HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10 ... 16  Next
AuthorMessage
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:04

@PartZebra wrote:
@Mppqlmd wrote:
That's true, we often forget about the court. Those are Kabals, and are very much CC-oriented.

Only downside there being that if you want the Court in a Patrol, you can only take two of them. Two Sslyth may not have quite the punch we want in this instance. Of course, if you're NOT doing a Patrol detachment...

No you can take 8 ssylths in a patrol- 2 courts of 4 ssylths if you're taking 2 archons in your patrol detachment. Not something I think you'd want to do often, but the choice is there. And I see no reason why the court rules would change.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
FrankyMcShanky
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 93
Join date : 2017-07-02

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:05

I bet ESE is watching this thread from the shadows and cackling maliciously.
Back to top Go down
Dalamar
Kabalite Warrior


Posts : 175
Join date : 2012-02-28
Location : Chicago

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:06

@PartZebra wrote:
@Mppqlmd wrote:
That's true, we often forget about the court. Those are Kabals, and are very much CC-oriented.

Only downside there being that if you want the Court in a Patrol, you can only take two of them. Two Sslyth may not have quite the punch we want in this instance. Of course, if you're NOT doing a Patrol detachment...

What if they still don't take a slot if in a detachment with an Archon. 4 court + 1 archon + 1 troop = 1 Patrol.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:07

@FrankyMcShanky wrote:
I bet ESE is watching this thread from the shadows and cackling maliciously.  

Oh you know he is and must be torture.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
PartZebra
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 142
Join date : 2017-06-28
Location : Lincolnshire

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:07

@Lord Asvaldir wrote:
@PartZebra wrote:
@Mppqlmd wrote:
That's true, we often forget about the court. Those are Kabals, and are very much CC-oriented.

Only downside there being that if you want the Court in a Patrol, you can only take two of them. Two Sslyth may not have quite the punch we want in this instance. Of course, if you're NOT doing a Patrol detachment...

No you can take 8 ssylths in a patrol- 2 courts of 4 ssylths if you're taking 2 archons in your patrol detachment. Not something I think you'd want to do often, but the choice is there. And I see no reason why the court rules would change.

Yeah, you're totally right! I'm just being very very dumb. I can't believe I've been using them as individual elite slots this whole time -____-

_________________
Traverse the Webway with us! https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:07

The difference between ESE and FLG is he isn't coming in to condescend to everyone for not "being as smart as him" which here means, anyone who wasnt a playtester.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:09

@The Red King wrote:
The difference between ESE and FLG is he isn't coming in to condescend to everyone for not "being as smart as him" which here means, anyone who wasnt a playtester.


I dont mind them as much as... another company that literally said "this person on TheDarkCity said this unit is bad and i here to say it is good" then call him out of it (knoew he was going to a tournament) and asked him to show me, he then didnt play DE at all LOL.

At least it wasnt that.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
TeenageAngst
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1774
Join date : 2016-08-29

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:10

He still hasn't criticized anything though. ESE can do what he wants, his opinion is irrelevant.

_________________
Really terrible videos about tiny plastic space elfs intended to help you get gud scrub:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZP8WGIhte5TmCWQXsZO4A

Flawless pieces of literary perfection:
https://www.fanfiction.net/u/2805979/
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:10

@Imateria wrote:
@Mppqlmd wrote:
@Dark-Lord-101 wrote:


And the members of the archon's court that don't have PfP Twisted Evil

That's true, we often forget about the court. Those are Kabals, and are very much CC-oriented.
Except those units don't have PfP, so can never benefit from any boost to that special rule. No reroll charges, no +1 to WS. They will at least gain a 6+++, which is something at least. Unless this has been changed it's doubly annoying as the Court is the only real source of CC for Kabals.

Lhaememeanemans (never has the slightest clue about how to write that thing) do have PfP.

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:11

@Mppqlmd wrote:
@Imateria wrote:
@Mppqlmd wrote:
@Dark-Lord-101 wrote:


And the members of the archon's court that don't have PfP Twisted Evil

That's true, we often forget about the court. Those are Kabals, and are very much CC-oriented.
Except those units don't have PfP, so can never benefit from any boost to that special rule. No reroll charges, no +1 to WS. They will at least gain a 6+++, which is something at least. Unless this has been changed it's doubly annoying as the Court is the only real source of CC for Kabals.

Lhaememeanemans (never has the slightest clue about how to write that thing) do have PfP.

And Medusae if that matters.

Edit: I remember the spelling as "lame way to spell mean" Lhamaean

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points


Last edited by amishprn86 on Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:13; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
TheBaconPope
Wych
avatar

Posts : 659
Join date : 2017-03-10

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:12

Quote :
I dont mind them as much as... another company that literally said "this person on TheDarkCity said this unit is bad and i here to say it is good" then call him out of it (knoew he was going to a tournament) and asked him to show me, he then didnt play DE at all LOL.

At least it wasnt that.

Obviously, had he played DE he would've just curb stomped everyone in his path. Not playing that game breakingly good unit was more for the sake of other players. /s

_________________
"Death solves all problems. No man, no problem."
Back to top Go down
Amornar
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 165
Join date : 2014-06-20
Location : Northern New York

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:13

I know a few people have mentioned scourges with blasters but I’m excited by the idea of Obsidian Rose trueborn with blasters. Four 24 inch range D6 damage blasters not to mention vehicle movement range extensions? Yes please! Not to mention being able to actually keep ravagers in the backfield instead of the midfield closer to charges and all the other options for extensions of that range could be a huge game changer for a lot of units.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:14

@FrankyMcShanky wrote:
I bet ESE is watching this thread from the shadows and cackling maliciously.  

I like to imagine that whenever someone on The Dark City makes an incorrect assumption/prediction about the new codex (usually me), he writes it down in a little, black book.

When the codex is released and he's finally allowed to talk about it, he'll unleash a 6-page rant where he corrects every single mistake anyone made.

With any luck, I'll be worth at least 3 pages by now. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:14

Obsidian Rose : Not to mention that if will work on Shredders. If they are buffed, it's pretty huge.
Quote :


With any luck, I'll be worth at least 3 pages by now.

He's down to page 62. He's writing a book bigger than the codex itself.

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
PartZebra
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 142
Join date : 2017-06-28
Location : Lincolnshire

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:15

@The Shredder wrote:
@FrankyMcShanky wrote:
I bet ESE is watching this thread from the shadows and cackling maliciously.  

I like to imagine that whenever someone on The Dark City makes an incorrect assumption/prediction about the new codex (usually me), he writes it down in a little, black book.

When the codex is released and he's finally allowed to talk about it, he'll unleash a 6-page rant where he corrects every single mistake anyone made.

With any luck, I'll be worth at least 3 pages by now. Very Happy  

Oh that would be glorious. I wouldn't mind the auditory version on the podcast either Razz

_________________
Traverse the Webway with us! https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
Dark-Lord-101
Slave
avatar

Posts : 22
Join date : 2014-09-29
Location : Milan, Italy

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:17

I just have one dream.... usefull shredders. If gw finds a way to make them usefull, then this will be the best DE codex ever for me. I love shredder's concept, it's just that cruel and vicious as all the drukharii weapons should be (fluff-wise)
Back to top Go down
FrankyMcShanky
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 93
Join date : 2017-07-02

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:21

@Dark-Lord-101 wrote:
I just have one dream.... usefull shredders. If gw finds a way to make them usefull, then this will be the best DE codex ever for me. I love shredder's concept, it's just that cruel and vicious as all the drukharii weapons should be (fluff-wise)

I would love an assault 3 or d6 shredder. We need something for IG infantry bad.
Back to top Go down
Hen Tai, the tentacle guy
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 385
Join date : 2016-12-13
Location : Norway

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:23

Flayed skulls and venomspam sounds cool. 19" movement, rerolling 1s to hit, while ignoring cover is reeally tempting.

_________________
A Sybarite is never sybawrong...
I have a project log. http://www.thedarkcity.net/t14639-kabal-coven-wych-cult-and-harlequinsyyy
Back to top Go down
Amornar
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 165
Join date : 2014-06-20
Location : Northern New York

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:25

18 inch shredders would pair nicely with 30 inch rapid fire splinter rifles too....
Back to top Go down
Colonel Cabbage
Hellion


Posts : 40
Join date : 2018-02-14

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:25

@amishprn86 wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
@PartZebra wrote:
That does mean that I suddenly regret putting DLs on my Scourges though! Razz

I have one unit with Haywires and one with Blasters. Fingers crossed for decent Haywire rules!


I have 4 boxes, so i made 1 of each lol.

I have 6 boxes... Embarassed

1 haywire, 1 HL. 2 DL, and 2 SC. Hopefully they all have roles now.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:29

Staying at 8pts and going up to assault 3 or d6 might make me at least consider taking shredders. Partially depends on how splinter cannons change. If they go down to like ten/twelve pts like I think they should, splinter cannons sounds more enticing as anti infantry.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Colonel Cabbage
Hellion


Posts : 40
Join date : 2018-02-14

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:31

@Dark-Lord-101 wrote:
I just have one dream.... usefull shredders. If gw finds a way to make them usefull, then this will be the best DE codex ever for me. I love shredder's concept, it's just that cruel and vicious as all the drukharii weapons should be (fluff-wise)

Woah, woah, calm down, dont get crazy now.
Back to top Go down
Dark-Lord-101
Slave
avatar

Posts : 22
Join date : 2014-09-29
Location : Milan, Italy

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:31

I'm hoping they give them a rule like the craftworlders' filament weapons, being basically the same thing
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:33

That would be solid but the number of shots would have to go up. d3 is just way too low.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
PartZebra
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 142
Join date : 2017-06-28
Location : Lincolnshire

PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:34

I've noticed that we've kinda glossed over the stratagem "Failure is Not an Option". What do we think of that?

I kinda like it, could be real nice with Wyches to increase their tarpitting tendencies. For big units of anything else, it sounds like a free passed morale test with extra shooting/attacking for only a single CP.

Scratch that, I'm being dumb again. Can't effect wyches.

_________________
Traverse the Webway with us! https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v


Last edited by PartZebra on Tue Mar 27 2018, 17:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals   

Back to top Go down
 
Codex Drukhari Preview: The Kabals
Back to top 
Page 5 of 16Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10 ... 16  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: