HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Subsanity
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 229
Join date : 2016-10-13
Location : Tulsa, OK

PostSubject: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Sun Jul 23 2017, 23:57

Does this mean I can now just add yncarne and visarch to my army with out changing the fraction? Or add them as a HQ and choose who gets SFD or PFP?

Page 76 – Army of the Reborn
Replace this paragraph with the following:
‘If the Warlord of your army is either Yvraine, the
Visarch or the Yncarne then – with the exception of
<Haemonculus Coven> units, Urien Rakarth, Drazhar,
Mandrakes and the Avatar of Khaine – any Aeldari
unit can also be Ynnari. Any unit that is gains the
Ynnari keyword. These cannot use any of the following
abilities, and are not considered to have them: Ancient
Doom, Battle Focus, Rising Crescendo, Power from Pain.
Instead, Ynnari Infantry and Ynnari Biker units gain
the Strength from Death ability, as described below. If
your army is Battle-forged, Ynnari units can only be
included in Detachments in which all units have the
Ynnari keyword.’
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 00:32

What it means is that you can't have a Ynnari army unless you take one of the Triumvirate as your Warlord.

You can pick and choose who becomes Ynnari, but the last line tells us that if everyone isn't Ynnari, then the army ceases to be Battle Forged.
Back to top Go down
Subsanity
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 229
Join date : 2016-10-13
Location : Tulsa, OK

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 01:23

Ahh ok so I can not run double detachments and keep battle forged uunless both are ynnari?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 01:25

No, you can. A Ynnari warlord allows all the eligible units, regardless of detachment, to be Ynnari.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
avatar

Posts : 2264
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 01:47

But every unit in a detchament has to be ynnari

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 02:00

Yes, but as long as you have a single Ynnari warlord, then your other detachments can also be all Ynnari.

EDIT: And the errata gives permission to mix Ynnari/non-Ynnari if you're not Battleforged.
Back to top Go down
Subsanity
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 229
Join date : 2016-10-13
Location : Tulsa, OK

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 04:13

Right I was going to run kabal venoms and gun boats as DE. Scourges incubi and reavers as Ynnari. I would lose battle foraged.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1667
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 09:14

No.

In order to field Ynnari, you need to have one of the Triumvirate as your Warlord.
If you do this, then you can field Ynnari Detachments.


"If your army is Battle-forged, Ynnari units can only be included in Detachments in which all units have the Ynnari keyword.’"

This means that Ynnari units can only be in Ynnari Detachments. No mixing and matching Aeldari in Detach,ents with Ynnari. The Detachments must be Ynnari only.
HOWEVER you CAN still take non-Ynnari Detachments  in your army. You're just limited to the fact that your Warlord MUST be Ynnari.
So you CAN take a Drukhari Detachment alongside an Ynnari one, but the Ynnari one can only contain Ynnari units, and must include at least one of the Triumvirate, whoi is also your Warlord.
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Hellstrom
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 475
Join date : 2014-11-24
Location : South Central England

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 10:05

Does this work?

Ynnari detachment:
Yvraine
Kabalite Warriors
Windriders

Aeldari detachment:
Archon
Warlock
Kabalite Warriors
Windriders

Is this a battleforged army?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6912
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 10:08

Yes, you have 2 patrol detachments there, one Ynnari and one Aeldari. Yvraine would need to be the Warlord.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Hellstrom
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 475
Join date : 2014-11-24
Location : South Central England

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 10:19

Perfect. Thank you Smile
Back to top Go down
Endstation
Slave
avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2017-04-30
Location : Dortmund

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 10:22

Thanks for sharing my thoughts (and opinion). I want to field

(Aeldari)
Troupe Master
Troupe
Troupe
Skyweavers
Skyweavers
Starweaver
Starweaver
Scourges

(Aeldari - Ynnari)
Farseer Skyrunner
The Yncarne
Solitaire
Ravager
Ravager
Voidweaver

So I think i just need to make the Yncarne my Warlord and everything is fine, keeping Rising Crescendo on the Clowns.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6912
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 10:25

Not sure what the benefit is of having the vehicles in the Ynnari detachment? They don't benefit from SfD. And I'd switch the Scourges to the Ynnari detachment for sure.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Endstation
Slave
avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2017-04-30
Location : Dortmund

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 11:14

In my last games I kept the Scourges (with DL) out of the soulburst reach. No additional shooting but no dead Scourges either.
I chose the vehicles to fit the spearhead Detachment.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1667
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 13:24

I would note also that theres not much reason for the vehicles to go in the Ynnari Detachment, nor having the Farseer in it either. Only the Triumvirate get the Revenant Discipline, so the Farseer doesn't get that much benefit. I would also say the Solitaire is best not being Ynnari either.......
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Endstation
Slave
avatar

Posts : 23
Join date : 2017-04-30
Location : Dortmund

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 14:01

Thanks for the advice. As I wrote, I wanted to fit the Derachment-requirements. And I like the Idea of a soulbursting Solitaire. The Farseer's Battle Trance is useless in my game plan. So he should stay there.

But the rules-question is answered and I don't want to turn this into an army-list thread.

Thanks guys, you are an awesome community
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 14:48

Soulburst potentially triples your number of Smites, which is a potent reason to include a Farseer in your Ynnari.
Back to top Go down
lcfr
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 302
Join date : 2013-10-20
Location : Toronto

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 16:01

Yeah my army is mostly Kabalites in Venoms, some Fliers, Scourges, and Incubi with Pysker support but even to be able to Soulburst a second round of combat or fresh charge on the Incubi or Smiting twice or Dooming a second unit seems way better than the PfP chart.
Back to top Go down
PFI
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 113
Join date : 2017-02-12

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Mon Jul 24 2017, 23:23

The reason to take vehicles in a ynnai detachment is yvraine can cast ancestor's grace on them and the yncarne gives them a 6+ fnp like save.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6912
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Tue Jul 25 2017, 00:13

That's fair enough although you're probably better off casting Ancestor's Grace on a unit that can use SfD has you potentially double or even treble the benefit of the power.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Tue Jul 25 2017, 01:46

The reason to take a vehicle in a Ynnari detachment remains the same as the reason to take one in any other space elf detachment. They don't benefit from PfP or Battle Focus, either, but no one questions taking them in a Drukhari detachment.

Vehicles make our troops more survivable. They are also quite resilient.
Back to top Go down
TheBaconPope
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 448
Join date : 2017-03-10

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Tue Jul 25 2017, 03:53

Quote :
Vehicles make our troops more survivable. They are also quite resilient.

But is resilience and survivability a desirable quality in a Ynnari list?

_________________
"Death solves all problems. No man, no problem."
Back to top Go down
Ikol
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 485
Join date : 2017-03-20
Location : Perth

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Tue Jul 25 2017, 04:44

@TheBaconPope wrote:
Quote :
Vehicles make our troops more survivable. They are also quite resilient.

But is resilience and survivability a desirable quality in a Ynnari list?

Maybe, maybe not. Depends what list you're up against, and the lay of the tabletop.

Vehicles give you an option, though.

Put in transport= more survivable.
Take out of transport= less survivable.

_________________
This world exists because of the things we have done, forever branching to the decisions we make and twisting to what we do not.

Woe to our enemies. We'll tear them apart regardless.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3063
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Tue Jul 25 2017, 05:09

@TheBaconPope wrote:
Quote :
Vehicles make our troops more survivable. They are also quite resilient.

But is resilience and survivability a desirable quality in a Ynnari list?

Yes. Yes it is.

Building a list intending to die is a poor strategy.

The benefit of SfD is that it gives you extra options if you die. You still have to pay points for those units. They don't come back. Deliberately hamstringing yourself to get more Soulbursts might seem like an okay idea on paper, but it costs you more than you gain in the long run.
Back to top Go down
Subsanity
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 229
Join date : 2016-10-13
Location : Tulsa, OK

PostSubject: Re: Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.   Tue Jul 25 2017, 05:36

So keeping our venoms and raiders in a ynnari army. Do we maximize reavers and scouges? Or do we disembark our troops?
Back to top Go down
 
Ynnari FAQ... Help me understand.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: