HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Dr.Morbid
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2018-01-20
Location : Northern Commorragh

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Sat Feb 10 2018, 13:45

Correct, it's a hyphon. I just wanted to seperate the Daggers from the Mane, nothing more.
And thanx for approving!

_________________
Your life shall end as it began; bathed in blood!
Back to top Go down
Tounguekutter
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 438
Join date : 2014-05-18
Location : Springfield, Virginia

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Wed Feb 14 2018, 18:50

So, for clarification, the ruling is Serpentin is not useless on a Succubus, and in fact if she has it and is not suffering from any negative modifiers, will auto-hit?

_________________
My 8th edition fandex is complete enough for appraisal .  I'm sure there are inconsistencies, please let me know where they lie as you find them.  Thank you! Click here for fandex
Back to top Go down
Von Snabel
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 183
Join date : 2017-01-12
Location : Stockholm

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Wed Feb 14 2018, 19:04

Only time you auto-hit is when the weapons explicitly state that you do, like flamers. You allways miss on a roll of 1(Dice value), no matter whan kinds of modifiers you may have.
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 859
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Thu Feb 15 2018, 00:16

Essentially a Succubus with Serpentin has a WS 1+.

So on a roll of 1 they miss, because rolls of 1 always miss. They can reroll 1s from their aura.

On a roll of 2, you compare the result with modifier against the WS to see if you have a hit. Against models without a hit modifer, the Glaive would reduce the result to 1, which means a hit against WS 1+.

If you ran into a unit with a further hit modifier, such a Mandrakes then a roll of 2 when attacking with the Archite Glaive, would get modified to 0 and would still miss, even with WS 1+.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
Tounguekutter
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 438
Join date : 2014-05-18
Location : Springfield, Virginia

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Thu Feb 15 2018, 16:06

So Serpentin is beneficial to a Succubus then, as it counteracts neg. modifiers. What it doesn't do is guarantee auto-hits. Got it. Thank you. Very Happy

_________________
My 8th edition fandex is complete enough for appraisal .  I'm sure there are inconsistencies, please let me know where they lie as you find them.  Thank you! Click here for fandex
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Thu Feb 15 2018, 16:24

However, because of the -1 on the to-hit roll, Blood Dancer normally doesn't occur for turns 1 and 2. until you get the +1 to hit from PfP on turn 3, then you need a 6 to-hit roll.

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
Tounguekutter
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 438
Join date : 2014-05-18
Location : Springfield, Virginia

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Mon Mar 05 2018, 05:28

However, it makes sense to put Serpentin on your Succubus so that way she can benefit from Blood Dancer from turn 1 on, yes?

_________________
My 8th edition fandex is complete enough for appraisal .  I'm sure there are inconsistencies, please let me know where they lie as you find them.  Thank you! Click here for fandex
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1041
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Mon Mar 05 2018, 07:16

@Tounguekutter wrote:
However, it makes sense to put Serpentin on your Succubus so that way she can benefit from Blood Dancer from turn 1 on, yes?

Unfortunately not.
Serpentine gives +1 ws not +1 to hit, so the roll does not change because of serpentine so no additional chance to benefit from blood dancer.
Back to top Go down
Koldan
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 28
Join date : 2017-10-26

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Fri Mar 09 2018, 12:53

@Kantalla wrote:

If you ran into a unit with a further hit modifier, such a Mandrakes then a roll of 2 when attacking with the Archite Glaive, would get modified to 0 and would still miss, even with WS 1+.

Not true, a roll can not be modified to anything less then 1. So a succubus with this drug is immune to any negative modifiers.
See for example the designer's commentary. This is also actually the reason why -1 to hit is so bad for overheating plasma weapons, else the chance of explosion would not be influenced by it.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 7226
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Fri Mar 09 2018, 14:15

@Koldan wrote:
@Kantalla wrote:

If you ran into a unit with a further hit modifier, such a Mandrakes then a roll of 2 when attacking with the Archite Glaive, would get modified to 0 and would still miss, even with WS 1+.

Not true, a roll can not be modified to anything less then 1.

As far as I can recall, that only applies to characteristic modifiers and even then only to S, T and LD.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 614
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Fri Mar 09 2018, 20:44

Ok technically, yes the rolls can be modified to 0, -1, or even negative infinity. What the rules state though, is that after modifiers are applied and the final dice value is determined, any number that is below 1, becomes a 1 instead. So if you rolled a 2 and there is a -2 modifier but your model has a 1 WS. Rules As Written, your (2-2 =) 0 becomes a 1 instead, which still hits. Any natural 1's are still a miss though. I forget if this was in the Battle Primer, Big Rulebook or an FAQ...

And yes Adhemar, The rules also state that any Characteristic Stat/Value cannot be reduced to lower than 1.

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1844
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   Fri Mar 09 2018, 21:16

So basically, a model with WS1+ will always hit, regardless of modifiers, unless it rolls a natural 1.

_________________
My Kabal
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)   

Back to top Go down
 
Add +1 to hit vs +1 WS (Serpentine)
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: