HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Black Heart Obsession misconception

Go down 
AuthorMessage
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2934
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Black Heart Obsession misconception   Wed May 09 2018, 14:19

I may be mistaken but I always read that Black Heart grants your vehicles a 6+++ because of the 1 turn progress.
But isn´t the 6+++ the first turn bonus already?
So BH would get a 6+++ and re-roll dice for advancing or charging, right?


And because most guys just take BH for the early 6+++ it´s basically useless. If you ignore the BH relic.
Back to top Go down
Toffeehammer
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 83
Join date : 2015-11-08

PostSubject: Re: Black Heart Obsession misconception   Wed May 09 2018, 14:28

I always figured the 6+++ didn't kick in until YOUR turn 1. Meaning if your opponent goes first they get a turn of hitting your stuff without the 6+++. I could be wrong but I guess the value is in reducing your opponent's alpha strike effectiveness.

Also, early immunity to morale is always good.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 509
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Black Heart Obsession misconception   Wed May 09 2018, 14:44

@CptMetal wrote:
I may be mistaken but I always read that Black Heart grants your vehicles a 6+++ because of the 1 turn progress.
But isn´t the 6+++ the first turn bonus already?
So BH would get a 6+++ and re-roll dice for advancing or charging, right?


And because most guys just take BH for the early 6+++ it´s basically useless. If you ignore the BH relic.

But vehicles don't have PfP - so normally they wouldn't get the 6+++ at all.

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 683
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: Black Heart Obsession misconception   Wed May 09 2018, 14:45

The rule is fairly clearly written in the Codex; if a unit doesn't have Power From Pain but has the Black Heart Obsession, it gains the Inured to Suffering ability (which is the 6+++ save). Since our transports don't have Power From Pain, Black Heart is the only way for them to get that 6+++ save.
Back to top Go down
Glass Battleaxe
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 33
Join date : 2017-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Black Heart Obsession misconception   Wed May 09 2018, 14:49

Power from Pain is applied per battle round, not per player turn. So all units with this ability would have a 6+++ from the start, even if your opponent gets the first turn.

As it's stated in the codex:

Quote :
Units with this ability gain a bonus depending upon which battle round it is, as shown in the table...

In terms of the Black Heart, in battle round 1, every Kabal unit with PFP would be treated as though it was battle round 2 - so those units would have a 6+++ and re-roll charge and advance rolls. Whereas models in this obsession without PFP - vehicles and the CotA units - would simply gain the 6+++.

Apologies if I've missed or misinterpreted anything.
Back to top Go down
CptMetal
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2934
Join date : 2015-03-03
Location : Ruhr Metropolian Area

PostSubject: Re: Black Heart Obsession misconception   Wed May 09 2018, 18:37

Damn. I'm a moron. Thanks for clarification!

Sent from Topic'it App
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 770
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Black Heart Obsession misconception   Wed May 09 2018, 21:06

@Toffeehammer wrote:
I always figured the 6+++ didn't kick in until YOUR turn 1. Meaning if your opponent goes first they get a turn of hitting your stuff without the 6+++. I could be wrong but I guess the value is in reducing your opponent's alpha strike effectiveness.

Also, early immunity to morale is always good.

You kidding that would suck a lot and make first turn a lot more important for DE. Power from pain definetly kicks in start of the game, not your turn.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Black Heart Obsession misconception   

Back to top Go down
 
Black Heart Obsession misconception
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: Drukhari Discussion
-
Jump to: