HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Transport Obsession Question and Thought

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Tue Apr 03 2018, 14:40

Then ya, it looks like we can do it.... for fluff reasons. *cough* *cough*
Back to top Go down
Gelmir
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 35
Join date : 2018-01-06
Location : near Rotterdam

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Tue Apr 03 2018, 18:01

The way I think it's intended, is that a vehicle belongs to the Kabal, Cult or Coven on board. If you have a <Kabal of the Black Heart> unit on board, the Transport will be <Kabal of the Black Heart>. Since Incubi are Drukhari Infantry, they can board, but with only Incubi on board, the transport will not have an obsession.
The only way to mix things, would be to board both 5 Wyches and 5 Kabalites on board of the same Raider.
Just guessing here though. We need to see the specific rules on this with the actual codex in our hands.

_________________
For my introduction and pics of some of my models:
http://www.thedarkcity.net/t17117-noob-alert
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Tue Apr 03 2018, 18:35

Welp, confirmed that it is linked to Obsession and Scourges cannot be transported at all. I am not sure how Incubi will get around.
Back to top Go down
FattimusMcGee
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 41
Join date : 2018-03-03

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 06:38

Ever since the Index FAQ, forever ago, Scourge haven't been able to ride in transports (aside from the Tantalus) - so it being confirmed is not true. Edit: Neither can Hellions.


I already read an article on BoLS that was freaking out about mixed obsessions - read the comments, he's wrong. ALSO he mentions the rules for Transports and they can still carry <DRUKHARI INFANTRY>, doesn't matter the Kabal.


Bladow.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 673
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 06:44

Glad that's finally cleared up to be exactly what I expected it to be, people can stop freaking out about our transport rules being changed now.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 14:41

@FattimusMcGee wrote:
Ever since the Index FAQ, forever ago, Scourge haven't been able to ride in transports (aside from the Tantalus) - so it being confirmed is not true. Edit: Neither can Hellions.


I already read an article on BoLS that was freaking out about mixed obsessions - read the comments, he's wrong. ALSO he mentions the rules for Transports and they can still carry <DRUKHARI INFANTRY>, doesn't matter the Kabal.


Bladow.


Sorry, I'm confused now.  I read the BoLS.  So I can't put two different Kabals in the same transport?

If that's the case how do my archons get around?  Footslogging or their own venom/raider?  Truth be told my only solution to that is like 6 raiders with 9 warriors and 1 archon.

I was hoping to throw them all into a gun bus and blaster whatever heavy thing to death.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7075
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 14:51

Can't read the comments on BoLS (not sure if that's a bad thing...). Can someone tell me what the outcome is and whether this has actually been supported by rules or is just opinions?

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
FattimusMcGee
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 41
Join date : 2018-03-03

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 17:25

@Count Adhemar wrote:
Can't read the comments on BoLS (not sure if that's a bad thing...). Can someone tell me what the outcome is and whether this has actually been supported by rules or is just opinions?


They were wrong. They treated the sentence as though it had a period (.) instead of a comma (,) - so no, the Flayed Skull does not apply to any unit it's transporting. Only the unit if it's being transported.


@Sethlight - YES, you can put any <DRUKHARI INFANTRY> into *any* transport (aside from Hellions & Scourge). Drukhari Infantry is not an obsession but a subtype of unit. Basically it's exactly like the Index - Hell, you can put Wyches in your Kabal Raider, it doesn't matter.

Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 507
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 18:08

Agree, I have the Codex and yes, no restrictions at all between keywords for embarking units!
Wow!
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 673
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 18:25

Yeah what a surprise that the rule for transporting units didn't change at all from index to codex..good to put that fear to rest though.

Man I want to get the codex early.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 19:47

@Cerve wrote:
Agree, I have the Codex and yes, no restrictions at all between keywords for embarking units!
Wow!
Did beasts change in any way? Cost/rules/anything?
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 673
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 21:26

I know you now need a beastmaster to unlock beasts at all, but I'm not sure how that works with FA slots, and is it one beastmaster per beast unit? I'd love to get clarification on that since in my index list I ran 5 flocks of 3 razorwings, but that might not be viable anymore. Codex is only three days away though, so at least I'll see for myself soon.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 507
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 21:47

@withershadow wrote:
@Cerve wrote:
Agree, I have the Codex and yes, no restrictions at all between keywords for embarking units!
Wow!
Did beasts change in any way? Cost/rules/anything?

The beastmaster now get reroll only of "1" to hirt to their beasts :-/ it's a nerf. Cost 36 points (with Agoniser mandatory).
And if you run it, you must take 1 unit of Beasts, and they are "nothing" for the role (not FA, not Elite, nothing, as the Court).

The rest is the same.

Clawed and Khymerae are the same.
Flocks are now 4Attacks, S2, WS4+ Vp-1 D1. Cost 12 points.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 673
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 21:49

Does he still get the moral aura though for beasts? Pretty important for them considering their low moral.

Question is though can you run beasts just as a fast attack choice with no beastmaster, or do you have to take the beastmaster? I've been hearing you have to take him which would mean no more msu blobs of razorwing flocks for me.

Razorwing flocks went down by 2pts, not bad. 4 attacks +4 ws probably isn't going to do much, but I'd at least consider having them attack guardsmen and actually doing some damage for once.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 22:15

@Cerve wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
@Cerve wrote:
Agree, I have the Codex and yes, no restrictions at all between keywords for embarking units!
Wow!
Did beasts change in any way? Cost/rules/anything?

The beastmaster now get reroll only of "1" to hirt to their beasts :-/ it's a nerf. Cost 36 points (with Agoniser mandatory).
And if you run it, you must take 1 unit of Beasts, and they are "nothing" for the role (not FA, not Elite, nothing, as the Court).

The rest is the same.

Clawed and Khymerae are the same.
Flocks are now 4Attacks, S2, WS4+ Vp-1 D1. Cost 12 points.
So Beastmaster must bring one nothing slot of beasts, but can you just take beasts in your army to fill slots?

I frequently used the attack dogs as bubble wrap without a beastmaster at all. Crazy how they nerfed that stuff, I guess the intent is to slowly push all those models out of production since most are still finecast.
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 507
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 22:46

Yep, they still get the morale bubble aura as before.

I'm not sure that you can bring Beasts alone. I can't read nothing that deny that. Guess you still can.
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 507
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 22:59

EDIT!!! Ok, no, Beasts and Courts cannot be buyed as Elites/FA, and only with a Beastmaster/Archon.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 673
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Wed Apr 04 2018, 23:41

Alright that's what I thought, though it's been mention in another thread one beastmaster unlocks 3 beast units, which seems reasonable to me.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Thu Apr 05 2018, 00:27

@Cerve wrote:
EDIT!!! Ok, no, Beasts and Courts cannot be buyed as Elites/FA, and only with a Beastmaster/Archon.
Is the beastmaster still part of the wych cult, or is he a mercenary? Also, does that mean you only get one unit per beastmaster? I thought I saw that you get 3 units of beasts per beastmaster, with one unit being mandatory and not taking a slot?
Back to top Go down
Marrath
Wych
avatar

Posts : 669
Join date : 2014-01-01
Location : A very spiky Webway-Hulk

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Thu Apr 05 2018, 00:41

@withershadow wrote:
Is the beastmaster still part of the wych cult, or is he a mercenary?
Good question, also interesting because of cult obsessions.

_________________
Archon of the Kabal of the Burning Misery
Thanks for making the Djinn Blade great for once Smile
Back to top Go down
mynamelegend
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 129
Join date : 2015-04-05

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Thu Apr 05 2018, 00:48

Hey Cerve, is there any truth to what was said in another thread, that Grotesques are no longer eligible to go in transports?
Back to top Go down
Faitherun
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 202
Join date : 2017-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Thu Apr 05 2018, 00:56

Looked at the Codex briefly today

Wording is as such. "This model can transport 10 [DE] infantry models."

Then, under keywords, it has <Coven>, <Cult>, and <Cult>.

So, I am going from memory but I think you must be matching of the detachment type to embark. So you become <Obsidian Rose> and your raider does too, then only <Obsidian Rose> DE infantry can embark.
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 507
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Thu Apr 05 2018, 01:02

@mynamelegend wrote:
Hey Cerve, is there any truth to what was said in another thread, that Grotesques are no longer eligible to go in transports?

Don't worry, they can go into Raiders as before. They still count as 2 models, and no Venom for them. Nothing is change.





Yes, Beastmasters are <Wytchcult>



Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 507
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Thu Apr 05 2018, 01:05

@Faitherun wrote:
Looked at the Codex briefly today

Wording is as such. "This model can transport 10 [DE] infantry models."

Then, under keywords, it has <Coven>, <Cult>, and <Cult>.

So, I am going from memory but I think you must be matching of the detachment type to embark. So you become <Obsidian Rose> and your raider does too, then only <Obsidian Rose> DE infantry can embark.


True, but wrong guessing. You can embark anyone you want. Yes the transport itself had to choose one between <Kabal><Cult><Coven>, but for the embarking pourpose, Raider/Venom "can embark 10/5 Drukhari INFANTRY with no SKYBOARD keyword, nor Scourges".
Still 2 places for 1 Grot (only for Raider).

So there's no meaning about any <keyword> for embarked units. Feel free to embark any poisoned tongue into any flayed Skull transport (:
Back to top Go down
colinsherlow
Wych
avatar

Posts : 924
Join date : 2011-11-23
Location : Vancouver BC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Sat Apr 07 2018, 23:23

I don't see how you can put models from other obsessions into a transport with a different obsession as they don't share all of the keywords.

Kabal obsidian rose or a cult can't go into a kabal black heart raider since they don't share all of the same faction keywords.  Which are aeldari, drukhari and haemonculus cover or cult, or kabal.

If you only had to share 1 faction keyword then we could put craftworld aeldari in our transports

It is like this for every other faction as far as I am aware. There is no putting a white scars model in a ultramarine rhino.

The 3 Ynarri have a special rule that allows them to embark on other transports.

EDIT: I want to be wrong. I just don't believe it

_________________
There are two things that I love. Kicking ass and chewing bubble gum... And I'm allllll out of bubble gum!
Back to top Go down
 
Transport Obsession Question and Thought
Back to top 
Page 2 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: