HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
AuthorMessage
Gorefather
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 80
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 01:53

@Imateria wrote:
If we had our old 7th ed Phantasm Grenade Launchers back where the target unit makes a Leadership check and takes a wound with no saves of any kind allowed (see, Mortal Wounds aren't an 8th ed invention) for each point they fail the test by, minus the "Space Marines always win" rule, and it could be incredibly potent. Otherwise, I'll pass.

I'm strongly willing to bet there will be an Artifact for that. Whether or not it's worth giving up one of the sweet pistols we've seen will be up for review, but I could totally see some Mind War style items popping up in the codex.
Back to top Go down
Evil Space Elves
Haemonculus Ancient
avatar

Posts : 3711
Join date : 2011-07-13
Location : Santa Cruz, ca

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 02:01

@The Shredder wrote:
@Red Corsair wrote:
BTW guys am I the only one that overlooked that in yesterdays preview screaming jets can only be used in your army if you don't use WWP? Something to consider. As written now, it's either or not both.

Nah, someone else noticed:

@The Shredder wrote:

Screaming Jets - Not sure why this is a stratagem, but whatever. Is there a reason we're not allowed to use it with WWP?

Wink

You can't play the Screaming Jets stretegem if you have used a WWP previously in the game. You can use both of you use the Screaming Jets earlier in the game, but not any turn after the WWP is played. Of course, it may have been changed and my sleep-deprived brain is mixing it up.

Don't have a kid one week before the codex your podcast is dedicated to goes on preorder Razz

_________________

"Solutions are good, how many dark eldar archons can you find sitting in their throne rooms whining that they used to rule the universe? Exactly."  -The Burning Eye
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast
My Dark Eldar Project Log
Back to top Go down
PFI
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 199
Join date : 2017-02-12

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 03:41

The real difference between webway portal and screaming jets is that webway portal is limited in use of once or twice for 3 command points. Screaming jets doesn't have that limitation and can be used as many times as you want, provided you use it on vehicles. So if you go all vehicle army, then it is better. If you want to do big blobs of kabalite warriors or beasts or something then you use webway portal, but you are limited to 2 units max.
Back to top Go down
Rhivan
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 360
Join date : 2016-04-03

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 05:11

@Lord Asvaldir wrote:
We'll see about splinter cannons, fingers crossed they get that reduction.
We can always copy the Hurricane Bolter that Imperium has and turn the Splinter Cannon to Rapid 6 for 10 points Razz
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 05:19

That would be very sweet, but also utterly ridiculous on venoms lol. 24 rapid fire shots, there basically wouldn't be a point to even bothering with passengers anymore. I'll be at least somewhat content if the cannon goes down to 10pts even with its current stats.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1041
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 07:24

I think with these rules wracks don't need much more (grots probably do), the talk about 9 point wracks seems a bit over the top to me.
9 points for a model with t5 and 4++ 6+++ seems really really good to me.
Also the black curnopicans is great, not because you will use it, it is good because you probably won't. The enemy has to kill a unit completely if you have those 2 points left or run the risk that it will just come back. Just march them on the field, either he does not target them and you get them in CC where you want them to be, or he does target them and has to waste a lot of shooting (nearly 11 bolter shots to kill 1 wrack: 162 shots to wipe a 15 man unit) and if he does not finish the job, you just revive them for a few command points. You force your opponent to either ignore or wipe the unit because of the stratagem, that is the real power in my mind.

Did anyone notice they talked about destroying a tank with haywire in a coven army. This probably means someone either get's the option to field additional haywire or the haywire get's boosted or talos can be fielded in units. Since right now you only get an average of 0.67 mortal wounds from a haywire equipped talos, not nearly enough to destroy any tank even if shooting the complete battle at it.
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4015
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 09:26

Coven stuff is looking good. Loving that 4++. Smile

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Imateria
Wych
avatar

Posts : 510
Join date : 2016-02-06
Location : Birmingham

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 12:27

@Gorefather wrote:
@Imateria wrote:
If we had our old 7th ed Phantasm Grenade Launchers back where the target unit makes a Leadership check and takes a wound with no saves of any kind allowed (see, Mortal Wounds aren't an 8th ed invention) for each point they fail the test by, minus the "Space Marines always win" rule, and it could be incredibly potent. Otherwise, I'll pass.

I'm strongly willing to bet there will be an Artifact for that. Whether or not it's worth giving up one of the sweet pistols we've seen will be up for review, but I could totally see some Mind War style items popping up in the codex.
I hope not, for the Dark Creed need more than just a single relic (probably the Orbs of Despair) to work. You're probably right though.
Back to top Go down
Imateria
Wych
avatar

Posts : 510
Join date : 2016-02-06
Location : Birmingham

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 12:30

@|Meavar wrote:
I think with these rules wracks don't need much more (grots probably do), the talk about 9 point wracks seems a bit over the top to me.
9 points for a model with t5 and 4++ 6+++ seems really really good to me.
Also the black curnopicans is great, not because you will use it, it is good because you probably won't. The enemy has to kill a unit completely if you have those 2 points left or run the risk that it will just come back. Just march them on the field, either he does not target them and you get them in CC where you want them to be, or he does target them and has to waste a lot of shooting (nearly 11 bolter shots to kill 1 wrack: 162 shots to wipe a 15 man unit) and if he does not finish the job, you just revive them for a few command points. You force your opponent to either ignore or wipe the unit because of the stratagem, that is the real power in my mind.

Did anyone notice they talked about destroying a tank with haywire in a coven army. This probably means someone either get's the option to field additional haywire or the haywire get's boosted or talos can be fielded in units. Since right now you only get an average of 0.67 mortal wounds from a haywire equipped talos, not nearly enough to destroy any tank even if shooting the complete battle at it.
Your paying for T4 on the Wracks, not T5. That comes from the Haemonculus who pays for his ability himself. At that point, a T4, 4++, 6+++ 1 wound, 1 attack close combat unit is actually quite reasonable at 9ppm.

Talos can already be taken in squads of up to 3. And I suspect thats more a case of GW continuing to overestimat the value of Haywire this edition. Remember, it being completely useless is not a problem limited to just our codex. Could also be a refference to the fact there's nothing stopping you from taking a squad of Scourges with 4 Haywire Blasters (other than comman sense given the poor weapon).
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3253
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   Thu Mar 29 2018, 12:40

Wracks are 2 attacks Smile well currently

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens   

Back to top Go down
 
Codex: Drukhari Preview: Haemonculus Covens
Back to top 
Page 8 of 8Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: