HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
AuthorMessage
Archon_91
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:02

Did anyone else catch that blip at the end about destroying tanks from afar with haywire blasters while the tank is surrounded by wracks? That could mean they are in for a boost to the haywire blaster ... Also because of the administor punishment stratagem ... We could see a basic ranged weapon choice for our coven or an increase in the amount of ranged weapons a basic coven unit is allowed to take.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:03

@eae wrote:
Do we need to reserve points for Black Cornucopians stratagem?

Nope, you're not bringing on a new unit, just reploying and existing one at full strength. CSM has the same stratagem for chaos cultists. It can be a bit tricky to pull off though since the unit needs to not die, but it will definetly be easier for+4 invul wracks than chaos cultists.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Pain Engine
Hellion


Posts : 72
Join date : 2017-09-30
Location : Stockholm

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:04

Hm. Vehicles get obsessions, right? So a venom would inflict -1 leadership with Distillers of Fear? I'm pretty sure units in vehicles don't get the aura, but by disembarking a haemy and a unit of wracks/grots from a raider and charging with everything you instantly reach the cap. A passing archon or unit of kabalites can fire with their phantasm grenade, too, adding another easy -1 ld.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:05

Yeah vehicles will count, only coven trait that actually benefits vehicles at least a little.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:06

Also, this gives you access to venom with ap-1. Pretty sweet if you ask me.

Or Raiders with the sniper keyword.

Sent from Topic'it App

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:07

It's only extra ap for melee weapons though, not terribly useful on venoms/raiders.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 735
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:08

@Dark Elf Dave wrote:
So it is -1 per Dark Creed unit within 6 inches so you gotta do some work on that.  Hit it with PGL for additional -1 if that's allowed to stack.  Kill the warlord and use the strategem for -1 across whole army.

-5 LD maybe....

Add in a Hemlock with Horror for -3 leadership.
Add in a Harlequin character wearing the Mask of Secrets for another -1 leadership.
Add in a Farseer casting Mind War.

Boom.
Back to top Go down
Silverglade
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 404
Join date : 2012-12-30

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:09

@Crazy_Ivan wrote:
I'm stoked, really excited to see how they play, having a few pain engines come out of the webway to heat lance a HQ is brilliant.

oooooh. I hadn't thought of WWP for my pain engines (not sure why)! That could be a rather effective way to use them.
Back to top Go down
Dizzie
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 104
Join date : 2012-11-10

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:09

@Lord Asvaldir wrote:
It's only extra ap for melee weapons though, not terribly useful on venoms/raiders.

Actually its quite good on raiders and venoms, remember our vehicles can actually fight and tarpit in HTH, they are not winning any fights but can support and do enough damage, the -1 is still quite valid for them.
Back to top Go down
Pain Engine
Hellion


Posts : 72
Join date : 2017-09-30
Location : Stockholm

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:09

Just wait till they show us the Talos. They haven't improved the AP, but since you can give it another -1 for a total of -2, it's balanced right? Razz

But yeah, buffs to vehicles are neat. It would be fun to snipe hq's with dark lances, if a bit on the extremely pricy side.
Back to top Go down
Pain Engine
Hellion


Posts : 72
Join date : 2017-09-30
Location : Stockholm

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:11

@Silverglade wrote:
@Crazy_Ivan wrote:
I'm stoked, really excited to see how they play, having a few pain engines come out of the webway to heat lance a HQ is brilliant.

oooooh.   I hadn't thought of WWP for my pain engines (not sure why)!   That could be a rather effective way to use them.

Wait, how? The stratagem from the index can't be used on monsters, right? Have I missed something?
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:12

It's a gamble, but s8, ap-4, d6 sniper truly is something.

Sent from Topic'it App

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Wych
avatar

Posts : 508
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:12

For me the Dark Creed and Prophets Of Flesh are very fun ideas for me.

Something that struck me is that we have already been given a few ways of targeting characters. This could be used to target Psykers that we always feel we have little defense against. It is a nice way to give us a way of targeting a problem unit but in our own way.
Back to top Go down
Archon_91
Wych
avatar

Posts : 521
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:13

Ok so the dark Creed can actually inflict -4 leadership on the enemy, (turn 5 pfp is -1 leadership buff aura) plus Phantasm and then Pray they don't take you alive for a max debuff of -6ld. We don't know if there are relica that might subtract even more leadership but it seems like with a fair bit of cherry picking we can get it to where units will hit 0 leadership.
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:13

And the heat lance has a lousy profile for vehicles, but an excellent profile for hqs Smile

Sent from Topic'it App

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:16

Is there a rule about 0 characteristic units? In 7th if your leadership toughness were 0 you were removed as a casualty I believe. Could you imagine. A 40 man cultist blob that's so strong right now just evaporating? The look on your opponents face as you explain what just happened...

-7 is possible from turn 1 with allies and luck. 3 dark creed units. Phantasm grenade launcher. Pray (tantalus snipe their warlord). And a hemlock. Oh. -8. Horrify from said hemlock. 9 if you drop an obsidian rose archon with the armour of misery as Well or was that something else? 10 if you include a harlequins with the mask of secrets.

On turn 1


Last edited by The Red King on Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:21; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Wych
avatar

Posts : 508
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:17

@Mppqlmd wrote:
And the heat lance has a lousy profile for vehicles, but an excellent profile for hqs Smile

Sent from Topic'it App

When the index broke I initially thought I would use Reavers with Heat Lances to hunt characters...this is much better!
Back to top Go down
Dalamar
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 175
Join date : 2012-02-28
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:19

I wonder what changes will be made to Urien? Right now he doesn't have the "Insensible to pain" rule because they made the "Cone Field" a 4++. He cannot benefit from his Coven's rule Sad I hope they change the Cone Field to 4+++ or 5+++, and give him "Insensible to pain".

He would then be; T6, 5W, 4++, 5+++, re-roll all failed saves of attacks < S9. That would be a tough kill.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:22

@Dalamar wrote:
I wonder what changes will be made to Urien?  Right now he doesn't have the "Insensible to pain" rule because they made the "Cone Field" a 4++.  He cannot benefit from his Coven's rule Sad  I hope they change the Cone Field to 4+++ or 5+++, and give him "Insensible to pain".  

He would then be; T6, 5W, 4++, 5+++, re-roll all failed saves of attacks < S9. That would be a tough kill.

It would also be nice if his weapons weren't salvaged from a dumpster-fire.
Back to top Go down
Dalamar
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 175
Join date : 2012-02-28
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:26

@The Shredder wrote:
@Dalamar wrote:
I wonder what changes will be made to Urien?  Right now he doesn't have the "Insensible to pain" rule because they made the "Cone Field" a 4++.  He cannot benefit from his Coven's rule Sad  I hope they change the Cone Field to 4+++ or 5+++, and give him "Insensible to pain".  

He would then be; T6, 5W, 4++, 5+++, re-roll all failed saves of attacks < S9. That would be a tough kill.

It would also be nice if his weapons weren't salvaged from a dumpster-fire.

Well there is that, but that is for all Coven weapons really.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:27

@Dizzie wrote:
@Lord Asvaldir wrote:
It's only extra ap for melee weapons though, not terribly useful on venoms/raiders.

Actually its quite good on raiders and venoms, remember our vehicles can actually fight and tarpit in HTH, they are not winning any fights but can support and do enough damage, the -1 is still quite valid for them.

It's definetly not quite good, we are talking about 2 s4 attacks on the venom and 3 on the raider, the extra ap really isn't going to add a whole lot of damage to their low number of attacks. Yeah it's not useless but it's nothing to write home about, especially considering it doesn't really affect their ability to tarpit much. The -1ld from a venom/raider would probably be more useful, or better yet any of the kabal traits.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Sarkesian
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 222
Join date : 2016-01-12
Location : Utah

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:30

The -1 AP is a welcome addition (or rather subtraction) for me. I've had Grotesques stuck in combat due to a Dreadnought charging in while I was already locked in combat. It was rather hard to do any damage to it. This will give even Wracks a better chance against those now.

What I'm hoping unit profiles contain are:
Wracks AP-
Grotesques AP-1
Talos/Cronos AP-2
With the -1 this would effectively make them -1, -2, -3. Fingers crossed for improved profiles!
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:34

For actual coven I completely agree, an extra point of ap is solid on assault oriented units like wracks, grotesques and talos. My point was merely that on the 2/3 s4 attack vehicles it really doesn't add a whole lot, which is perfectly fine because the coven traits should be focused on buffing the coven units, not our transports.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Skulnbonz
Wych
avatar

Posts : 738
Join date : 2012-07-13
Location : Tampa

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:42

-1 from new trait (up to -3)
-1 PGL
-1 Dont let em take you alive
-1 Turn 5+ from power from pain? Unless that has changed?

_________________
ATTITUDE: It is the difference between an ORDEAL and an ADVENTURE!
Back to top Go down
http://www.fantasybattles.com
Pain Engine
Hellion


Posts : 72
Join date : 2017-09-30
Location : Stockholm

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Wed Mar 28 2018, 16:42

@The Red King wrote:
Is there a rule about 0 characteristic units? In 7th if your leadership toughness were 0 you were removed as a casualty I believe. Could you imagine. A 40 man cultist blob that's so strong right now just evaporating? The look on your opponents face as you explain what just happened...

-7 is possible from turn 1 with allies and luck. 3 dark creed units. Phantasm grenade launcher. Pray (tantalus snipe their warlord). And a hemlock. Oh. -8. Horrify from said hemlock. 9 if you drop an obsidian rose archon with the armour of misery as Well or was that something else? 10 if you include a harlequins with the mask of secrets.

On turn 1

Fairly certain that you couldn't and still can't instagib units by reducing their ld to 0. But what happens with all these ld debuffs? If you reduce an opponent's ld to 0, kill two models and roll a 3 for morale, what happens? How many flee?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   

Back to top Go down
 
Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens
Back to top 
Page 3 of 8Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: