HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 5 Blasters in a Venom?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Groan
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 33
Join date : 2017-07-17

PostSubject: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Tue Jul 18 2017, 19:22

Unsure if this is an obvious question, but:

With the Under Strength Unit rule, is it possible to have a 4 man Blastborn squad paired up with an Archon (with a blaster) inside of a Venom?
Back to top Go down
Subsanity
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 193
Join date : 2016-10-13
Location : Tulsa, OK

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Tue Jul 18 2017, 20:23

Yes, you could also take a 2x 5man with 5 DL and 5 blasters in raider.
Back to top Go down
Groan
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 33
Join date : 2017-07-17

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Tue Jul 18 2017, 21:22

How would you do that?
Trueborns are limited to 2 DS a squad and 4 Blasters a squad, no?
Back to top Go down
Archon_91
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 248
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Tue Jul 18 2017, 21:40

Each squad of true born would do 2 dark lances and 3 blasters and counting the raiders dark lance it now has 5 dark lances between itself and the two squads and 6 blasters ... Expensive ... But will more then likely destroy whatever it's pointed at unless rolls are really really bad
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 753
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Tue Jul 18 2017, 22:04

Groan wrote:
Unsure if this is an obvious question, but:

With the Under Strength Unit rule, is it possible to have a 4 man Blastborn squad paired up with an Archon (with a blaster) inside of a Venom?

The only limitation is that you can't have any other unit of blasterborn in your army.
Back to top Go down
Groan
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 33
Join date : 2017-07-17

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Tue Jul 18 2017, 22:16

Archon_91 wrote:
Each squad of true born would do 2 dark lances and 3 blasters and counting the raiders dark lance it now has 5 dark lances between itself and the two squads and 6 blasters ... Expensive ... But will more then likely destroy whatever it's pointed at unless rolls are really really bad

This I understand though it doesn't seem like a good idea. And I don't think the above mentioned 5 DL and 5 Blasters is possible.

The limitation of only have one unit of Trueborn on the table seems fair to me! 5 Blasters in a Venom would be awesome and would actually give my Archon a purpose.
Back to top Go down
MHaruspex
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 125
Join date : 2015-06-02

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Tue Jul 18 2017, 23:49

That's how I've been running mine. It's a nice unit, easy to hide, and fast for swinging around the flank.

Just had a fun game where the Venom spent a few turns slamming into a pair of Basilisks repeatedly while the Trueborn and Archon poured fire (along with supporting fire from a Ravager) into any units that tried to move in to assist.
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 753
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Wed Jul 19 2017, 00:59

MHaruspex wrote:
Just had a fun game where the Venom spent a few turns slamming into a pair of Basilisks repeatedly while the Trueborn and Archon poured fire (along with supporting fire from a Ravager) into any units that tried to move in to assist.
You know embarked troops can't shoot if the vehicle fell back ? So did your Archon and Trueborn get out of the venom ?
Back to top Go down
MHaruspex
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 125
Join date : 2015-06-02

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Wed Jul 19 2017, 01:01

The Venom never fell back, only the Basilisks. Eventually they gave up and stayed in combat with the Venom, and at that point a group of Razorwing Flocks took the Venom's place while the embarked Archon and retinue moved on to other targets.
Back to top Go down
masamune
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 201
Join date : 2017-06-22
Location : Paris

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Wed Jul 19 2017, 11:44

@Groan You can always have multiples units of trueborns, but you can only have one unit understrength

Résumé of what you can have (for example, dis is not recommended point wise x'))

- Raider / 1 DL
-- 5 trueborns / 2DL + 3 Blasters
-- 5 trueborns / 2DL + 3 Blasters  

- Raider / 1 DL
-- 5 trueborns / 2DL + 3 Blasters
-- 5 trueborns / 2DL + 3 Blasters  

- Venom / 2 Splinter cannon
-- 4 trueborns / 2DL + 2 Blasters  (understrength)
-- Archon / 1 Blaster

The point is for an army, you can have only one understrength unit of each type.
Edit : Sadly, no you can't Evil or Very Mad . cf. posts below.

_________________
Frenchie, long time painter, trying to get in the 8th edition study, and currently building a showcase website for my army
Project log.../...Showcase (kabalites & wyches)

Dark eldars ~4k points / Battle sisters ~2k points


Last edited by masamune on Wed Jul 19 2017, 13:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Wych
avatar

Posts : 538
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Wed Jul 19 2017, 11:55

I beg to differ, it mentions:
You can have 1 unit of that type in your army with as many models as you have availible.
So a unit of 5 trueborn and a unit of 4 trueborn that means you have 2 units of that type (trueborn) which is illegal. As soon as you field a unit of 5 you cannot field an understrength unit anymore.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
avatar

Posts : 6622
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Wed Jul 19 2017, 12:35

Sadly I have to agree. I initially read it the same way as masamune but that's not what it actually says.

_________________

You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
masamune
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 201
Join date : 2017-06-22
Location : Paris

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Wed Jul 19 2017, 13:30

Post edited, my bad No
This rule seems pretty retarded Neutral

_________________
Frenchie, long time painter, trying to get in the 8th edition study, and currently building a showcase website for my army
Project log.../...Showcase (kabalites & wyches)

Dark eldars ~4k points / Battle sisters ~2k points
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 753
Join date : 2017-07-05

PostSubject: Re: 5 Blasters in a Venom?   Wed Jul 19 2017, 16:27

masamune wrote:
Post edited, my bad No
This rule seems pretty retarded Neutral

It's all logical. The rule is there to allow you to play even if you don't have the minimum number of models.
With 9 models (5 and 4), you clearly have the minimum number of models (you could play one unit of 9, even though it sucks), so you cannot claim to use this rule.
Back to top Go down
 
5 Blasters in a Venom?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Dark Eldar Tactics
-
Jump to: