HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
AuthorMessage
xzandrate
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 205
Join date : 2011-05-20
Location : Northern Ontario

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 20:05

@eae wrote:
@xzandrate wrote:
@BigDaddyYumYums wrote:
12 is doable in 2000 pts, plus some points left for other heavy lifters.  Depending on strategems, how powerful is 19 CP?
12 patrols won't give you 19CP, Raiding Force is not a detachment, it's a rule that states 6+ Patrols = +8CP.

I realize that, just if a TO makes the Raiding Force "count as" a detachment. Pointing out the slippery slope this is creating.

Still the article got me pretty hyped that they are making some significant changes to how the army plays from a fluff perspective which is a good first step. Will wait and see what else comes over the next 2 weeks.
Back to top Go down
eae
Slave
avatar

Posts : 17
Join date : 2018-03-26

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 20:15

@xzandrate wrote:
I realize that, just if a TO makes the Raiding Force "count as" a detachment.  Pointing out the slippery slope this is creating.
Oh, I see what you mean. But you could still only have 1 Raiding Force since it's not a detachment but "counts as" one. And I really think some sort of such a rule would save us a ton of trouble and nerve in competitive play, while at the same time I don't see any reason for such a rule to exist in open play, go Unbound, have fun, stuff like that.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 20:54

At a certain point I think stacking more and more detachments for extra cp just isn't worth it. 8cp from 6 patrols seems like plenty to me, though granted we are not sure yet what our stratagems do so can't say for sure how many cps is reasonable.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 20:58

If you're using 6 Patrols, wouldn't a Brigade be more efficient in most cases?
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 908
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 20:58

You can assume you'll use 3CP for a webway portal, 1CP for the "3 warlord traits"... The game isn't even started and you're already at 4. Add a reaper reroll per turn and you're at 8 (if the game last 4 turns)
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:01

@The Shredder wrote:
If you're using 6 Patrols, wouldn't a Brigade be more efficient in most cases?

That makes you take Elites, heavy, and fast, if you are not playing with those, then no.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:08

@amishprn86 wrote:
@The Shredder wrote:
If you're using 6 Patrols, wouldn't a Brigade be more efficient in most cases?

That makes you take Elites, heavy, and fast, if you are not playing with those, then no.

Well, most lists I see include 3 Ravagers, so that's HS sorted.

At worst, you can have 3 Elites *and* 3 FA units for less than 3 HQs.

And it nets you an extra CP.
Back to top Go down
eae
Slave
avatar

Posts : 17
Join date : 2018-03-26

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:11

@The Shredder wrote:
If you're using 6 Patrols, wouldn't a Brigade be more efficient in most cases?
A Brigade would only have one Kabal/Cult/Coven tactics rule, Raiding Force is to use different tactics for different sub-factions of Drukhari.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:15

@The Shredder wrote:
@amishprn86 wrote:
@The Shredder wrote:
If you're using 6 Patrols, wouldn't a Brigade be more efficient in most cases?

That makes you take Elites, heavy, and fast, if you are not playing with those, then no.

Well, most lists I see include 3 Ravagers, so that's HS sorted.

At worst, you can have 3 Elites *and* 3 FA units for less than 3 HQs.

And it nets you an extra CP.

Not if our HQs are finally good!

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Wych
avatar

Posts : 508
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:18

Quite an interesting idea. Now you could potentially have several sub-factions with separate special rules is that right? So two different Cult patrols using different special rules? You could have one that uses hellions and a rule that buffs them best and then a reaver cult with a different rule for them as well.

Is that correct?
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:21

By the way, am I the only one who thinks this is a lot like the Corsair Coterie detachment in 7th?

@amishprn86 wrote:
Not if our HQs are finally good!

But what if our Elites/FA are also good? Surprised
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 646
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:22

@xzandrate wrote:


I realize that, just if a TO makes the Raiding Force "count as" a detachment.  Pointing out the slippery slope this is creating.

Still the article got me pretty hyped that they are making some significant changes to how the army plays from a fluff perspective which is a good first step.  Will wait and see what else comes over the next 2 weeks.

"Slippery Slope" arguments are virtually worthless, and used to justify a lot of stupid decisions.

Frankly, it's a particular situation that calls for a particular ruling. and that's it.

Counting a raiding force as 1 detachment in a tourney, with a limitation of 1 raiding force per army (and possibly only allowed in an all Drukhari army) should be an acceptable tourney fix. Tourney organizations (especially ITC) have been in the business of putting out rebalancing guidelines for a while, so this shouldn't be that jarring of a ruling to make.
Back to top Go down
xzandrate
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 205
Join date : 2011-05-20
Location : Northern Ontario

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:49

@krayd wrote:
@xzandrate wrote:


I realize that, just if a TO makes the Raiding Force "count as" a detachment.  Pointing out the slippery slope this is creating.

Still the article got me pretty hyped that they are making some significant changes to how the army plays from a fluff perspective which is a good first step.  Will wait and see what else comes over the next 2 weeks.

"Slippery Slope" arguments are virtually worthless, and used to justify a lot of stupid decisions.

Frankly, it's a particular situation that calls for a particular ruling. and that's it.

Counting a raiding force as 1 detachment in a tourney, with a limitation of 1 raiding force per army (and possibly only allowed in an all Drukhari army) should be an acceptable tourney fix. Tourney organizations (especially ITC) have been in the business of putting out rebalancing guidelines for a while, so this shouldn't be that jarring of a ruling to make.

Yup, really we wait for the Codex first, then lean on TOs.

We don't know what the rest of that page that the excerpt comes from, because currently 6 detachments isn't possible in organized play. Maybe at 5000 pts if we extrapolate, and at that point it's pretty underwhelming to get 8CP for all your detachments.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3250
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 21:57

@The Shredder wrote:
By the way, am I the only one who thinks this is a lot like the Corsair Coterie detachment in 7th?

@amishprn86 wrote:
Not if our HQs are finally good!

But what if our Elites/FA are also good? Surprised

Im saying if you dont want Elites then its not worth a brigade, BUT we also dont know how the rules/buffs/stratagems/etc.. will work, we might want 5-6 detachments.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 908
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 22:07

If we get several cults and kabals, with distincts traits/bonus, we will want severals detachments, with different units, to maximise the specialised roles of the units.
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 22:13

@amishprn86 wrote:
@The Shredder wrote:
By the way, am I the only one who thinks this is a lot like the Corsair Coterie detachment in 7th?

@amishprn86 wrote:
Not if our HQs are finally good!

But what if our Elites/FA are also good? Surprised

Im saying if you dont want Elites then its not worth a brigade, BUT we also dont know how the rules/buffs/stratagems/etc.. will work, we might want 5-6 detachments.

Oh, I thought we were comparing our system to that of normal armies. My mistake.
Back to top Go down
Eldanesh
Slave
avatar

Posts : 12
Join date : 2017-09-27

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 22:14

Honestly, when I first saw this "raiding force" and "alliance of agony", I couldn't contain my joy and let out a moderately loud YEESSS.
Yes, these rules are not really strong, and probably won't be that useful at tournaments, but they are fluffy, and they give options for (non-competitive) list-building. It is already more than what I was expecting, so I can't wait for tomorrow's preview.

Also, I find "Drukhari Obsessions" as the name for our faction traits hilarious.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 23:08

I agree for the most part, the raiding force idea seems like a unique way to make DE work. Granted I think our characters need to be improved to make taking multiple patrol detachments worth it, but as I've said before considering the trend GW has of improving characters from index to codex, I'm very confident that our characters will get some buffs.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Wych
avatar

Posts : 693
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 23:26

Consider that there's no Coven/Kabal choices on FA. And no Wytch Cult on HS.

Say goodbye to the Brigade
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Wych
avatar

Posts : 773
Join date : 2015-12-06
Location : Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 23:28

No FA for kabal/coven is covered fairly easily by beast units and scourges, but I can't say I'm too interested in running a brigade anyway most of the time as I'd rather not be forced into taking 3 of each slot.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
Evil Space Elves
Haemonculus Ancient
avatar

Posts : 3711
Join date : 2011-07-13
Location : Santa Cruz, ca

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Mon Mar 26 2018, 23:54

@Dark Elf Dave wrote:
Quite an interesting idea. Now you could potentially have several sub-factions with separate special rules is that right? So two different Cult patrols using different special rules? You could have one that uses hellions and a rule that buffs them best and then a reaver cult with a different rule for them as well.

Is that correct?

You are absolutely correct! When you see the cult special rules you will start to see why Outrider detachments of Reavers, Hellions, and other things work. Add combat drug effects=good times.

Also, I get the Internet tournament scene nerd rage at the mention of the 6 Patrol thing. That was clearly put in for more narrative play games. In playtesting I used the triple patrol build to great effect, skipped the hell out of the six patrol deal since it's just easier to take a battalion and a couple of smaller Outrider detachments. People that are getting stuck on the six Patrol thing not being tournament legal are missing the larger context of the rest of the codex. There is no requirement to run that build!!! (Internets gonna internet)

Stoked to see people getting excited about the codex for once. While I'm not 100% drinking the Koolaide, I'm excited for 95%+ of all the changes and flavor that has been added. Old school Archons will see flavor that has been missing since some of the 3rd edition wargear. GW wanted to get the flavor of the army right and worked a lot of our suggestions in. Our playtesting opponents all commented that the army felt fast, terrifying, and brutal like a Realspace Raid should be.

_________________

"Solutions are good, how many dark eldar archons can you find sitting in their throne rooms whining that they used to rule the universe? Exactly."  -The Burning Eye
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast
My Dark Eldar Project Log
Back to top Go down
Dr.Morbid
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2018-01-20
Location : Northern Commorragh

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Tue Mar 27 2018, 00:17

I had the thought to give my succubus a warlord trait and have an archon with blaster as warlord, because, the succubus w-trait is awesome and the archon, well, can stay in safety. And voila, there we have it! Wonder what they come up with furthermore.

_________________
Your life shall end as it began; bathed in blood!
Back to top Go down
Ubernoob1
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 150
Join date : 2013-04-20
Location : Newport News, Virginia

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Tue Mar 27 2018, 00:19

@Evil Space Elves wrote:
@Dark Elf Dave wrote:
Quite an interesting idea. Now you could potentially have several sub-factions with separate special rules is that right? So two different Cult patrols using different special rules? You could have one that uses hellions and a rule that buffs them best and then a reaver cult with a different rule for them as well.

Is that correct?

You are absolutely correct! When you see the cult special rules you will start to see why Outrider detachments of Reavers, Hellions, and other things work. Add combat drug effects=good times.

Also, I get the Internet tournament scene nerd rage at the mention of the 6 Patrol thing. That was clearly put in for more narrative play games. In playtesting I used the triple patrol build to great effect, skipped the hell out of the six patrol deal since it's just easier to take a battalion and a couple of smaller Outrider detachments. People that are getting stuck on the six Patrol thing not being tournament legal are missing the larger context of the rest of the codex. There is no requirement to run that build!!! (Internets gonna internet)

Stoked to see people getting excited about the codex for once. While I'm not 100% drinking the Koolaide, I'm excited for 95%+ of all the changes and flavor that has been added. Old school Archons will see flavor that has been missing since some of the 3rd edition wargear. GW wanted to get the flavor of the army right and worked a lot of our suggestions in. Our playtesting opponents all commented that the army felt fast, terrifying, and brutal like a Realspace Raid should be.

That sounds awesome. Very Happy For whatever it's worth, and regardless how the codex turns out, I would like to say thank you to you and anyone else who's worked on this codex. I am excited, I'm excited for being excited, and I hope more people can find something to be excited about. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
The Shredder
Trueborn
avatar

Posts : 2968
Join date : 2013-04-11

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Tue Mar 27 2018, 00:28

@Evil Space Elves wrote:
Stoked to see people getting excited about the codex for once. While I'm not 100% drinking the Koolaide, I'm excited for 95%+ of all the changes and flavor that has been added. Old school Archons will see flavor that has been missing since some of the 3rd edition wargear.

If that includes skyboards and jetbikes, I will chug an entire gallon of the koolaide. Razz
Back to top Go down
zergavas
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 131
Join date : 2012-04-06
Location : Sweden

PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   Tue Mar 27 2018, 01:08

Just pitching in that as far as i know there is no 3 attachment limit in matched play, reading on page 214 it says its more of a guide line for organised events. So playing matched with a buddy you can bring 6 patrols (why you would want that i dont know).

_________________
Our skimmers are armored with wet cardboard, our men are wrapped in tissue paper armor and most of our ICs and special characters live in abject terror at the thought of a Str 6 weapon that can insta-kill them, We are the Dark Eldar Fear us!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party   

Back to top Go down
 
Codex: Drukhai Preview – Assembling Your Raiding Party
Back to top 
Page 4 of 7Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: