HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 DE codex Faq

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
AuthorMessage
withershadow
Wych
avatar

Posts : 561
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 00:41

@Gherma wrote:
@Burnage wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
Same for Sisters of Silence and Assassins.

These (as well as the Legion of the Damned) are listed in the FAQs as exceptions that can be taken in a Vanguard detachment without HQs, Corsairs aren't.

Exactly. It seems after all Withershadow is part of the illiterates of the forum Wink

You can still play them as Yinnari I suppose...

Q: There are no datasheets for Corsair Princes or Corsair
Barons – are there datasheets I should use for these models?
A: Use either the Corsair Cloud Dancer Band, Corsair
Reaver Band or Corsair Skyreaver Band datasheets
(whichever best describes the model) with the model
taking the place of the unit’s Felarch.

Oh gee, I guess they DO have HQ options. This isn't even new information, it's from the old version of the FAQ because it's not in Magenta. I don't even play Corsairs and it took me 5 seconds of RTFM to find an answer.  

So I guess I am quite literate after all, and I got another [EDIT DUE TO POPULAR DEMAND]ILLUSTRIOUS PARAGON OF 'LEDGE! (the 'know' is silent, the 'ledge' is the ideal outcome) to add to my list.


Last edited by withershadow on Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
TeenageAngst
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1774
Join date : 2016-08-29

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 00:43

Get a loada this guy here.

_________________
Really terrible videos about tiny plastic space elfs intended to help you get gud scrub:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZP8WGIhte5TmCWQXsZO4A

Flawless pieces of literary perfection:
https://www.fanfiction.net/u/2805979/
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 00:43

This guy is a quality Mensch, I tells ya.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 00:44

@withershadow wrote:
@Gherma wrote:
@Burnage wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
Same for Sisters of Silence and Assassins.

These (as well as the Legion of the Damned) are listed in the FAQs as exceptions that can be taken in a Vanguard detachment without HQs, Corsairs aren't.

Exactly. It seems after all Withershadow is part of the illiterates of the forum Wink

You can still play them as Yinnari I suppose...

Q: There are no datasheets for Corsair Princes or Corsair
Barons – are there datasheets I should use for these models?
A: Use either the Corsair Cloud Dancer Band, Corsair
Reaver Band or Corsair Skyreaver Band datasheets
(whichever best describes the model) with the model
taking the place of the unit’s Felarch.

Oh gee, I guess they DO have HQ options. This isn't even new information, it's from the old version of the FAQ because it's not in Magenta. I don't even play Corsairs and it took me 5 seconds of RTFM to find an answer.  

So I guess I am quite literate after all, and I got another drooling idiot to add to my list.  I feel sorry for your parents.

You're misreading that. It's stating that Corsairs don't have HQ units, and if you have a model that would have been a HQ choice previously you should use it as a sergeant for a Troop or Fast Attack unit.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 00:46

@withershadow wrote:

Q: There are no datasheets for Corsair Princes or Corsair
Barons – are there datasheets I should use for these models?
A: Use either the Corsair Cloud Dancer Band, Corsair
Reaver Band or Corsair Skyreaver Band datasheets
(whichever best describes the model) with the model
taking the place of the unit’s Felarch.

Oh gee, I guess they DO have HQ options. This isn't even new information, it's from the old version of the FAQ because it's not in Magenta. I don't even play Corsairs and it took me 5 seconds of RTFM to find an answer.  

I appreciate that I'm almost certainly on your ignore list, but nowhere does that FAQ say that they become HQs. Nor even separate models.

All you're getting is permission to pretend that the Felarch of one of your Corsair squads is actually a Prince or Baron.

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Gherma
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 196
Join date : 2012-12-10
Location : London, UK

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 00:49

@Burnage wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
@Gherma wrote:
@Burnage wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
Same for Sisters of Silence and Assassins.

These (as well as the Legion of the Damned) are listed in the FAQs as exceptions that can be taken in a Vanguard detachment without HQs, Corsairs aren't.

Exactly. It seems after all Withershadow is part of the illiterates of the forum Wink

You can still play them as Yinnari I suppose...

Q: There are no datasheets for Corsair Princes or Corsair
Barons – are there datasheets I should use for these models?
A: Use either the Corsair Cloud Dancer Band, Corsair
Reaver Band or Corsair Skyreaver Band datasheets
(whichever best describes the model) with the model
taking the place of the unit’s Felarch.

Oh gee, I guess they DO have HQ options. This isn't even new information, it's from the old version of the FAQ because it's not in Magenta. I don't even play Corsairs and it took me 5 seconds of RTFM to find an answer.  

So I guess I am quite literate after all, and I got another drooling idiot to add to my list.  I feel sorry for your parents.

You're misreading that. It's stating that Corsairs don't have HQ units, and if you have a model that would have been a HQ choice previously you should use it as a sergeant for a Troop or Fast Attack unit.

Thank you Burnage for explaining this gentleman how to read.

BTW, I believe that openly offending other members of the forum (drooling idiot), is against the policies of the dark city. Can a mod please take care of this?

_________________
CHECK MY MODELS ON MY PROJECT LOG: KABAL OF THE SHADOW GYRINX
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 00:51

@Gherma wrote:
@Burnage wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
@Gherma wrote:
@Burnage wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
Same for Sisters of Silence and Assassins.

These (as well as the Legion of the Damned) are listed in the FAQs as exceptions that can be taken in a Vanguard detachment without HQs, Corsairs aren't.

Exactly. It seems after all Withershadow is part of the illiterates of the forum Wink

You can still play them as Yinnari I suppose...

Q: There are no datasheets for Corsair Princes or Corsair
Barons – are there datasheets I should use for these models?
A: Use either the Corsair Cloud Dancer Band, Corsair
Reaver Band or Corsair Skyreaver Band datasheets
(whichever best describes the model) with the model
taking the place of the unit’s Felarch.

Oh gee, I guess they DO have HQ options. This isn't even new information, it's from the old version of the FAQ because it's not in Magenta. I don't even play Corsairs and it took me 5 seconds of RTFM to find an answer.  

So I guess I am quite literate after all, and I got another drooling idiot to add to my list.  I feel sorry for your parents.

You're misreading that. It's stating that Corsairs don't have HQ units, and if you have a model that would have been a HQ choice previously you should use it as a sergeant for a Troop or Fast Attack unit.

Thank you Burnage for explaining this gentleman how to read.

BTW, I believe that openly offending other members of the forum (drooling idiot), is against the policies of the dark city. Can a mod please take care of this?

It always seems that the more condescending you are in your replies to people, the higher the chance you're going to make a mistake in your correction...

But I agree, the lad should at least get a warning about being respectful... No need for name calling and hurling insults.
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Wych
avatar

Posts : 561
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 00:51

"How do I represent my HQ model that no longer has rules?"
"Use the other data slates and replace the Sgt with your HQ model."

If you're going to be snarky, at least get your facts straight.



And I thought this forum was of sterner stuff given the kind of rows I see you folks get into. But sure, if that's overstepping the boundaries of the forum, warn/suspend/ban away as is proper.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:01

@withershadow wrote:
"How do I represent my HQ model that no longer has rules?"
"Use the other data slates and replace the Sgt with your HQ model."

You appear to be under the impression that this means that you should treat the sergeant as a HQ choice, when in fact the words "replace the sergeant with your HQ model" mean "replace the sergeant with your HQ model".
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Wych
avatar

Posts : 561
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:04

You seem to be under the impression that an "HQ model" is not an "HQ model".


Last edited by withershadow on Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:08; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Wych
avatar

Posts : 588
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:06

@withershadow wrote:
"How do I represent my HQ model that no longer has rules?"
"Use the other data slates and replace the Sgt with your HQ model."

If you're going to be snarky, at least get your facts straight.


Mayhaps you should take your own advice, since thus far you've done nothing but proved that your comprehension skills are abysmal.

Nowhere in the rule you quoted does it give you permission to treat the Felarch model as a HQ. Literally all you are permitted to do is use a Corsair Prince or Baron model in place of a Felarch model. That's it.

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Wych
avatar

Posts : 508
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:07

So Ynnari will not benefit from Obsessions at all? This is great yeah?! Not if they want to benefit from Ynnari special rules?

Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:08

@withershadow wrote:
You seem to be under the impression that an "HQ model" is not an "HQ model".

If it doesn't have rules, then you can't really say it's an HQ model... It could theoretically be anything.
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Wych
avatar

Posts : 561
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:10

@Soulless Samurai wrote:

Nowhere in the rule you quoted does it give you permission to treat the Felarch model as a HQ. Literally all you are permitted to do is use a Corsair Prince or Baron model in place of a Felarch model. That's it.

Really? That is really what they mean? I am not sure, because so far when GW does deign to intervene in these little silly rules squabbles, I am batting a 1000 to your goose eggs. Just use a modicum of common sense.

Which of these conversations is more logical? Imagine you're talking to GW.

"How do I represent my HQ model?"
"Like this."

OR

"How do I represent my HQ model?"
"Like this... PSYCH! Your army is not legal! Eat a dick, AHAHAHAHAHA!"
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:11

As someone with Corsairs (Hornets, Warp Hunters, Balestrikes, Prince's, Barons, Void Dreamers, Reavers, Cloud Dancers, Corsair Venoms, etc..) Corsairs are dead as an army, they are now just there to have a couple units to make players not pick up Pitch forks against them.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points


Last edited by amishprn86 on Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Dawnstone
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 30
Join date : 2017-06-10

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:12

So wait, how would you actually run Corsairs now? Is it possible?
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:14

@Dawnstone wrote:
So wait, how would you actually run Corsairs now? Is it possible?

You can run the few units in Ynnari, thats about it for Battle Brothers rules.

You can play Narrative and do what you want tho.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:15

@withershadow wrote:
You seem to be under the impression that an "HQ model" is not an "HQ model".

Not at all, I just recognise that the rules are capable of making a distinction between a physical model and the unit that it represents.

This is absolutely an oversight - of course GW doesn't want units that they provide current rules for to be virtually impossible to run - but that doesn't change that right now they don't have any valid HQ choices nor any abilities which give them exceptions to the standard detachment rules.

@Dawnstone wrote:
So wait, how would you actually run Corsairs now? Is it possible?

Lots of aux. support detachments. That's it. You can't take them in Ynnari or Aeldari detachments, because neither of those are legal any more.
Back to top Go down
Dawnstone
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 30
Join date : 2017-06-10

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:22

Ah yes, auxiliary support detachments. Well, at least it's not impossible to field them, just garbage.
---
This FAQ hasn't changed my 2k list other than providing me with +4CP for no apparent reason, yay battalions I guess?... A real shame we are stuck with more restrictions on our already highly restricted army, but in terms of our overall effectiveness this FAQ is probably a net buff, considering how hard other factions like Tyranids & Chaos got hit.
Back to top Go down
TheBaconPope
Wych
avatar

Posts : 659
Join date : 2017-03-10

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:22

Quote :
So I guess I am quite literate after all, and I got another drooling idiot to add to my list. I feel sorry for your parents.

Jesus, this ego dwarfs even BetrayTheWorld's before he got banned.

Seconding the request for mod intervention. There's a difference between heated discussion and just being a twit.

_________________
"Death solves all problems. No man, no problem."
Back to top Go down
Gherma
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 196
Join date : 2012-12-10
Location : London, UK

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:26

@Burnage wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
You seem to be under the impression that an "HQ model" is not an "HQ model".

Not at all, I just recognise that the rules are capable of making a distinction between a physical model and the unit that it represents.

This is absolutely an oversight - of course GW doesn't want units that they provide current rules for to be virtually impossible to run - but that doesn't change that right now they don't have any valid HQ choices nor any abilities which give them exceptions to the standard detachment rules.

@Dawnstone wrote:
So wait, how would you actually run Corsairs now? Is it possible?

Lots of aux. support detachments. That's it. You can't take them in Ynnari or Aeldari detachments, because neither of those are legal any more.

Anyway let’s not forget that battle brothers is still just a beta rule. They will hopefully scrub it a little before making it an actual one.

_________________
CHECK MY MODELS ON MY PROJECT LOG: KABAL OF THE SHADOW GYRINX
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Wych
avatar

Posts : 561
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:28

Rolling Eyes I only respond in kind.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:30

@Gherma wrote:
@Burnage wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
You seem to be under the impression that an "HQ model" is not an "HQ model".

Not at all, I just recognise that the rules are capable of making a distinction between a physical model and the unit that it represents.

This is absolutely an oversight - of course GW doesn't want units that they provide current rules for to be virtually impossible to run - but that doesn't change that right now they don't have any valid HQ choices nor any abilities which give them exceptions to the standard detachment rules.

@Dawnstone wrote:
So wait, how would you actually run Corsairs now? Is it possible?

Lots of aux. support detachments. That's it. You can't take them in Ynnari or Aeldari detachments, because neither of those are legal any more.

Anyway let’s not forget that battle brothers is still just a beta rule. They will hopefully scrub it a little before making it an actual one.

I understand why they did this, but still dont like it.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Korazell
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 392
Join date : 2013-03-08

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:35

@TheBaconPope wrote:
Quote :
So I guess I am quite literate after all, and I got another drooling idiot to add to my list. I feel sorry for your parents.

Jesus, this ego dwarfs even BetrayTheWorld's before he got banned.

Seconding the request for mod intervention. There's a difference between heated discussion and just being a twit.

Oh, sadness, that's why I haven't run into him anymore.


Can we try and keep this discussion civil? And I don't mean arrogantly justified civil, I mean actually civil?

_________________
" Your suffering will be legendary. It will make the dead, long forgotten in our dear Commorragh, rattle in their graves as your agony touches them even from the beyond. I will record each scream, each gurgle, each cry and it will be my sweetest lullaby. The tears you spill will be collected and I will savor them like fine drink for years to come. The blood you spill will be used to feed my house-plants, and your flesh I will feed to the Razorwing flocks. Your bones I will keep and fashion into my clothes like a medal awarded for reaching the highest plateau of torture. You will never steal my sandwych again!"
Back to top Go down
Crucible of Sorrow
Slave
avatar

Posts : 1
Join date : 2018-04-17

PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   Tue Apr 17 2018, 01:39

Shots (splinters?) fired up in here! Is this the gladiatorial arena?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: DE codex Faq   

Back to top Go down
 
DE codex Faq
Back to top 
Page 8 of 9Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: