HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Language ambiguity in new rules...

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4010
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Language ambiguity in new rules...    Tue Sep 26 2017, 19:01

This is probably just me but I find the english here a bit vague.

"Once per battle, you can re-roll a single hit roll, wound roll, or damage roll made for your warlord."

Specifically, "for your". Does this mean damage roles made "by my warlord" or "by my opponent for my warlord". I don't understand why they didn't just use the "by your" instead of "for your", unless they actually mean "for your". Shocked

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Language ambiguity in new rules...    Tue Sep 26 2017, 20:59

I didn't really think it was all that vague, personally. 'Made for=made on behalf of' in this case. A weapon that is hitting him is being rolled on behalf of the attacking model, not the warlord.

Maybe I'm wrong, though.
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
avatar

Posts : 4010
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

PostSubject: Re: Language ambiguity in new rules...    Tue Sep 26 2017, 21:26

Thanks. I guess I'm reading too much into it.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1786
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Language ambiguity in new rules...    Wed Sep 27 2017, 11:19

The important part is that YOU can reroll.
It doesn't say anything about your opponent rerolling, it is YOU rerolling something.

And to be pedantic about language, "reroll" means to repeat a roll. If you did not make the initial roll, you would not be "re"rolling. Thats a picky point though.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3064
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Language ambiguity in new rules...    Wed Sep 27 2017, 14:42

I don't think it is. If people want to get legalistic about the rules (and when money's on the line, it's GONNA happen) then it's a very salient point.
Back to top Go down
 
Language ambiguity in new rules...
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: