HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
AuthorMessage
amorrowlyday
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-03-15
Location : Massachusetts

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 21:57

Yes but barring a loss of drugs a real cult list should have enough squads were that wouldn’t matter situationally tho of course.

As for the loss of +T, since drugs don’t lock in on list choice I don’t see a problem. There are already times I take movement over toughness. Until we have everything we can’t really say which is mathematically superior, and if there are exceptional cases.
Back to top Go down
the_scotsman
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 95
Join date : 2016-01-30

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 23:31

I'm not saying strength is NEVER useful on Reavers - just that it is uncommon for it to be beneficial vs the usually useful +1A.

I don't think it's a bad thing that there are benefits and drawbacks to each cult depending on your army composition preferences. That's a very good thing in my eyes.

Also, again to the double drugs Stratagem: I can see it also being useful as a defense buff. Let's say I'm against guard, and I want to use a unit of Reavers with T drugs as a distraction carnifex. I use that stratwgem and I'm T6 vs their overwatch, their melee on my turn, and the enemy melee and shooting on their turn. Pretty good value for 2cp.
Back to top Go down
Skulnbonz
Wych
avatar

Posts : 738
Join date : 2012-07-13
Location : Tampa

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 23:35

@Mppqlmd wrote:

Will birds have access to an obsession giving them +1 S and moral immunity for free ? Hmmm, probably not XD

Oh Please!
We all know the flocks will be coven and can get a 4++ save...

_________________
ATTITUDE: It is the difference between an ORDEAL and an ADVENTURE!
Back to top Go down
http://www.fantasybattles.com
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 23:44

Did anyone notice on the "Kit insights:Drukhari scourges" it says "...looking to equip your archon with a venom blade or just fancy a different style of agonizer..."
Venom blades back? Typos? ESE can confirm?

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
Archon_91
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 23:46

Mmm ... Actually this does bring into question what is going to happen to beast masters and their packs ... With these obsessions wych cults don't exactly need them ... And unless the beast master passes on his obsession to the beasts (via training the beasts based on the cult he is a part of) they aren't going to really be in a good place ...
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 23:46

@The Red King wrote:
Did anyone notice on the "Kit insights:Drukhari scourges" it says "...looking to equip your archon with a venom blade or just fancy a different style of agonizer..."
Venom blades back? Typos? ESE can confirm?

From what we know right now, it seems our Archons are going to have tonnes of customization options. The real question I have is what will the soul trap do, and will it be wargear or a relic?
Back to top Go down
FuelDrop
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1392
Join date : 2015-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 00:08

Maybe we can get a pose-able model?
Back to top Go down
Eldanesh
Slave
avatar

Posts : 12
Join date : 2017-09-27

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 00:22

I really like this preview. Buffs and points reductions everywhere, and the stratagems are awesome. That hyperstimm backlash especially seems delicious.
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2012-10-21
Location : Los Angeles

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 00:30

Hyperstimm is like Admech's canticles is tricky because it must be used at the start of the battle round.  So if you go second you have to preplan and thats a lot for 3CP  because that unit may be dead by the end of player turn. Really good defensively though for reavers making them T5/T6.


Last edited by shadowseercB on Fri Mar 30 2018, 01:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 00:38

@The Red King wrote:
Did anyone notice on the "Kit insights:Drukhari scourges" it says "...looking to equip your archon with a venom blade or just fancy a different style of agonizer..."
Venom blades back? Typos? ESE can confirm?

I'm almost afraid to say it, because frankly it sounds too good to be true.

However, I saw someone suggest a while back that GW could get around the lack of models by letting us use models for existing kits as HQs. In this case, a Scourge-Archon would give us options for a Venom Blade and Wings. I seem to recall hearing that they did something like this for another army.

On the one hand I'm hopeful, because there seems to be a lot of nice stuff in the book, but on the other hand my natural incredulity makes me inclined to not believe it.

All I'll say is that if this is actually true, I will not say another word against the DE codex.
Back to top Go down
Sarkesian
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 222
Join date : 2016-01-12
Location : Utah

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 01:28

The Harlequin Troupe Master is a fully customizable model. They could technically do that for Archons using the unit leader upgrade models.
Back to top Go down
Ubernoob1
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 150
Join date : 2013-04-20
Location : Newport News, Virginia

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 01:29

@The Shredder wrote:
@The Red King wrote:
Did anyone notice on the "Kit insights:Drukhari scourges" it says "...looking to equip your archon with a venom blade or just fancy a different style of agonizer..."
Venom blades back? Typos? ESE can confirm?

I'm almost afraid to say it, because frankly it sounds too good to be true.

However, I saw someone suggest a while back that GW could get around the lack of models by letting us use models for existing kits as HQs. In this case, a Scourge-Archon would give us options for a Venom Blade and Wings. I seem to recall hearing that they did something like this for another army.

On the one hand I'm hopeful, because there seems to be a lot of nice stuff in the book, but on the other hand my natural incredulity makes me inclined to not believe it.

All I'll say is that if this is actually true, I will not say another word against the DE codex.

Well isn't this the idea with devastators and tacticals? At least one of not both of those kits are missing wargear that they have access to (certainly the squad leader options...) but because a gun exists SOMEWHERE in thespace marine line, it's okay.

Plus the idea of HQs so badly is silly when the autarch was pretty much the first and only example of that. Sure, the new primaris marine characters have limited if any options but show me the captain kits with all of the options a captain can get...
Back to top Go down
SushiBoy013
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 254
Join date : 2017-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 01:29

@Sarkesian wrote:
The Harlequin Troupe Master is a fully customizable model. They could technically do that for Archons using the unit leader upgrade models.

This.

_________________
Kabal of the Killing Moon
Back to top Go down
Red Corsair
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 125
Join date : 2012-08-30
Location : Maine

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 02:58

@shadowseercB wrote:
Hyperstimm is like Admech's canticles is tricky because it must be used at the start of the battle round.  So if you go second you have to preplan and thats a lot for 3CP  because that unit may be dead by the end of player turn.  Really good defensively though for reavers making them T5/T6.

It's only two CP and I don't care about risk so much when I can get hellions with S5 and then hyper stim them to +2 attacks... A unit of 20 dishing out 81 S5 D2 attacks won't always work, but when it does, dear God will it be glorious.
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 07:31

If you go red grief, you can't have s5 hellions with extra attacks. That's why this stratagem sucks. It's a temporary boost that you pay for, when other obsession give you the same boosts for free and forever.

Sent from Topic'it App

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 08:05

My bad, I though the drug stratagem was red grief exclusive, but it isn't.

Sent from Topic'it App

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1041
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 08:54

Hellions the masters of suicide strikes make a prime target for the double drug, since they are probably dead after the charge anyway (although a unit of hellions charging in with 2 s7 2d attacks each also sounds quite nice, the 4s5 attacks will always be better)
Although the red grief is so tempting as well... I like my speed and having another unit that can do turn 1 charges is really nice.

I must say I am really looking forward to the codex, it seems cult is finally become the glas hammer it was supposed to be.
Back to top Go down
Devilogical
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 440
Join date : 2013-09-25
Location : Russia!!!

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 10:10

Wych cults obsessions seems to be a bit lazy to me.

The ones from kabal is neat, and from haemies are... meh. Their fine, probably.
But this '+1 str/atack' is just lazy. But it possible that Red grief obsession could be the thing. Clowns rising crescendo is realy powerfull.

It depends on what our PfP and drugs chart will be now.

_________________
`We faced a Dysjunction... we were betrayed, destroyed, ashamed, hunted... Now look who is been risen from the ashes...`

Succubus Ariel the Vengefull of the Wych cult Blade Denied to her sister, archon Elieae after the conquering Low Commoragh Dark spire.
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1041
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 11:17

I think while the bonus on cult might read lazy it is actually quite a choice now. you really have to choose which unit you want to focus on since they all benefit others more.

Also 20 wyches with 3 attacks s4 and no morale problems for 160 points, ad in the 2cp for having t5 in a first turn against a marine army, ooh yes, I like that. Very Happy
If you do go first you might wish to use it on the 20 hellions with +1 attack drug for 20 s4/5 d2 bonus attacks on your turn +another bunch of attacks from no method of death beyond our grasp/fighting in the enemy turn. But the biggest advantage might be to get those 2 inch extra move to reach an objective/charge you need to win the game.


Back to top Go down
Devilogical
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 440
Join date : 2013-09-25
Location : Russia!!!

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 11:35

I like cursed blade trait too.
Btw, whych coven, kabal, cult they should have included in this list?

I will play my Blade Denied with cursed blade trait, if we will have the ability to charge after advance without taking Red Grief trait. Overwise - Red grief. Maybe it`s lazy, but still overpower Smile

_________________
`We faced a Dysjunction... we were betrayed, destroyed, ashamed, hunted... Now look who is been risen from the ashes...`

Succubus Ariel the Vengefull of the Wych cult Blade Denied to her sister, archon Elieae after the conquering Low Commoragh Dark spire.
Back to top Go down
Dr.Morbid
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2018-01-20
Location : Northern Commorragh

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 12:22

I guess the Phial Bouquet seems to me like an artifact where you can chosse a different drug every turn or so.

_________________
Your life shall end as it began; bathed in blood!
Back to top Go down
Imateria
Wych
avatar

Posts : 510
Join date : 2016-02-06
Location : Birmingham

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 12:28

@Devilogical wrote:
I like cursed blade trait too.
Btw, whych coven, kabal, cult they should have included in this list?

I will play my Blade Denied with cursed blade trait, if we will have the ability to charge after advance without taking Red Grief trait. Overwise - Red grief. Maybe it`s lazy, but still overpower Smile
I'm surprised we didn't see The Hex as one of the Covens. As for Cults, I'm not surprised at the 3 they chose, they're pretty much the only ones with any real fluff for them.
Back to top Go down
Dr.Morbid
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2018-01-20
Location : Northern Commorragh

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 12:42

Well th egood thing with stratagems is, that you can use them when you think it is most viable, so it is to me a more useless discussion which SG is better or not. It just gives options for specific situations.

_________________
Your life shall end as it began; bathed in blood!
Back to top Go down
Dark-Lord-101
Slave
avatar

Posts : 22
Join date : 2014-09-29
Location : Milan, Italy

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Fri Mar 30 2018, 12:53

I think i'll go with run+charge Obsession, T2 charge with raider and wyches (and the raider benefits from the Obsession, so it will surely charge Razz ), some reavers and tons of hellions Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Khalyxidae hybristoma
Hellion


Posts : 36
Join date : 2012-08-13

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Sat Mar 31 2018, 05:40

I was kind of surprised we didn't see the blade denied - seemed like a real softball for like an attack negation kind of obsession. Would have been nice to see the Hex or the Ebon Sting among covens, but then again, i would have liked to see the Bleaksoul Brethren in Kabals, so
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   

Back to top Go down
 
Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults
Back to top 
Page 7 of 8Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: