HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Cold-blooded Bodyguard

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 739
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 12:23

Possibly a dumb question, but something about the Sslyth's special rule has been bugging me. For reference, it's this;

Quote :
Cold-blooded Bodyguard: Roll a D6 each time a <KABAL> ARCHON loses a wound whilst they are within 3" of this model; on a 2+ this model intercepts that hit - the Archon does not lose a wound but this model suffers a mortal wound.

Now, what happens if there are two Sslyths within 3" of an Archon? This rule isn't optional - each time the Archon loses a wound, you have to roll a D6. So if there two Sslyths, you have to roll a dice for each of them, and what would have been a single wound on the Archon becomes two mortal wounds on the Sslyths.

Am I interpreting this correctly?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 12:26

You roll for the first Sslyth. If he intercepts the hit the Archon has not lost a wound and the trigger for the next Sslyth (Archon losing a wound) hasn't occurred so you just carry on with the game.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 739
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 12:38

@Count Adhemar wrote:
You roll for the first Sslyth. If he intercepts the hit the Archon has not lost a wound and the trigger for the next Sslyth (Archon losing a wound) hasn't occurred so you just carry on with the game.

That'd make sense but I'm not sure what the justification is for the Sslyth rolls not being simultaneous. Are there any bodyguard rules for other armies that are clearer about this?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 12:50

@Burnage wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
You roll for the first Sslyth. If he intercepts the hit the Archon has not lost a wound and the trigger for the next Sslyth (Archon losing a wound) hasn't occurred so you just carry on with the game.

That'd make sense but I'm not sure what the justification is for the Sslyth rolls not being simultaneous. Are there any bodyguard rules for other armies that are clearer about this?

When would you normally roll simultaneously for different units?

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 739
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 13:05

@Count Adhemar wrote:
@Burnage wrote:
@Count Adhemar wrote:
You roll for the first Sslyth. If he intercepts the hit the Archon has not lost a wound and the trigger for the next Sslyth (Archon losing a wound) hasn't occurred so you just carry on with the game.

That'd make sense but I'm not sure what the justification is for the Sslyth rolls not being simultaneous. Are there any bodyguard rules for other armies that are clearer about this?

When would you normally roll simultaneously for different units?

Ah, good point! Cheers.
Back to top Go down
Rodi Sikni
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 92
Join date : 2017-12-09

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 13:11

The rule causes is activated at the same time, but not have efect simultaneously. You choose one of the two units and roll the dices, if the chosen one intercept the wound the Archon doesn't lose the wound, so theres no reason to use the other unit.

Theres not situation in the game where two units or special rule acts simultaneously, you alwais have to choosen one to act first, like when you have a rule that has efect at the beginning of the turn.
Back to top Go down
nerdelemental
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 137
Join date : 2016-02-18

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 14:42

follow up question:
Assume the first snake did NOT intercept. The wound goes back to the Archon. Does a second snake now try to intercept it or is the opportunity a one shot deal?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 14:50

I don't really see any RAW reason why you couldn't keep on trying but I doubt it's RAI.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
URIEN
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 149
Join date : 2017-07-28

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 17:04

The second Sslyth would try to intercept it. as Count has stated you decide which one occurs first. So if the first one fails try the second, though you cannot repeat this process 'till one does. Then in future instances you can choose to let the Sslyth at full wounds to intercept the wound first and if he fails try with the other. With RAW both in the unit entry for CBG and the rulebook for simultaneous events it works out right.


I regularly run 2 Sslyths.

_________________
Pain is the only universal constant. Pain is all. It is the key to creation and destruction both. Thus does he who masters pain become a god.
Back to top Go down
nerdelemental
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 137
Join date : 2016-02-18

PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   Fri Feb 23 2018, 18:37

I regularly run 4 in a Venom with a Blaster Archon. Tons of splinter plus a punch.
I'm *toying* with the idea of a fake squad of ~3-5 blaster archon with ~4-5 Slyth in a Raider.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Cold-blooded Bodyguard   

Back to top Go down
 
Cold-blooded Bodyguard
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: