HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Codex: Haemonculus Master of Pain

Go down 
AuthorMessage
badgergrub
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2018-04-04

PostSubject: Codex: Haemonculus Master of Pain    Mon Apr 09 2018, 20:03

So I had just confirmed the new wording for Master of Pain. We can now "add 1 to the toughness characteristic of a coven unit while they're within 6" of a model with this ability."

RAW, are we now allowed to stack toughness? I'm curious as to how everyone would interpret this change.
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 825
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Haemonculus Master of Pain    Mon Apr 09 2018, 20:18

It means you check are you in range of a model with this ability. If yes then +1 T. If no then no boost.

Being in range of say 3 of them means you are still in range of a model with this ability, so you get +1 T. If it were the other way it would need to say add 1 to the toughness characteristic of a coven unit for each model within 6" with this ability.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
badgergrub
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2018-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Haemonculus Master of Pain    Mon Apr 09 2018, 21:35

That is how I read it as well, but I can also see this understood differently.

Say we have 3. We add +3T because each of them is a model with this ability.
Are you in range of a model with this ability? Yes. +1T
Are you in range of a model with this ability? Yes. +1T again
Are you in range of a model with this ability? Yes. +1T a third time.

The 3 of them are all in range of a model with this ability, so we just do this 3 times.
It's worth noting that we have rules that prevent exactly this type of thing from happening.
Most rules that confer a buff normally goes "... to units within range of one or more models with this ability." To me that is very clear and doesn't leave room for weird interpretations. It's how Master of Pain is worded in the index as well.

Even though I may sound like I'm trying to make a case for this, I actually agree that 'a' model with this ability in this case implies any model with this ability, but I thought this is worth talking about because why would they change a rule that was fine and required no clarification if they intended for it to work the same way?
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 535
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Haemonculus Master of Pain    Mon Apr 09 2018, 21:54

@badgergrub wrote:
So I had just confirmed the new wording for Master of Pain. We can now "add 1 to the toughness characteristic of a coven unit while they're within 6" of a model with this ability."

RAW, are we now allowed to stack toughness?  I'm curious as to how everyone would interpret this change.

Your quote is wrong and the sentence uses the word "any" so it does not stack.

Rule Book FAQ states:

"Q: Lots of aura abilities say they grant an ability to nearby
units that are within range of any such models. Are the bonuses
cumulative (i.e. if I am within range of two models with
identical aura abilities, is the bonus doubled)?
A: Unless stated otherwise, no. The bonus for such an
ability applies once if any (i.e. one or more) of these
models are within range."

_________________
20,000 Dark Eldar
25,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
Back to top Go down
badgergrub
Slave
avatar

Posts : 5
Join date : 2018-04-04

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Haemonculus Master of Pain    Mon Apr 09 2018, 22:24

Ah, I was unaware of the FAQ. I had heard the change on several codex reviews, and was wondering why they had reworded the rule. Thanks for the update.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Codex: Haemonculus Master of Pain    

Back to top Go down
 
Codex: Haemonculus Master of Pain
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: