HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share
 

 Multiple smites from one character

Go down 
AuthorMessage
LordSplata
Sybarite
LordSplata

Posts : 281
Join date : 2017-06-14
Location : Sydney

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeWed May 23 2018, 15:44

I played against a mates Ahriman the other day and he cast smite with Ahriman twice in a psychic phase. I didn't think that this was allowable but I can't find anything that says you can't do this.

What are other people's takes on this?
Can you point me to a rule either way?


Last edited by LordSplata on Wed May 23 2018, 15:54; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Smite comes out as smile)
Back to top Go down
Silverglade
Sybarite
Silverglade

Posts : 435
Join date : 2012-12-30

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeWed May 23 2018, 16:10

BRB page 178 under "2.Make Psychic Test"

last sentence in that section:

"A psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in a turn."
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7273
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeWed May 23 2018, 16:16

It's possible Ahriman may have an exception to that rule though. I don't have the codex but he did previously have the ability to fire off multiple witchfires so that might have carried over. But ordinarily, you cannot cast the same power more than once.

_________________
Multiple smites from one character YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
merse24
Kabalite Warrior
merse24

Posts : 213
Join date : 2014-06-14
Location : Texas

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeWed May 23 2018, 20:34

There is a stratagem that allows him to do this, but I'm not aware of any ability that he has for it.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
Squidmaster

Posts : 1980
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeThu May 24 2018, 10:11

Ahriman has no personal ability which allows him to Smite multiple times.

Nor can I find any Warlord Trait or Strategem that allows him to do so.

However, he does have access to the DOOMBOLT power (Discipline Of Change), which effectively IS Smite, WC9, 18", D3 Mortal Wounds.
Also Infernal Gaze (Dark Hereticus Discipline), WC5, 18", one Mortal Wound on a roll of 4+.
Or Bolt Of Change (Discipline Of Tzeentch), WC9, 18", D3 Mortal Wounds.

Its possible he was actually casting one of these other powers.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
amishprn86
Dracon
amishprn86

Posts : 3355
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeThu May 24 2018, 11:00

He used to be able to cast the same powers over and over, that was his special ability, so players would cast doombolt 3x (was a 18" S8 or 9 lance if i remember).

He might honestly just be playing old ways with him since that was his thing for.. oh.. what 10 years? So dont jump to think he was cheating.

They do have a stratagem to cast an extra power, he also might be mistaking that for it as well.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
merse24
Kabalite Warrior
merse24

Posts : 213
Join date : 2014-06-14
Location : Texas

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeThu May 24 2018, 16:36

So I've never really thought about it until now, but I'm questioning whether or not the strategem can be used to cast Smite twice.

The strategem is The Great Sorcerer, which allows the psker to attempt to manifest one additional power that turn.

I had always assumed that it could be any of his powers, but after reading it closely, I'm not so sure.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7273
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeThu May 24 2018, 16:47

Unless it specifically says so, it's an extra power, not the same one again.

_________________
Multiple smites from one character YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Ikol
Wych
Ikol

Posts : 567
Join date : 2017-03-20
Location : Perth

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeFri May 25 2018, 13:02

Same as the Shadowseer ‘Vessel of Fate’ strat. It lets you cast an extra power, but unless you know more powers than you can cast at least one of them is going to have to be Smite.

Further more, in Matched Play, Smite is the only power you can cast more than once in any given Psychic phase. Perhaps this is what confused your opponent?

_________________
This world exists because of the things we have done, forever branching to the decisions we make and twisting to what we do not.

”Woe to our enemies.  We'll tear them apart regardless.” ~Barrywise
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
Squidmaster

Posts : 1980
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeFri May 25 2018, 17:03

I'm more inclined to think that the oppone t in this case was using another of the Smite-like powers available to Ahriman, and just forgot to rename it.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
LordSplata
Sybarite
LordSplata

Posts : 281
Join date : 2017-06-14
Location : Sydney

Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitimeSat May 26 2018, 05:50

Thanks for the answers guys, especially the page numbers and the possibilities of other ways he could have been managing it.
He was definitely using smite twice as we discussed it. I challenged it as I thought it wasn't right but couldn't find the rule to back it up. So we played it that you could. Wasn't that he was trying to cheat, just thought you could and I figured that it was some of why his tzeench-nurgle unkillable list of death was meant to be good(while it fell apart to a withering hail of dark lance fire)
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Multiple smites from one character Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple smites from one character   Multiple smites from one character I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Multiple smites from one character
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: