HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share
 

 Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc

Go down 
AuthorMessage
drdoom222222
Kabalite Warrior
drdoom222222

Posts : 107
Join date : 2015-09-24

Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc Empty
PostSubject: Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc   Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 07 2018, 10:10

Hi fellow archons,

I was playing a game recently with tau fortifications (shield tidewall? The one that can bounce back mortal wounds).

Anyway, questions arose in regards to for the greater good. For example - A unit of fire warriors were being charged, could the unit of pathfinders in the tau fortification help out with the greater good ability?

Obviously, The same issue arose for aura effects ie the fireblade and the warlord trait that gives -1 ap with 6 inchs of your warlord.

my initial thoughts were that the fortification was like the issues we have our gunboats ie auras don't work while in the fortification/open topped transport and don't effect the guys in the fortification when the aura is coming from outside (because they are not of table etc.) am I right in thinking this?

Also if the fortification was charged can the guys inside the fortification overwatch and/or could other units outside the fortification for the greater good even if the guys in the fortification could not? (I'm thinking no, but that just doesn't feel right. maybe because its a silly rule.)

what are the current ruling for these situations?

Just want some clarity on the matter and make sure I'm doing things correctly.

thanks in advance,

Drdoom222222


Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
Squidmaster

Posts : 1980
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc   Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 07 2018, 11:43

A unit embarked on a transport can usually only attack in the Shooting phase.

As far as I see, they are still restricted like all other Open-Topped things, and count as embarked and therefore off the table (even though its rule says Building rather than Transport).
So I'd say no, they can't overwatch.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
UlrikTheSlayer
Hellion
UlrikTheSlayer

Posts : 46
Join date : 2017-07-04

Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc   Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 07 2018, 13:55

SAme rule as us. He can't overwatch. It clearly states that they are embarked. nevertheless, it is exactly like us : an open-topped transport and aura's don't work on the people inside or from people inside.
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
Kantalla

Posts : 868
Join date : 2015-12-21

Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc   Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 07 2018, 22:16

Here is the rule text:
Quote :
For the Greater Good: When an enemy unit declares a charge, a unit with this ability that is within 6" of one of the charging unit's targets may fire Overwatch as if they were also targeted. A unit that does so cannot fire Overwatch again in this turn.

In the first case, an embarked unit is considered off the table and therefore cannot be within 6" of one of the charging unit's targets. So no overwatch for the Pathfinders.

In the second case, the charging unit's target is the fortification, so units within 6" of the fortification could use For the Greater Good to overwatch. The unit embarked is considered off the table so cannot be in range. Other units within 6" of the fortification could choose to overwatch though.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
drdoom222222
Kabalite Warrior
drdoom222222

Posts : 107
Join date : 2015-09-24

Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc   Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc I_icon_minitimeFri Jun 08 2018, 10:30

Cool, thanks for the replies guys, I'm glad I ruled/played it correctly,(just wanted confirmation that I didn't miss some errata/ faq etc.) I hate messing up stuff like that as I feel it taints the end of game result.

Still think the embarked guys should be able to overwatch when their transport/fortification is charged.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc   Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Tau fortification question ref - overwatch etc
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: