HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
AuthorMessage
Archon_91
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 16:53

Well I know have a use for my hellions! Str 6 beat sticks (if drugs remain the same, and it kinda looks like they will) they will be melee vehicle / elite hunters. Or they will be str 4 horde clearers with +1 attack on the charge (woo hit and run they might as well just permanently have the +1 at) and +1 atk drug for 4 str 4 ap-1 attacks on the turn they charge... Might consider buying 1-2 GoC boxes and run 2 blobs of 20 ... And I guess use the reavers I a different detachment with advance + charge for turn 1 back field threats ... Finally I can use hellions the way I want to ... and they will probably be able to operate just fine without the succubus ... But if the succubus can take a skyboard then this could get even more fun ...
Back to top Go down
the_scotsman
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 95
Join date : 2016-01-30

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:08

Burnage, the strat specifies you can only use it in fight or shooting phase.
Back to top Go down
SERAFF
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 212
Join date : 2013-02-12

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:17

If your wyches are Ynnari, you can't use the Drukhari stratagem on them. Otherwise you can't use soulburst on them. Correct me if I'm wrong

_________________
My project log Kabal of Blow Blackberry Hammer
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 693
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:18

Until faq, you can. Precisely as you can play SaimHann stratagem into SaimHann-Ynnari unit.

You only lose the Obsession ability, but not the keyword
Back to top Go down
FrankyMcShanky
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 93
Join date : 2017-07-02

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:20

I really think the morale bonus from the Cursed Blade Obsession really puts it over the top. At least as far as Wyches go. I'm super curious what their stratagems going to be.
Back to top Go down
SERAFF
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 212
Join date : 2013-02-12

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:24

It is stated in codex:
"If your army is Battle-forged and includes any CraftworldsDetachments (pg 116), excluding Auxiliary Support Detachments,
you have access to the Stratagems shown here, meaning you can spend Command Points to activate them. These help to reflect
the unique strategies and fluid tactics used by the Asuryani on the battlefield."

So I think you can play SaimHann stratagem into SaimHann-Ynnari unit only if you have a Craftworlds
Detachment in your army.

_________________
My project log Kabal of Blow Blackberry Hammer
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:27

@FrankyMcShanky wrote:
I really think the morale bonus from the Cursed Blade Obsession really puts it over the top.  At least as far as Wyches go.  I'm super curious what their stratagems going to be.

Yeah I agree, a +1 strength bonus was enough of a bonus, but ignoring moral as well just makes it super good. Probably the go to obsession for wyches, but I'm still a little torn because advance+charge will be so good for reavers, and if they get a pts reduction (which I feel like they will) it's going to be well worth utilizing.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
TheBaconPope
Wych
avatar

Posts : 659
Join date : 2017-03-10

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:29

Quote :
Yeah I agree, a +1 strength bonus was enough of a bonus, but ignoring moral as well just makes it super good. Probably the go to obsession for wyches, but I'm still a little torn because advance+charge will be so good for reavers, and if they get a pts reduction (which I feel like they will) it's going to be well worth utilizing.

I can definitely see a use for a 20 strong blob DSing T2 and shredding whatever you toss them at.

_________________
"Death solves all problems. No man, no problem."
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:29

@Lord Asvaldir wrote:
@FrankyMcShanky wrote:
I really think the morale bonus from the Cursed Blade Obsession really puts it over the top.  At least as far as Wyches go.  I'm super curious what their stratagems going to be.

Yeah I agree, a +1 strength bonus was enough of a bonus, but ignoring moral as well just makes it super good. Probably the go to obsession for wyches, but I'm still a little torn because advance+charge will be so good for reavers, and if they get a pts reduction (which I feel like they will)  it's going to be well worth utilizing.

Exactly my thought as well. I'm thinking cults to tie things up while the rest of my army takes the enemy apart piecemeal.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:31

20 wyches deep striking is a lot, if they fail their charge it's to t3 +6 save bodies sitting around just waiting to get shot up, but if they hit their target yeah that's nasty. +1 attacks drug and that's what 80 s4 attacks? It's high risk high reward, and I think despite the risk I'd definetly at least give that a shot.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:39

Why take 1 unit of 10 to get 31 attacks, when I can take 2 units of 5 and get 32 attacks?

small jokes aside, we’ve gotten a huge increase in damage output for Wyches didn’t we? With the point drop they’re probably even more points efficient than ever. Against guardsmen we had 2 attacks, 3+ to hit, 4+ to wound, 5+ armor save. 0.444 wounds. Now with 3 attacks strength 4, its: 3+, 3+, 5+. Thats 0.889 wounds. We not only went down in points but also more than doubled combat efficiency against Guardsmen.

How about dem apples.

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3255
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 17:58

For stratagems and drugs purpose, a stratagem works better on 10man vs 5man

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:00

@dumpeal wrote:
I'll get a Cult of Strife Tantalus, and get 12 more disintegrator shots, after the 12 first ones.

+1 Like

_________________
20,000 Dark Eldar
25,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:08

Any thoughts on Hyperstimm Backlash?
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3255
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:11

I think it would have been very good if it was 1CP, or 2cp without the MW's

But i think it could come in handy time to time.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:11

@The Shredder wrote:
Any thoughts on Hyperstimm Backlash?

Doesn't seem worth it imo... If we're talking about wyches, it seems by far most useful for a blob of Cult of Strife wyches who have the +1S drug. 4 attacks at S5 could be worth it in certain scenarios, but I don't think getting 10 extra attacks at S4 is worth 2cps.

I haven't done the math, but my gut tells me the former is better than the latter.
Back to top Go down
Sarkesian
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 222
Join date : 2016-01-12
Location : Utah

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:12

It looks awesome to me. Stimm Addict sounds like it could allow your succubus to take more than 1 drug. A succubus with +1A +1S, while in the +1A Cult sounds very mean.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3255
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:12

@Bad-baden-baden wrote:
@The Shredder wrote:
Any thoughts on Hyperstimm Backlash?

Doesn't seem worth it imo... If we're talking about wyches, it seems by far most useful for a blob of Cult of Strife wyches who have the +1S drug. 4 attacks at S5 could be worth it in certain scenarios, but I don't think getting 10 extra attacks at S4 is worth 2cps.

I haven't done the math, but my gut tells me the former is better than the latter.

I think it will depend on the viability of Hellions if this will be used a lot or just time to time.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Shride
Slave
avatar

Posts : 24
Join date : 2012-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:14

@The Shredder wrote:
Any thoughts on Hyperstimm Backlash?

The timing on it is weird. You have to initiate it at the start of the battle round, and lasts until the end of the battle round. Easy enough if you go first, as you use it at the start of your turn, and it lasts until the end of your opponent's turn. But, if you are going second, you have to use it at the start of your opponent's turn, and it ends at the end of your own turn. Which makes me think it is less useful, as you have to telegraph which unit is getting buffed during your opponent's turn and hope they don't get shot off the table before they get to do something with it.
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:15

@amishprn86 wrote:
@Bad-baden-baden wrote:
@The Shredder wrote:
Any thoughts on Hyperstimm Backlash?

Doesn't seem worth it imo... If we're talking about wyches, it seems by far most useful for a blob of Cult of Strife wyches who have the +1S drug. 4 attacks at S5 could be worth it in certain scenarios, but I don't think getting 10 extra attacks at S4 is worth 2cps.

I haven't done the math, but my gut tells me the former is better than the latter.

I think it will depend on the viability of Hellions if this will be used a lot or just time to time.

It's interesting - Wyches from CUlt of Strife benefit most because you want to give them the +1S drug, so they get the 4S4 attacks still. Hellions from cursed blade would benefit from it as well, assuming that you gave them +1A!

Still, I'm not convinced that - on average - 10 extra attacks are as worth it as wounding better. Not for 2cps at least!
Back to top Go down
Logan Frost
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 452
Join date : 2016-01-25

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:16

Hyperstimm Backlash look alright to me, on bikes it will not even kill anyone, 1 casualty out of 6 is acceptable for the bonus and may be mitigated by our innate 6+++.
Back to top Go down
Shride
Slave
avatar

Posts : 24
Join date : 2012-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:20

@Logan Frost wrote:
Hyperstimm Backlash look alright to me, on bikes it will not even kill anyone, 1 casualty out of 6 is acceptable for the bonus and may be mitigated by our innate 6+++.

Bumping Bikes up to T6 could have its uses.

Edit: Reading comprehension fail.
Back to top Go down
Sarkesian
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 222
Join date : 2016-01-12
Location : Utah

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:23

I'd prefer to use it on a Succubus (or lelith if she still has drugs) to double her S bonus when she's in combat with a character. S5 ap-4 for 1 round sounds awesome.
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:24

@Sarkesian wrote:
I'd prefer to use it on a Succubus (or lelith if she still has drugs) to double her S bonus when she's in combat with a character. S5 ap-4 for 1 round sounds awesome.

But for 2cp's? Why? For 1 more cp you can fight again after destroying something... that's way better. 2Cp's better be doing more for me than getting an extra 3-5 wounds before saves!

Edit: Also, you're already rerolling all failed wounds against that character... and most characters already have high invuln saves. 2cp's to maybe do, what?, 1 damage to a character? At S4 (assuming you don't have the blood dancer trait) you're already landing 5.1/6.8 hits you make. So, you can MAYBE do 1.7 more damage. Most characters have a 4++, so, on average you're landing an extra 0.85 damage...


Last edited by Bad-baden-baden on Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
SERAFF
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 212
Join date : 2013-02-12

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 18:27

Let's take 2 units of Wyches. 1st one will get +1S obsession and +1A drug. the 2nd one will get +1A obsession and +1S dug. At glance they are equal, but the 2nd squad will lose +1A during enemy's turn and will lack morale test immunity.
3CP stratagem for a 2nd strike is too expensive and too situational. It's hard to imagine a situation when you charged 2 units (worth to be charged). Then you finish first squad - it sould be squishy enough to be killed by Wyches and hard enought not to be overkilled. If you overkill that unit - the stratagem will not cost these huge amount of 3 CP (and you have spent most of them for Screaming Jets). Too many prerequsits even for choosing Cult of Strife only for that stratagem. So it is an obvoius outsider here, sorry Lilith

_________________
My project log Kabal of Blow Blackberry Hammer
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   

Back to top Go down
 
Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults
Back to top 
Page 4 of 8Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: