HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 800 pt list for review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Mistress_Monkshood
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-09-09

PostSubject: 800 pt list for review   Sat Sep 09 2017, 14:30

1 Archon- Agonizer, Blast Pistol, PGL
-Court of the Archon- 1Sslyth, 2 Medusae
-The above will be riding in a double Splinter Cannon Venom
5 man Kabalite Trueborn
-2 Splinter Cannon
-The above will be in a Double Splinter Cannon Venom
20 man Kabalite Warrior Squad
-2 Splinter Cannons, 1 Blaster, 1 Shredder
1 Ravager
-3 Dark Lances

Some notes: Second Blaster in the Warriors squad put me over points just barely. My Archon (Mistress Monkshood) will not change wargear, she's a fun model that I'll post up later. I consider this my 'High Guard' list

My intent is have my Venom squads zip around and harass until I can lure my foe to my blob squad. The Ravager will do what it needs to do. I feel this is a solid list but would like some veteran advice, thank you!
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 344
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: 800 pt list for review   Mon Sep 11 2017, 09:05

Hi There

I will just bring up a few things I'm sure the experienced players will tell you...

2 Splinter Cannons give you 12 shots in rapid fire range for 44 points. 6 Kabalite Warriors give you 12 shots in rapid fire range for 42 points. You get the extra range on the Cannons but you get 6 wounds vs 2 wounds with the extra Warriors.

So while that additional 6 shots from the Cannon look good, the truth is the Cannon is perhaps overpriced right now. As your troops have no transport will they be stationary? If so they might be better off with a Dark Lance.

I like it when people post pics of their models, look forward to that. Your Archon looks like it is better equipped for combat but the Court look better equipped for a firefight...would you be better off having a specific role for that group? I am not sure, you may have a good plan, but for me with my Haemy he's going to hang with his Wracks and he will be combat orientated like his Wracks.
Back to top Go down
Mistress_Monkshood
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-09-09

PostSubject: Re: 800 pt list for review   Mon Sep 11 2017, 11:12

Thanks for the advice on Splinter Cannons! The big squad would ideally be stationary, yes. Then, my idea for the Court is to be a mid-close combat squad. The Sslyth and Archon have a 18" range weapon, followed by 2 - 9" assault4 weapons, then the Blast Pistol and all the wounds my Archon might need. Thanks for your insight
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 344
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: 800 pt list for review   Mon Sep 11 2017, 11:52

I would also say that, although it is only at 800 points and you shouldn't be up against anything too scary, the Ravager will be a marked unit. If it did fall on turn one, then a couple of blasters won't be enough to dent vehicles...so another reason for taking the Dark Lances with your troops.
Back to top Go down
LordSplata
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 161
Join date : 2017-06-14
Location : Sydney

PostSubject: Re: 800 pt list for review   Tue Sep 12 2017, 04:49

The key things that stand out to me about the list are:
Is it legal? I don't think this fits a force peg chart atm.
When you have one giant blob squad, why not have two squads when they fill the same points but grant greater tactical flexibility.
Shredders are terrible. It is immeasurably better to take a squad mate.
Splinter cannons have their place, but they don't look like they are adding much to this list. As Dave says, give yourself a darklance instead where possible. And the swap of twin rifles for a splinter cannon on the venom is often not a great selection. It's mainly good for kiting an opposition, and having multiple turns at range, not letting them close with you. But without the movement of transports you may not find them getting their value back.

In your description you mention taking the blob squad as a thing to get the enemy into attacking.
Unfortunately they aren't a great hammer and fall apart to easily in combat to be much of an anvil.
They get off a fair amount of shooting,and do a fair amount of damage but most other armies can dish out better for cheaper.
Speed is your friend. And don't take this the wrong way but I'd highly recommend listening to the splinter minds episode dark eldar for noobs, it has tips and tricks that are very relevant to how our army really works. Great episode.
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 344
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: 800 pt list for review   Tue Sep 12 2017, 11:20

How about this list which takes many of the models in your own list...

Archon Mistress Monkshood - Agoniser, Blast Pistol, PGL

X2 Sslyth

10 Kabs - DL, Blaster
10 Kabs - DL, Blaster

Kab Trueborn - x2 Blaster

Ravager - x3 Dark Lance

Venom - x2 SC
Venom - x2 SC

799 points
Back to top Go down
Mistress_Monkshood
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-09-09

PostSubject: Re: 800 pt list for review   Sun Sep 17 2017, 12:43

Thanksfor the input guys. Dark Elf Dave thank you. Did you go Blasters in the Trueborn squad to not have the-1 penalty for moving with DL? Lord Splata, my original list fit rather tidily into a Patrol Detachment. I can't agree with Shredders being terrible. To my mind, everything has a use in this new edition. Maybe except Reavers as they're just so expensive, anyways, i mean i play against a lot of infantry so i could see a shredder proving its use.
Back to top Go down
Dark Elf Dave
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 344
Join date : 2017-05-19

PostSubject: Re: 800 pt list for review   Tue Sep 19 2017, 13:07

Yes I did...I thought that with them in the Venom they will be very mobile and so blasters would be better.

I have started to experiment with my lists where I might have a 5 man Kab squad and a 5 man Trueborn squad in one Raider, then take x2 or x3 DL on the Trueborn...that way you have what would be a stationary Raider pumping out 3-4 DL shots but also have troops on board that can be dropped off on objectives if need be.
Back to top Go down
 
800 pt list for review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Army Lists
-
Jump to: