HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Archon aura within vehicles

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kissaki
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 33
Join date : 2018-04-05

PostSubject: Archon aura within vehicles   Wed Apr 11 2018, 07:46

As I'm still pretty new to the 8th, how are buff auras of characters handles regarding vehicles?

For example archon in a vehicle:
-does his own vehicle reroll ones?
-do models around the vehecle reroll ones? If so from where do I messure?

Other example where archon is in the open and a filled transporter in 6". Does the infantry inside reroll ones?
Back to top Go down
Lightbox
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2018-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Wed Apr 11 2018, 08:06

I believe the rulebook has a section for transports that if a model is embarked in a transport its aura doesn't work.

However if the archon is on foot he can butf vehicles and as per the rules if a vehicle is buffed or debuffed then all units inside it benefit/suffer from the same buff/debuff. So yeah if an archon sits near a raider the blokes inside will benefit from his aura too provided the transport is the same kabal as the archon.
Back to top Go down
Kissaki
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 33
Join date : 2018-04-05

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Wed Apr 11 2018, 08:34

Bummer. That makes a potential warlord that stays behind to give support to reavers more frail then I like..
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Wych
avatar

Posts : 561
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Wed Apr 11 2018, 08:42

@Lightbox wrote:
I believe the rulebook has a section for transports that if a model is embarked in a transport its aura doesn't work.

However if the archon is on foot he can butf vehicles and as per the rules if a vehicle is buffed or debuffed then all units inside it benefit/suffer from the same buff/debuff. So yeah if an archon sits near a raider the blokes inside will benefit from his aura too provided the transport is the same kabal as the archon.
No, the rules say models that are embarked cannot be affected in any way. While the open topped rule does say modifiers impacting the vehicle also apply to the occupants, a re-roll is not a modifier.
Back to top Go down
Lightbox
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2018-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Wed Apr 11 2018, 10:42

@withershadow wrote:

No, the rules say models that are embarked cannot be affected in any way. While the open topped rule does say modifiers impacting the vehicle also apply to the occupants, a re-roll is not a modifier.

Oh whoops! Good catch on that one.
Back to top Go down
ArchonYllithian
Slave
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2018-02-01
Location : Paris

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Thu Apr 12 2018, 12:27

Hello !
So if I have an archon in a transport, which of the following can actually benefit from his aura ?

- Other unit embarked in the same transport
- The transport unit
- Unit in range outside of the transport
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Thu Apr 12 2018, 12:32

@ArchonYllithian wrote:
Hello !
So if I have an archon in a transport, which of the following can actually benefit from his aura ?

- Other unit embarked in the same transport
- The transport unit
- Unit in range outside of the transport

None. Auras don't work when embarked.

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
ArchonYllithian
Slave
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2018-02-01
Location : Paris

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Thu Apr 12 2018, 13:00

@Mppqlmd wrote:
@ArchonYllithian wrote:
Hello !
So if I have an archon in a transport, which of the following can actually benefit from his aura ?

- Other unit embarked in the same transport
- The transport unit
- Unit in range outside of the transport

None. Auras don't work when embarked.
Ok, I was pretty sure about the 2 last but not the first one.
Thanks, I guess I will have to put theses huskblades to good use :p
Back to top Go down
joesavestheday
Slave
avatar

Posts : 3
Join date : 2012-12-01

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Thu Apr 12 2018, 16:23

@withershadow wrote:
@Lightbox wrote:
I believe the rulebook has a section for transports that if a model is embarked in a transport its aura doesn't work.

However if the archon is on foot he can butf vehicles and as per the rules if a vehicle is buffed or debuffed then all units inside it benefit/suffer from the same buff/debuff. So yeah if an archon sits near a raider the blokes inside will benefit from his aura too provided the transport is the same kabal as the archon.
No, the rules say models that are embarked cannot be affected in any way. While the open topped rule does say modifiers impacting the vehicle also apply to the occupants, a re-roll is not a modifier.

Hoping you can clarify as I was just reading about this too. I understand if the character is embarked that the aura doesn't work. But if the archon is on foot within 6" of a venom full of warriors, I couldn't find any text that directly addresses this. In the BRB, I'm looking at pg 183: "Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked." --> pg 105 of codex: Open-topped rule specifically states that "any restrictions or modifiers that apply to to this model also apply to its passengers;" so that addresses the first part of the Transport restriction, but the last part seems to refer to the unit that is granting the ability, i.e. archon in this case, which if he's outside the transport should be good to go.

Is there a strict definition of what is/isn't a "modifier" somewhere in the BRB or FAQs? My initial interpretation was that the archon's aura was a modifier (it modifies what happens when you roll a 1), but I haven't played much 8th edition so want to make sure I'm not missing something.
Back to top Go down
https://www.joesavestheday.com
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 859
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Fri Apr 13 2018, 02:12

What is a restriction or modifier is something that isn't well defined.

The examples given are falling back means passengers count as having fallen back and being within 1" means the passengers count as being within 1" too.

The transport moving or advancing seems likely to count as a modifier / restriction in the same way for passengers.

You could argue that things like buffs on the transport, or Obsessions for the transport are modifiers. That doesn't feel right to me, but I don't have anything that really clearly explains what to count and what to exclude.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
joesavestheday
Slave
avatar

Posts : 3
Join date : 2012-12-01

PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   Tue Apr 17 2018, 19:09

Just to close the loop, the new big FAQ directly answers this; aura's don't work on open-topped passengers.
Back to top Go down
https://www.joesavestheday.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Archon aura within vehicles   

Back to top Go down
 
Archon aura within vehicles
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: