself.can be chosen, as it always within 6" of itself). As in, the aura does not buff all models within 6", just one chosen model.

_________________
...believe me, I am still alive.
I feel fantastic, and I'm still alive.
I'm doing science, and I'm still alive.
And when you're dying, I will be still alive.
And when you're dead, I will be still alive.


- Overheard muttering in the regeneration chambers of the Coven of the Gift Revealed
Back to top Go down
Cannonfodder
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Tue Jul 31 2018, 10:13

I read it with fluff in my head:
the com specialist has access to that data. He can provide it to his team-mates or use it himself.
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Tue Jul 31 2018, 14:03

I think it makes sense to read it that way. However, the omnispex, which has a similar effect, seems to specifically note that you have to choose a model other than the bearer. However, this interpretation is based just on the wording being "choose another friendly model within 3 inches of a model equipped with the omnispex". I'm not sure if the bearer can count as "another" model in this case.
Back to top Go down
Cannonfodder
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Tue Jul 31 2018, 16:10

FAQ will tell. Either way- I think an extra comms specialist would be well worth his points. I can still for a lot of standard wyches.
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Wed Aug 01 2018, 01:32

I find it funny that the toxic synthesizer trait from tier 3 of the medic tree (which makes melee attacks more potent due to poison) is not available to the Drukhari killteam lol.

Uninspired comes to.mind.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Wed Aug 01 2018, 17:36

@The Red King wrote:
I find it funny that the toxic synthesizer trait from tier 3 of the medic tree (which makes melee attacks more potent due to poison) is not available to the Drukhari killteam lol.

Uninspired comes to.mind.

Perhaps there will eventually be an expansion that allows wracks as kill team members, and opens up the medic specialty for them, as it would make the most sense for them to have access to it.
Back to top Go down
Cannonfodder
Slave
avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2018-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   Thu Aug 02 2018, 15:09

I am not afraid that Dark Eldar will have too little in the means of close combat. I find that I, as a long time 40k player, have difficulties to adopt to the idea, that I only need to kill 4 marines to effectefly break the enemy team.

This shouldn't take more than 2 blastpistols and 5 wyches- should it?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Drukhari Kill Team Preview   

Back to top Go down
 
Drukhari Kill Team Preview
Back to top 
Page 3 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: