HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Transport Obsession Question and Thought

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 14:51

I haven't heard people say this.  I don't belive you all need to have the same obsession or be in the same Kabal to be on the same transport.  So, I haven't heard people talking about doing this:  Make most, if not all, of your transports Flayed Skull.  The see through cover buff will go to the guys inside and they will be a bit faster.  (I don't think they would get the Re-roll hits as well though.)
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 668
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 15:17

I don't think you get the cover buff either, pretty sure it's flayed skull kabalites that need to be in the transport. Yes you could technically take only flayed skull transports if you finangle your detachments a bit so they all have the +3 movement buff, but I don't really think it's a huge deal regardless.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 15:22

@Lord Asvaldir wrote:
I don't think you get the cover buff either, pretty sure it's flayed skull kabalites that need to be in the transport. Yes you could technically take only flayed skull transports if you finangle your detachments a bit so they all have the +3 movement buff, but I don't really think it's a huge deal regardless.

Nope, it says units onboard get to shoot around cover too. Just not the rolls of 1 on hit.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 668
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 15:24

I'm reading the wording again and I'm not so sure. Personally doesn't seem like the intention of the obsession to me, and I will very likely be running pure flayed skull anyway so it doesn't make much of a difference to me.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
lessthanjeff
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 343
Join date : 2014-03-09
Location : Orlando, FL

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 15:43

I've been wondering whether we'll be able to have chars from different cults/kabals in the same transport as well.

Anyone have another codex handy like space marines that may show whether different chapters can share the same rhino?
Back to top Go down
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 16:08

@lessthanjeff wrote:
I've been wondering whether we'll be able to have chars from different cults/kabals in the same transport as well.

Anyone have another codex handy like space marines that may show whether different chapters can share the same rhino?

Ya, some people were saying you can't do it. But I didn't see anything that said I couldn't in the offical rule book and the model states any dark eldar infantry can go inside.
Back to top Go down
Nathelis
Slave
avatar

Posts : 24
Join date : 2018-01-29
Location : Austria

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 16:34

I am planning to mount all of my wych cult in flayed skull raiders. until a FAQ comes out this will be the best way to make us faster because the stock raider is so slow...

_________________
Dark Eldar Project Log
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 668
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 18:58

Well if you really want to speed up raiders don't forget we have the aethersails stratagem, lets raiders advance an automatic 8" for 1cp. But yes I see why you'd throw wyches in a flayed skull raider, the movement boost is pretty handy and kinda a no brainer if you have extra flayed skull units (like scourges in a flayed skull detachment) that don't need a transport but can take one for detachment purposes.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
HERO
Wych
avatar

Posts : 754
Join date : 2012-04-13

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 19:59

I asked about this last night with someone with the book and transports only have the Drukkari keyword, with no set Obsession.

I think that means that if a Black Heart Archon gets into a transport from a Flayed Skull detachment, that he will keep his Obsession's bonus while the Flayed Skull will keep his.

I think this means you can mix and match Obsessions too..?
Back to top Go down
http://lkhero.blogspot.com/
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 20:59

There is no restriction on who can ride in what transport, or you could never put Mercenary units in transports.

It feels gamey to mix and match units with transports, but it seems to be intended (flayed skull hired some wyches to fight for them, but have to risk their own equipment in the raid as part of the deal, etc.).

I wish raiders had more guns, like spinter cannon sponsons or something. And if I was writing the codex, I would give the Ravagers a reduced transport capacity (works for Land Raiders, Razorbacks, and Valkyries, so why not DE?).
Back to top Go down
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:12

@withershadow wrote:
There is no restriction on who can ride in what transport, or you could never put Mercenary units in transports.

It feels gamey to mix and match units with transports, but it seems to be intended (flayed skull hired some wyches to fight for them, but have to risk their own equipment in the raid as part of the deal, etc.).

I wish raiders had more guns, like spinter cannon sponsons or something. And if I was writing the codex, I would give the Ravagers a reduced transport capacity (works for Land Raiders, Razorbacks, and Valkyries, so why not DE?).

I mean... It might be me being cheese.  But I could totally see ANY army doing it.  Your guys love ships?  Awesome, you be our pilot.  We are known for shooting stuff, so we will hang off the side and hate-murder anything that moves.

Or me asking to use your ships and my men going inside of them.

Why wouldn't we want to mix your peanut butter with our chocolate?


Last edited by sethlight on Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 498
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:13

The truth is that we can't know it the Codex will coming out. The restrinction about who can imbark where is a tip inside the sheet of the veichle.
For example, a Chimera of <reggiment> can only imbarc <regiment> Cadians.

It is not something written inside the Obsession itself, it's the phrase inside the Venom/Raider sheet. If in the Codex will be something like "This veichle can embark only <obsession> Kabal/Wyches/Coven" then a FlayedSkull Raider will be able to embark only FlayedSkull Kabals.

So we can't say "it's possible" or "it's not", it's just a matter of reference sheet.


We will discover it in the Codex Smile
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:14

That is false. A Chimera can hold any Astra Militarum units, including ones that don't have a Regiment.  Otherwise there would be no way to transport Bullgryns or Commissars, etc.

My Krieg engineers ride in Catachan chimeras all the time.
Back to top Go down
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:16

@Cerve wrote:
The truth is that we can't know it the Codex will coming out. The restrinction about who can imbark where is a tip inside the sheet of the veichle.
For example, a Chimera of <reggiment> can only imbarc <regiment> Cadians.

It is not something written inside the Obsession itself, it's the phrase inside the Venom/Raider sheet. If in the Codex will be something like "This veichle can embark only <obsession> Kabal/Wyches/Coven" then a FlayedSkull Raider will be able to embark only FlayedSkull Kabals.

So we can't say "it's possible" or "it's not", it's just a matter of reference sheet.


We will discover it in the Codex Smile

Too true.  Do you know if this is the case in any other books?  Is it true with Chimeras?
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:17

It is not true for Chimeras.

It IS true for Craftworld and Tau Sept transports, though.
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 498
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:18

@sethlight wrote:
@Cerve wrote:
The truth is that we can't know it the Codex will coming out. The restrinction about who can imbark where is a tip inside the sheet of the veichle.
For example, a Chimera of <reggiment> can only imbarc <regiment> Cadians.

It is not something written inside the Obsession itself, it's the phrase inside the Venom/Raider sheet. If in the Codex will be something like "This veichle can embark only <obsession> Kabal/Wyches/Coven" then a FlayedSkull Raider will be able to embark only FlayedSkull Kabals.

So we can't say "it's possible" or "it's not", it's just a matter of reference sheet.


We will discover it in the Codex Smile

Too true.  Do you know if this is the case in any other books?  Is it true with Chimeras?

I checked out both Craftworlds and Necros, and both require the same <Craftworld>\<Dinasty> for units and Transports.

So I guess we will not be different.
Back to top Go down
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:19

@Cerve wrote:
@sethlight wrote:
@Cerve wrote:
The truth is that we can't know it the Codex will coming out. The restrinction about who can imbark where is a tip inside the sheet of the veichle.
For example, a Chimera of <reggiment> can only imbarc <regiment> Cadians.

It is not something written inside the Obsession itself, it's the phrase inside the Venom/Raider sheet. If in the Codex will be something like "This veichle can embark only <obsession> Kabal/Wyches/Coven" then a FlayedSkull Raider will be able to embark only FlayedSkull Kabals.

So we can't say "it's possible" or "it's not", it's just a matter of reference sheet.


We will discover it in the Codex Smile

Too true.  Do you know if this is the case in any other books?  Is it true with Chimeras?

I checked out both Craftworlds and Necros, and both require the same <Craftworld>\<Dinasty> for units and Transports.

So I guess we will not be different.
Well there goes that huh?! lol
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 498
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:24

@withershadow wrote:
It is not true for Chimeras.

It IS true for Craftworld and Tau Sept transports, though.

It's true. Maybe any FaQ for the Astra? Sounds strange.
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:28

Nope, no FAQ, it is part of the army to have tons of units that do not break Doctrines.

Bullgryns, Astropaths, Techpriests, Advisors, Commissars, etc. all would be without any transport options if it was limited by Regimental Doctrine.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 668
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 21:51

Hopefully it will be the same case for us then, it would be a huge pain if you couldn't say put an archon and a succubus in the same transport. Also incubi would be stuck without being able to be placed in transports, so I strongly suspect the rule for DE will let any "drukhari" keyword infantry unit to be placed in a transport, and not have the rule based on keyword kabal or cult.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 22:43

They could also do "Incubi and <Obsession> Drukhari Infantry", though, basically just adding the <> flag to the Index entry.

I hope it will be more flexible, but we shall see.

Speaking of which, I want to try a big Incubi bomb. Use Drazhar's +1 to hit and the doublehit stratagem to explode some stuff.
Back to top Go down
sethlight
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 53
Join date : 2017-09-18

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 23:00

@Lord Asvaldir wrote:
Hopefully it will be the same case for us then, it would be a huge pain if you couldn't say put an archon and a succubus in the same transport. Also incubi would be stuck without being able to be placed in transports, so I strongly suspect the rule for DE will let any "drukhari" keyword infantry unit to be placed in a transport, and not have the rule based on keyword kabal or cult.

That was the 2nd thing I was thinking about. I can't throw all of my HQs in one or two transports and let it deep strike.
Back to top Go down
withershadow
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 250
Join date : 2018-04-02

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Mon Apr 02 2018, 23:50

Chances are solid it won't change from the Index at all.
Back to top Go down
Marrath
Wych
avatar

Posts : 669
Join date : 2014-01-01
Location : A very spiky Webway-Hulk

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Tue Apr 03 2018, 09:27

@sethlight wrote:
@Lord Asvaldir wrote:
I don't think you get the cover buff either, pretty sure it's flayed skull kabalites that need to be in the transport. Yes you could technically take only flayed skull transports if you finangle your detachments a bit so they all have the +3 movement buff, but I don't really think it's a huge deal regardless.

Nope, it says units onboard get to shoot around cover too.  Just not the rolls of 1 on hit.
From another thread:
@Marrath wrote:
@Mppqlmd wrote:
Both can be combined. Put a poisoned tongue unit in a flayed skull raider, you'll get both rules.

Partly.
The increased raider speed helps the unit of course.
But the unit needs to be flayed skull too to get the "Re-roll Rapid fire 1s to hit" and the "Ignore cover" part of the Slay from the Skies Obsession.
If i read it correctly.
"...Attacks made by models with this Obsession..."

As for the question if you can mix Kabals and such via Transports, i don't know why not.

_________________
Archon of the Kabal of the Burning Misery
Thanks for making the Djinn Blade great for once Smile
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7066
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Transport Obsession Question and Thought   Tue Apr 03 2018, 09:52

@Cerve wrote:
@withershadow wrote:
It is not true for Chimeras.

It IS true for Craftworld and Tau Sept transports, though.

It's true. Maybe any FaQ for the Astra? Sounds strange.

I can't see anything in either the codex or FAQ that supports your statement. The Chimera has the <REGIMENT> keyword but the transport rule is ASTRA MILITARUM INFANTRY, not <REGIMENT> INFANTRY.

For Space Marines, their transports have the <CHAPTER> keyword and the transport rules all specify <CHAPTER> INFANTRY. Similarly with CWE, the Wave Serpent has the <CRAFTWORLD> keyword and the transport rule says <CRAFTWORLD> INFANTRY. So we need to know if the transport rules on Venoms and Ravagers have changed from the index version, which just says DRUKHARI INFANTRY, not <KABAL>/<CULT>/<COVEN> INFANTRY.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
 
Transport Obsession Question and Thought
Back to top 
Page 1 of 3Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: