HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Disembarking from a transport in combat

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Ghost
Slave
avatar

Posts : 12
Join date : 2017-06-26

PostSubject: Disembarking from a transport in combat   Fri Jul 07 2017, 16:57

Okay so I've been pondering over this one for a while and can't find a good answer either way for it.

Here's the situation:

A raider with a squad of warriors inside finds it self within 1" of an enemy, making it in combat with that unit.

Firstly, can the squad inside disembark?

And secondly, can the warrior squad inside disembark from the transport outside of 1" from the enemy without suffering the penalties for falling back? (as they were not on the board at this point) Following this, can they they do the usual move, shoot and assault a unit.

Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1621
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking from a transport in combat   Fri Jul 07 2017, 17:23

Yes they can disembark as long as the transport is not surrounded following the normal rules for disembarkation, at the beginning of the movement phase after fallbacks. Meaning the transport they are in cannot fall back when they disembark. The unit inside is not falling back, it is disembarking, so no penalties for falling back.
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
avatar

Posts : 593
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking from a transport in combat   Fri Jul 07 2017, 17:31

They disembark 3" and can't be within 1" of the enemy. And oh snap, didn't realize it was after the fall back phase. That's a slight game changer.

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
attackdrone
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 26
Join date : 2014-08-07

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking from a transport in combat   Fri Jul 07 2017, 17:42

"Disembark: Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked within a transport can disembark before the transport moves."

"Falling Back: Units starting the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit can either remain stationary or Fall Back."

It seems to me that both of these things happen at the "start" or "beginning" of the movement phase.

"SEQUENCING: While playing Warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time – normally ‘at the start of the Movement phase’ or ‘before the battle begins’. When this happens during the game, the player whose turn it is chooses the order. If these things occur before or after the game, or at the start or end of a battle round, the players roll off and the winner decides in what order the rules are resolved."

As it will be your turn when you Fall Back / Disembark, you can "choose the order". So yes, it's possible to disembark then fall back.
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1621
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking from a transport in combat   Fri Jul 07 2017, 18:55

You are actually right. The unit inside resolves disembark then the transport resolves fallback. Then normal movement ensues.
Back to top Go down
Ghost
Slave
avatar

Posts : 12
Join date : 2017-06-26

PostSubject: Re: Disembarking from a transport in combat   Fri Jul 07 2017, 19:19

Cheers guys, this is pretty neat for how I'm currently using my army!
Back to top Go down
 
Disembarking from a transport in combat
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: