HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Wave Serpent vs. Raider

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3
AuthorMessage
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3084
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider   Fri Dec 08 2017, 11:48

@aurynn wrote:
Okay. That never happened to me. Neither against Guiliman and friends, nor against shooty alphastrike CHSM, not against Renegade Knights and Magnus, rly never. I have seen other armies lose much more than I did. And losing 2 Voidweavers to all that shooting... that does not sound statistically right either. Not even with the new 3++ stratagem. But okay.

-1 to hit 4++ cant re-roll the 3+ to hit, thats literally 1/2 the damage (Tho i think its more like 47% less or something odd, just doing math in my head so rounding a bit), 2 Vehicles is 1/2 of 4. plus i'd rather use a CP on a 4++ than a 5++ to re-roll a save (granted i have on a 5++ many times before doesnt work as well is all).

Yes its 8 less wounds, but for every large weapon that doesnt kill it, thats another one wasted, if i'm down to 1-2 wounds, he will over kill it with small arms due tot he fact that it is harder to kill and fear it wont die.

Leaving me with more on the table, and many times my quins are left alive, i've never had a starweaver and all the quins die to shooting in 1 round before.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1626
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider   Fri Dec 08 2017, 12:22

Wait... he can reroll any failed hits and wounds. Why wouldn't he reroll those?
EDIT: Assuming we are talking 'bout Guiliman and friends.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 653
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider   Fri Dec 08 2017, 12:33

@aurynn wrote:
Wait... he can reroll any failed hits and wounds. Why wouldn't he reroll those?
EDIT: Assuming we are talking 'bout Guiliman and friends.

It's the order of operations for rerolls and modifiers.

You roll to hit, compare to your BS, reroll failures, and then apply modifiers. So if you're BS 3+ shooting at something with a -1 to hit, you can only reroll your 1s and 2s.

It's counter-intuitive as hell but it also makes -1 to hit considerably stronger than it first appears.
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1626
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider   Fri Dec 08 2017, 12:37

Oh yea. I understood it as if he can't reroll at all.
Back to top Go down
Aschen
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 249
Join date : 2013-01-06

PostSubject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider   Sat Dec 09 2017, 08:49

@Burnage wrote:
@aurynn wrote:
Wait... he can reroll any failed hits and wounds. Why wouldn't he reroll those?
EDIT: Assuming we are talking 'bout Guiliman and friends.

It's the order of operations for rerolls and modifiers.

You roll to hit, compare to your BS, reroll failures, and then apply modifiers. So if you're BS 3+ shooting at something with a -1 to hit, you can only reroll your 1s and 2s.

It's counter-intuitive as hell but it also makes -1 to hit considerably stronger than it first appears.

That sounds like a useful rule to know about! Where does it say things work this way so I can point it out to my friends?
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3084
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider   Sat Dec 09 2017, 09:11

The faq's and maybe now the CA

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Wych
avatar

Posts : 653
Join date : 2017-09-12

PostSubject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider   Sat Dec 09 2017, 12:15

@Aschen wrote:
@Burnage wrote:
@aurynn wrote:
Wait... he can reroll any failed hits and wounds. Why wouldn't he reroll those?
EDIT: Assuming we are talking 'bout Guiliman and friends.

It's the order of operations for rerolls and modifiers.

You roll to hit, compare to your BS, reroll failures, and then apply modifiers. So if you're BS 3+ shooting at something with a -1 to hit, you can only reroll your 1s and 2s.

It's counter-intuitive as hell but it also makes -1 to hit considerably stronger than it first appears.

That sounds like a useful rule to know about!  Where does it say things work this way so I can point it out to my friends?

It's page 178 of the main rulebook, in the "Re-rolls" section at the side;

"Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again. You can never re-roll a dice more than one, and re-rolls happen before modifiers (if any) are applied."
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider   

Back to top Go down
 
Wave Serpent vs. Raider
Back to top 
Page 3 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: Drukhari Discussion
-
Jump to: