HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Rerolls on a Roll-Off

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Mon Jan 22 2018, 21:47

Here is a rule question :

The Roll Off rule says that if a Roll-Off is tied, you have to reroll it, and this can be done even if the dice were rerolled before, hence becoming the only scenario where you can reroll a previously rerolled die.

BUT

Can you use a command point to reroll a roll-off that has been rerolled for "tied results" reasons ?

Exemple :
T'au rolls a 4, Ork rolls a 4. They reroll : T'au rolls a 4, Ork rolls a 1. Can Ork spend a CP to reroll it ?

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3154
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Mon Jan 22 2018, 21:54

They faq'ed it in CA that you can never use CP to re-roll missions, seizes, deployment type, game turn, etc...

Pre-faq i did see a game where it was the relic and the guy won because he re-roll the game turn (it says who roles game end turn dice) and b.c he re-rolled it the game went on another turn and won, Due to the changes we cant do that anymore, but it was cool while it lasted.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 900
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Mon Jan 22 2018, 22:04

@amishprn86 wrote:
They faq'ed it in CA that you can never use CP to re-roll missions, seizes, deployment type, game turn, etc...

But a withdraw is not a game setting, like mission, seizes, deployment...
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3154
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Mon Jan 22 2018, 22:14

@dumpeal wrote:
@amishprn86 wrote:
They faq'ed it in CA that you can never use CP to re-roll missions, seizes, deployment type, game turn, etc...

But a withdraw is not a game setting, like mission, seizes, deployment...

What are you talking about? I dont understand, no offense, whats a withdraw?

But i think i understand what you mean? He is saying b.c the rule let syou re-roll re-roll why would a CP re-roll follow the rules for that sinario?

I just miss understood it at first (my reading is acting up really bad today)

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Wych
avatar

Posts : 900
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Mon Jan 22 2018, 22:34

@amishprn86 wrote:
@dumpeal wrote:
@amishprn86 wrote:
They faq'ed it in CA that you can never use CP to re-roll missions, seizes, deployment type, game turn, etc...

But a withdraw is not a game setting, like mission, seizes, deployment...

What are you talking about? I dont understand, no offense, whats a withdraw?

But i think i understand what you mean? He is saying b.c the rule let syou re-roll re-roll why would a CP re-roll follow the rules for that sinario?

I just miss understood it at first (my reading is acting up really bad today)

Sorry, I can never remember the "no escape" name.
Back to top Go down
SushiBoy013
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 254
Join date : 2017-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Tue Jan 23 2018, 00:08

I imagine the answer is both Yes and No.

No to a CP use on a re-roll if it occurs during the setup period.

Yes if the re-roll occurs any other time during the game

_________________
Kabal of the Killing Moon
Back to top Go down
Aschen
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 261
Join date : 2013-01-06

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Tue Jan 23 2018, 00:46

I see what he's saying. If you tie during the roll off for "no escape", so have to 'reroll', can you then use a command point to reroll that dice.

Its a difficult one. I thought it'd be easy because I thought the roll off rule would just have you 'rolling off again' during a tie. Reading the rules though, it clearly states "this is the only players can reroll a reroll. Since it clearly states its the only time a reroll can be rerolled, I'd say no. It doesnt allow a reroll if you've already tied once and rerolled. So if you are going to reroll, I'd reroll the first tie..
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1041
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Tue Jan 23 2018, 07:53

@Aschen wrote:
I see what he's saying.  If you tie during the roll off for "no escape", so have to 'reroll', can you then use a command point to reroll that dice.  

Its a difficult one.  I thought it'd be easy because I thought the roll off rule would just have you 'rolling off again' during a tie.  Reading the rules though, it clearly states "this is the only players can reroll a reroll.  Since it clearly states its the only time a reroll can be rerolled, I'd say no.  It doesnt allow a reroll if you've already tied once and rerolled.  So if you are going to reroll, I'd reroll the first tie..

Depends, if you both rolled a 4+ it is a better gamble to not use the command reroll
if you both rolled a 3- you have better chances with a command reroll
Back to top Go down
FuelDrop
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1392
Join date : 2015-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Tue Jan 23 2018, 07:58

You know a cool mechanic to make Shardnets awesome without just being a boring +1? For Each Shardnet roll an extra Die. Your Opponent must beat all of them with their roll to escape.
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Tue Jan 23 2018, 08:25

or choose the highest/lowest

That being said, going back to the gladiators who used a net and spear as weapons, they were meant to impair the movements and attacks of the enemy. With multi-attack models being very prevalent this edition, I see no reason that it shouldn't lower at least 1 infantry model's attacks by 1.

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
yellabelly
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 238
Join date : 2017-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Tue Jan 23 2018, 15:37

Just a question on the roll-off for "No Escape", would it ever need re-rolling? The rule says the opposing player must WIN the roll off. A draw would mean they fail to withdraw, as they haven't won the roll off. It's not like first turn where you have to re roll because you need a winner.

_________________
Do you fight for the Dark Gods? The Drukhari gave birth to one of them. By partying.
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Tue Jan 23 2018, 16:04

@yellabelly wrote:
Just a question on the roll-off  for "No Escape", would it ever need re-rolling? The rule says the opposing player must WIN the roll off. A draw would mean they fail to withdraw, as they haven't won the roll off. It's not like first turn where you have to re roll because you need a winner.

There can be no draw in a roll-off. So yeah, it's rerolled.

We have discussed this a lot when the index came out ^^



Concerning my question, i think the most RAW application would be that you can spend a CP to reroll a No Escape die, but only if no tie has occured before (otherwise you'd be spending a CP to reroll a die that has already been rerolled, and that's forbidden). But it's definitly a strange spot in the rules.


_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
yellabelly
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 238
Join date : 2017-11-16

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Tue Jan 23 2018, 16:13

Ah OK thanks, I wasn't playing DE at the time 8th dropped, so I missed those discussions!

_________________
Do you fight for the Dark Gods? The Drukhari gave birth to one of them. By partying.
Back to top Go down
LordSplata
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 281
Join date : 2017-06-14
Location : Sydney

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Thu Jan 25 2018, 08:58

How about this scenario, you both roll, it is a tie, you both rolled ones. Burn a CP to reroll your die.

Legal?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7215
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Thu Jan 25 2018, 09:32

I don't see why not.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Ikol
Wych
avatar

Posts : 564
Join date : 2017-03-20
Location : Perth

PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   Mon Jan 29 2018, 11:27

@LordSplata wrote:
How about this scenario, you both roll, it is a tie, you both rolled ones. Burn a CP to reroll your die.

Legal?

So long as it occurs before the tie-triggered-re-roll, sure.

_________________
This world exists because of the things we have done, forever branching to the decisions we make and twisting to what we do not.

”Woe to our enemies.  We'll tear them apart regardless.” ~Barrywise
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Rerolls on a Roll-Off   

Back to top Go down
 
Rerolls on a Roll-Off
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: Drukhari Discussion
-
Jump to: