HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityFAQUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 FAQ is up

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Imateria
Wych
avatar

Posts : 510
Join date : 2016-02-06
Location : Birmingham

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Mon Jul 03 2017, 00:51

@amishprn86 wrote:
@Gherma wrote:
Sorry I didn't express myself properly. The FAQ is very good in general, a lot better than ones in previous editions. Just this point of deep strike distance to me still seems not 100% clear.

It is clear....

You must be out of 9"
When you charge to be in CC you must be within 1"

If you are 9.01 " away you only need to move your character 8.99" so therefor you you need a 9" charge lol.

Or to make it easier, you DS 9 1/2 inches away, a 9" charge means you would end 1/2 inch away, you check to see if you are within 1" you are so you made the charge.
That seems like a rather convoluted way of putting it. Regardless of whether we can end within 1" of the enemy unit or not, 9" is still 9" (or whatever distance it is you have to make) even if you need to roll an 8 now.

Pretty much all Deep Strike-like abilities say you have to be MORE than 9" away from any enemy units, it doesn't matter how much more it just needs to be more, and anything more than 9" gets counted as 10" because this game doesn't deal with distances in fractions and always rounds up. This is why you always need a 9 to make that 10" charge ending within 1" (which has been clarified to mean "up to and including 1"") of an enemy unit.

And in the case of Heat Lance Scourge, being MORE than 9" away means you wont be within half distance for new Melta rule (not that it matters, even if you were in range it wouldn't remotely make Heat Lances worth 25pts each).

(I know we're both saying the same thing but I really felt that your explenation was too confusing.)
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3117
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Mon Jul 03 2017, 06:59

Well it was explained a few times a few different ways, so i went into more detail.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
Kantalla
Wych
avatar

Posts : 847
Join date : 2015-12-21

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Mon Jul 03 2017, 07:45

Shouldn't your example be you must be over 9", so say you are 9.01" away then you need to move 8.02" to be within 1" of the target, and therefore you need to roll a 9

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
mika
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 36
Join date : 2014-10-05

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Mon Jul 03 2017, 21:03

@Imateria wrote:
@Trueborn44 wrote:
I was just looking at the stepping in to a new edition post on the FAQ and noticed that the first question about the course rules says that when measuring from a vehicle that's larger than it's base, you measure from the closest part of the base, not the vehicle. It doesn't specify if this is for movement or for shooting, so does this mean we can't shoot from the tips of our vehicles anymore? Seems like a strange way to word it.

They also clarified that units inside transports can't fire over watch when their vehicle is charged.
A complete moot point for us, all of our vehicles have the "Hover Vehicle" special rule specifically saying that we make measruments to and from the hull of the vehicle.

Actually only the Raider has the hover special rule.
Pretty funny if you think about it Smile
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 616
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Mon Jul 03 2017, 21:21

@mika wrote:
@Imateria wrote:
@Trueborn44 wrote:
I was just looking at the stepping in to a new edition post on the FAQ and noticed that the first question about the course rules says that when measuring from a vehicle that's larger than it's base, you measure from the closest part of the base, not the vehicle. It doesn't specify if this is for movement or for shooting, so does this mean we can't shoot from the tips of our vehicles anymore? Seems like a strange way to word it.

They also clarified that units inside transports can't fire over watch when their vehicle is charged.
A complete moot point for us, all of our vehicles have the "Hover Vehicle" special rule specifically saying that we make measruments to and from the hull of the vehicle.

Actually only the Raider has the hover special rule.
Pretty funny if you think about it Smile

Yeah, there's a question covering that over in the proposed FAQ thread. They've got plenty of stuff left to go for FAQ Round 2.
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1041
Join date : 2017-01-26

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Tue Jul 04 2017, 11:17

Anyone been evil enough to say someone cannot charge the raider because he cannot get his base within 1 inch of the hull?
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3117
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Tue Jul 04 2017, 11:29

Yeah the Hover rule messed me up the 1st game b.c i didnt realize only a few vehicles had it lol

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi


Posts : 1626
Join date : 2013-04-23

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Tue Jul 04 2017, 11:30

3 words - wobbly model syndrome. If your roll is enough to get the base within 1'', you may place the base further than 1''.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Dracon
avatar

Posts : 3117
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Tue Jul 04 2017, 11:39

My issue was movement, disembarking and shooting, i was measuring from the hull most of the 1st game then i figured it out.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 3k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
Tyranids 10k+
SOB 3k+
Painted 4k points
Back to top Go down
krayd
Wych
avatar

Posts : 616
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   Tue Jul 04 2017, 16:30

I'm not sure that the venom really needs it, being as small as it is. though it would help.

However, the ravager *really* needs it.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: FAQ is up   

Back to top Go down
 
FAQ is up
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: