HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Shooting your own unit

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Fremen
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 42
Join date : 2016-08-18

PostSubject: Shooting your own unit   Thu Mar 29 2018, 11:58

As in the topic. Is it written anywhere, that i can not target my own unit in shooting phase? For me it is no clear enough...

_________________
Mood? What has mood to do with it? You fight when the necessity arises — no matter the mood! Mood's a thing for cattle or making love or playing the baliset. It's not for fighting.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7192
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Shooting your own unit   Thu Mar 29 2018, 12:18

No you can't but I can see why you might attempt to argue otherwise and it really could be written better.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Shooting your own unit   Fri Mar 30 2018, 08:01

I'd assume you're asking about this:

"Having chosen a shooting unit, you must
pick the target unit, or units, for the
attacks. In order to target an enemy unit,
a model from that unit must be within
the Range of the weapon being used (as
listed on its profile) and be visible to the
shooting model. "

Taken from the Battle Primer pdf. Technically it doesn't say anything about targeting your own units, if anything I'd expect the Big Rule Book or an FAQ to manage that, since Ynnari would be hilariously good otherwise.

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1041
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Shooting your own unit   Fri Mar 30 2018, 09:01

Is it not a rule that when nothing is mentioned it is not possible?

Although I can see people arguing otherwise in this case.
Back to top Go down
Ikol
Wych
avatar

Posts : 563
Join date : 2017-03-20
Location : Perth

PostSubject: Re: Shooting your own unit   Sun Apr 01 2018, 14:20

Written as is, I could easily argue that range and line of sight are restrictions that apply when you target an enemy unit.

Meaning that your guns have infinite range and no LOS requirement if targetting a friendly unit!

_________________
This world exists because of the things we have done, forever branching to the decisions we make and twisting to what we do not.

”Woe to our enemies.  We'll tear them apart regardless.” ~Barrywise
Back to top Go down
Stea1k
Slave
avatar

Posts : 9
Join date : 2017-11-13

PostSubject: Re: Shooting your own unit   Wed Apr 04 2018, 15:08

There is no rule that, by RAW, explicitly prevents a player from shooting their own units aside from their own characters (must be the closes visible ENEMY unit, p. 179 CR). Additionally, while you cannot charge your own units, you can fight them if both are within fighting range of the same enemy unit.

If there is a rule or FAQ I have missed, please tell me.

I feel like the utilization would be very situational, but i guess you could have the Ynnari HQ's start eating aeldari if they were low enough in wounds, kill your own units to deny an opponent points, use 5-man wych/kabalite squads to fuel Strength from death, or force a morale test on your own kabalites of the obsidian rose to fire more darklance/blaster shots with "failure is not an option".

_________________
"The law of very large numbers: Given enough attempts, anything can happen."

"If brute force isn't working, your'e not using enough of it."
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Shooting your own unit   

Back to top Go down
 
Shooting your own unit
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: