HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Fight Phase Rule Check

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Ragnos
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 43
Join date : 2017-09-13

PostSubject: Fight Phase Rule Check   Tue Feb 27 2018, 07:38

Dear mighty Archons,

im still new to WH40k and have a question regarding the fight phase. There is a similar topic "Shooting Rule Check". I think the consensus there was, that models of a unit which is shot at can still die even if the defending player removes the only models with LOS first. This was because the targets are chosen before the wounds are applied. I hope I got that right.

My question is how this works in the fight phase. What if only one model of a friendly unit with 10 models ( having 1 wound per model) is in 1" range to multiple enemy models of the same unit. The enemy unit deals e.g. 5 wounds. If I remove the only model in range, do I still have to split the remaining wounds to other models? How does this work if the enemy unit uses different weapons on each model? If I relate this to the topic of the shooting rule, I would say yes, I have to split the wounds. And also yes, the enemy unit can fight with all weapons because "4. choose melee weapon" comes after "3. choose targets".

How do you think about this?

Kind regards,
Ragnos
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Fight Phase Rule Check   Tue Feb 27 2018, 09:11

You activate an entire unit (melee or ranged) at once, and you MUST declare targets for every single weapon all at once (everything has splitfire, but you must allocate them before resolving). SO the results and casualties won't interfere with attacks that already have been allocated.


BUT, if a unit of Gaunts is engaged with Assault Marines and Tac marines, and Assault marines get activated first, and after the removal of casualties the Tac marines are no longer engaged, then it gets a little more complicated.

If i remember correctly, a unit can either be activated if it is locked in combat, or if it made a successful charge this turn. So if the Marines did charge this turn, they could be activated and pile in, but if the removal of Gaunts disengaged them, and they didn't charge this turn, they don't get to attack (I think). But this is only a matter of multiple combat.

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 725
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Fight Phase Rule Check   Tue Feb 27 2018, 09:25

Mppqlmd has it right.

One little addition to his commentary:
If the Tactical Marines charged that turn they can activate, but if enough Gaunts were removed, they might not be able to get a model within 1" with their pile in move, so wouldn't be able to make any attacks.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
Ragnos
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 43
Join date : 2017-09-13

PostSubject: Re: Fight Phase Rule Check   Tue Feb 27 2018, 09:31

Perfect. Thanks for the good explanation.
Back to top Go down
 
Fight Phase Rule Check
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: