HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
AuthorMessage
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:08

https://www.warhammer-community.com/2018/03/29/codex-drukhari-preview-wych-cultsgw-homepage-post-3/

Initial thoughts:
Wychs going to 8 points and 2 attacks base each is good.
They also get a 6++ save against shooting!
Combat drug effects can be doubled with a stratagem, nice.


Last edited by Burnage on Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:11; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
clively
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 297
Join date : 2013-03-19

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:09

31 attacks, 80 points for a unit of 10?  nice..  ability to give them +1S .. even better; and they finally have at least a minor save vs shooting.

Oh, and the Traitor's Embrace is just evil. *snicker*

and the coup de grâce - first turn charge by reavers  cheers  bounce

All the leaks thus far have me drooling.

_________________
Kabal of the Green Hair


Last edited by clively on Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:14; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:10

6++ against shooting - well it's better than nothing I suppose!

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:12

Definitely some nice little benefits - Definitely brings wyches up into the realm of playability!
Back to top Go down
Mikoneo
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 173
Join date : 2016-12-31

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:13

Looks fairly good. Rerolling failed charges seems pointless to me though given PfP allows us to do this anyway
Back to top Go down
Saldiven
Slave
avatar

Posts : 10
Join date : 2018-03-28

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:13

Right off the bat:

"If the new Drukhari codex does anything, it makes Wyches more awesome. You’ll be able to benefit from a reduced points cost AND an extra Attack – pretty nifty, eh?"
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:13

The big question is what are we liking the most right now?
Personally I think the advance and charge is the best if you're not going heavy into Wych cults. It's perfect for a nice splash of bikes.
Back to top Go down
mrdanielsir
Slave
avatar

Posts : 22
Join date : 2018-02-10
Location : Biel-Tanigh

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:15

@Mikoneo wrote:
Looks fairly good. Rerolling failed charges seems pointless to me though given PfP allows us to do this anyway

It has some benefits- turn one charges with reavers. It also helps raiders and venoms charge if you want to soak up overwatch!
Back to top Go down
DingK
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 300
Join date : 2013-03-31

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:15

Hellions of the Red Grief can move, advance and charge turn after turn after turn. Assuming they live that long, of course.

No idea on Combat Drugs yet, although they're mentioned so still in place.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:18

@Bad-baden-baden wrote:
The big question is what are we liking the most right now?
Personally I think the advance and charge is the best if you're not going heavy into Wych cults. It's perfect for a nice splash of bikes.

I think Cursed Blade for Wyches and Hellions will be my preference, with Red Grief for Reavers. Assuming we've got a cheapish Wych HQ it should be pretty easy to run both a Patrol and an Outrider detachment to set both up.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:19

8ppm, so 1 pt less with +1 attack? Thats a very good start.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Saldiven
Slave
avatar

Posts : 10
Join date : 2018-03-28

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:20

Bleh. The +1 attack Obsession is only if you charge, were charged, or made Heroic Intervention. It's not a flat bonus.
Back to top Go down
TheBaconPope
Wych
avatar

Posts : 659
Join date : 2017-03-10

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:20

Quote :

Looks fairly good. Rerolling failed charges seems pointless to me though given PfP allows us to do this anyway

For alpha strike it's amazing. Advance + Charge + Reroll Charge on first turn gives a serious threat to front line defenders. Now whether or not the units will have the oomph to back it up is up for debate

_________________
"Death solves all problems. No man, no problem."
Back to top Go down
Guter
Slave
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2018-03-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:22

Hi there, it's my first post on this forum Smile

Reavers got +2" move!


Last edited by Guter on Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:23

Do we know whether Traitor's Embrace is a Relic or a Warlord Trait?

@Bad-baden-baden wrote:
The big question is what are we liking the most right now?

Cult of the Cursed Blade looks the best to me at the moment. I think it's a little better than the +1A from Cult of Stryfe. And the extra speed from Cult of Red Grief isn't worth much if they're ineffectual when they actually get to combat.

Not sure hoe useful it will be, but Hyperstim Backlash is certainly amusing and I appreciate the flavour.

No Method of Death Beyond our Grasp seems very expensive in terms of CP. Not sure we have anything in Cult that has melee/firepower worthy of 3CP. Might depend on what else changes, though, and it's nice to at least have the option.

@Bad-baden-baden wrote:

Personally I think the advance and charge is the best if you're not going heavy into Wych cults. It's perfect for a nice splash of bikes.

I'm not so sure. Currently, one of the biggest problems with bikes is that they hit like a wet blanket. Given that they're already fast, they might well benefit more from one of the more offensive traits.
Back to top Go down
Caldera02
Slave
avatar

Posts : 19
Join date : 2014-12-01
Location : Austin, Tx

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:23

I wonder if reavers will maintain the same number of attacks or also get a bump? Their weapon options also will be important to know.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:24

I do like the idea of 18+*+charge units, but, did they change their rules and points? is it stilla crapp melee unit that cost 30pts?

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Caldera02
Slave
avatar

Posts : 19
Join date : 2014-12-01
Location : Austin, Tx

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:24

Shredder: I'm almost sure it's a relic based on the wording.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:25

Well the love for DE continues, this is a solid set of traits. The +1 strength trait in particular is good, can't believe they get the moral rule on top of getting +1 strength. Pretty big benefit just from one trait. If reavers get the pts decrease they deserve though, I'm definetly leaning towards red grief. Turn one charge for reavers will be pretty easily in the realm of possibility, and that will definetly buff hellions as well.

Stratagems both look good, but definetly not cheap in cps. The double drugs things in particular would be nice if you knew a unit wasn't going to survive much longer and wanted a little extra punch.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
merse24
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 213
Join date : 2014-06-14
Location : Texas

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:26

So base unit of 10 wyches with S3, 3A.

Cult of Cursed Blade:
S4, add combat drug makes it S5 (assuming that drug is still avail). Use strategem and you are now getting 31, S6 attacks.


Cult of Strife:
4 attacks base. add in combat drug to make it 5 attacks, and you can use strategem to make it 6.

Or you could some combination of the 2. Pretty awesome.
Back to top Go down
TheBaconPope
Wych
avatar

Posts : 659
Join date : 2017-03-10

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:26

Anyone thinking how well Red Grief would synergize with Raiders if they got Aethersails back? Rerolling charges may be useless on infantry, but for our metal over watch sponges, they're pretty good. If aethersails give a flat 8" advance, we'll be looking at 22-24" movement plus a nearly assured charge. If you're having 4-5 Raiders all do that...

_________________
"Death solves all problems. No man, no problem."
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:27

@The Shredder wrote:
Do we know whether Traitor's Embrace is a Relic or a Warlord Trait?

@Bad-baden-baden wrote:
The big question is what are we liking the most right now?

Cult of the Cursed Blade looks the best to me at the moment. I think it's a little better than the +1A from Cult of Stryfe. And the extra speed from Cult of Red Grief isn't worth much if they're ineffectual when they actually get to combat.

Not sure hoe useful it will be, but Hyperstim Backlash is certainly amusing and I appreciate the flavour.

No Method of Death Beyond our Grasp seems very expensive in terms of CP. Not sure we have anything in Cult that has melee/firepower worthy of 3CP. Might depend on what else changes, though, and it's nice to at least have the option.

@Bad-baden-baden wrote:

Personally I think the advance and charge is the best if you're not going heavy into Wych cults. It's perfect for a nice splash of bikes.

I'm not so sure. Currently, one of the biggest problems with bikes is that they hit like a wet blanket. Given that they're already fast, they might well benefit more from one of the more offensive traits.

Personally it comes down to stratagems for me - I don't really plan on bringing more than a unit (max 2) of wyches as is, so I agree about the +1 S trait... drop the +1 A drug on those wyches and things are actually looking pretty dang good for an 8 point model. That unit of wyches could actually go toe-to-toe with genestealers/orks point for point!
I'm curious as to what our special weapon changes across the board will be (if there are any). So far they haven't touched on any weapon changes outside the blaster/blast pistol. Points drops as well - I'm hoping our transports go down a smidge.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:29

@TheBaconPope wrote:
Anyone thinking how well Red Grief would synergize with Raiders if they got Aethersails back? Rerolling charges may be useless on infantry, but for our metal over watch sponges, they're pretty good. If aethersails give a flat 8" advance, we'll be looking at 22-24" movement plus a nearly assured charge. If you're having 4-5 Raiders all do that...

This is something that has me a bit cautious about these previews. A lot of the reveals look really good... if other stuff gets buffed. Getting bonus command points for running lots of patrols is great if our HQs start being worth fielding. Reavers charging first turn is great if they're worth putting in combat. Etc., etc.

I'm still hyped but exactly how well our Codex comes together is going to depend on a lot of moving parts.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:30

I have to say, especially with the encouragement to use 3 Warlords, I kinda want to have a suicide-Succubus with the Traitor's Embrace leading a squad of Reavers. Twisted Evil

Of course, as usual, this is contingent on HQs having access to jetbikes or wings or something.
Back to top Go down
Bad-baden-baden
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2017-06-01
Location : Montreal

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   Thu Mar 29 2018, 15:32

@The Shredder wrote:
I have to say, especially with the encouragement to use 3 Warlords, I kinda want to have a suicide-Succubus leading a squad of Reavers. Twisted Evil

Of course, as usual, this is contingent on HQs having access to jetbikes or wings or something.

Suicide succubus would actually be a really legitimate tactic, especially since they said she's getting a marked points decrease. Even without a jetbike, throw her into any decently valued unit and you're going to do some damage... Or even better into the big combat characters of other factions!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults   

Back to top Go down
 
Codex Drukhari Preview: Wych Cults
Back to top 
Page 1 of 8Go to page : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: